DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Ironsworn $0.00
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
129 32
12 1
7 0
0 0
0 0
Ironsworn
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Tommy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 02:38:21

This game has a dark atmosphere so dense you can almost touch it. I just thought I was going to give it a glance since it's free and then forget all about it, but once I started reading it I couldn't stop and read it cover to cover! That has been years since I did that last!

Truly well written book that hits most of the other "big" rpgs on their fingers. My warmest recommendation if you - like me - love dark low fantasy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Jeff L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2019 17:14:41

A fantastic system for solo RPG and creative writing. It got my imagination going and invested in my world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2019 04:10:19

An all in one package for collaborative or solo storytelling. If you like the idea of PbtA but want more systems to lean on this will be perfect for you. If you want a rule-light system that is balanced around combat exploration and relationships this is also for you. If you want a grounded fantasy setting when being a hero will cost you something this is again for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Ludovico A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2019 09:20:58

A revolutionary take on solo rpgs; it is not only well equipped for procedural generation and prompts and oracles, it also creates a well-supported system. It easily adapts to solo-play, coop with any number of players and guided-play. Very engaging and solid-built system, that couples a lot of PbtA lessons and modern designs into its own implementation - with such novel ideas and divergency that it has the potential to create a lineage of games just as Belonging Without Belonging, Legacy and Forged in the Dark did. A must read for any designer. An example to every other designers that wants to move away from the current industry models. The printed hardcover is gorgeous, does not bend at the spine. High-quality thick paper; high value even with the expensive delivery. The publisher has updated a second print with all the (minor) errata. This attention to the detail and community care is also an extra star on Ironsworn.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 11:10:41

The quality of this product – in terms of gameplay, editing, layout – is really strong. Amazing that it's offered for free. I chose to support by buying a hardcover book (as well as the Lodestar reference book), and the printing is perfectly fine, good value for the money.

I am currently playing a solo campaign, co-op with two friends, and will hack it for an epic dwarf tale set in the Warhammer universe. Great fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2019 11:42:47

Delivery was prompt. The book is physically of high quality. The lay out inside the book is a little unorthodox. I'm used to small RPG books placing Character Creation in the beginning as groundwork for how that character works in the rule set. This makes retention of information easier for me if I'm using a on screen PDF. With that understanding the hard bound book allows me to read that first and then start to understand the rules and how character fits in.

I like the mechanics of the game system. They are simple and get out of the way of the way if playingg in Solo RPG mode. I'm new to solo RPGs but this one seems like a good fit. I've only played the one session but the mechanics are pretty intuitive and allows/requires some creative storytelling on the Solo RPG player. I think this will be a fun system to play regulary when I can't get with a group of players.

I want to add some comments since I've played and got to read most of the book regarding gameplay. The gameplay/tutorial near the end of the book was fanstastic. I'm sorry but all RPG books should show images of potential dice rolls & an interpretation of the results. This might not be needed for very popular games that "everyone" plays but is crucial for new game systems.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2019 13:10:19

Combines a fantastic default setting (makes me think of Pictish dark age legends, for example the film Valhalla Rising or the video game Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice) with some of the best rules design I've ever encountered. Ironsworn actually evolves the root PbtA mechanics in ways that are exciting and engaging, rather than simply re-skinning Apocalypse World with different playbooks.

I've played both the solo and GM-less group options and had some of the most fun I've ever had playing RPGs. I've shamelessly stolen pieces from the structure of this game for use in other campaign's I've run using other systems (Star Wars F&D, Legacy, Numenara, Fellowship), which IMO is one of the best tributes I can give to this system.

I like this system so much I'm going to order a physical copy - which I almost NEVER do.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by James N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2019 09:12:24

For me, one of the most awesome solo rpg out there with limitless potential and stories in your adventure! Double thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Max B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 16:26:24

I picked up Ironsworn a few months ago and it's quickly become my favorite RPG system. I've played both in traditional GM mode and co-op, and found them both to be great in different ways. Ironsworn keeps the story moving quickly, with plenty of focus on the narrative, while giving you a rules system that feels comprehensive while staying out of your way. The flexibility of the ruleset also makes it rather easy to reskin into whatever setting you prefer -- so don't let the default setting box you in!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Kyle H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2018 03:19:49

Ironsworn has become my go-to "low fantasy" RPG. It accomplishes low magic, low power level, while still actively making characters feel cool. That doesn't usually happen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2018 02:07:40

Incredible what the author has released for free here. While there are still some wonkyness (for example the progress track of enemies being directly tied to how much damage they deal) it's still far beyond any other free system and fully competes with a lot of the paid systems as well. A refreshing take on PbtA-inspired mechanics and suitable for small groups as well. Currently playing it with two players (and me as GM) and it works great. Havent tried it solo but I think it could be even better there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2018 23:05:51

Ironsworn solves the two primary problems that I always had with solo RPG'ing: pacing and goal-setting. I always wrestled with what I was supposed to do next and really needed some guidance. I had tried to adapt modules to solo play by sort of self-hiding information. This ultimately proved unsatisfying, though. Ironsworn fixes that problem by instituting the vow as the primary driver of the story. There must always be at least one vow (i.e. quest), and more tend to crop up as you go along. As an example, my character might be trying to gather information in a village, and the move results in someone willing to help me, but only for a price. That 'price' will likely become its own vow, even if it's only a short-term one so that I can get the information to proceed with my main quest.

The second thing I wrestled with was knowing when I was ready to move on to the next stage of the story. I mean, when solo-ing, how do you decide when your quest is done? How do you know if that tough monster that you just defeated in the dungeon was really the boss? How do you know if that clue you just found is leading you to the killer, or if it is a red herring? The progress mechanic solved that for me. As my character performs actions, progress is marked on a track. I know when I'm nearing the end of the task/story/chapter/etc., because the progress track is getting full. Small tasks fill up faster than epic tasks. And, I don't have to wait for the progress bar to fill up. I can take my chances and roll to see if I can complete the task/journey/etc. Maybe I really have already figured out who the killer is. Or, if the roll goes horribly wrong, maybe the plot twists and I find out that I was on the wrong track. This is one of the things that I really appreciate about Ironsworn. It gives my story better pacing.

The third and final thing that I appreciate about Ironsworn is its flexibility. It is designed for a gritty sort of pseudo-Viking era setting. But, frankly, the system is so flexible that I've now played a game as a noble in the golden age of piracy, as an agent of the Imperial Inquisition in Warhammer 40k, and as a powerful wizard a la Ars Magica in Mythic Europe.

On a side note, the author is very generous to offer this product for free, when it does so well what others have tried for so long to do. He is very interactive on the Discord channel, happy to help new players and to talk with us grizzled veterans of the game. He has plans for supplements which will expand the system's customizability, as well.

I purchased this in print form without a second thought. It took me some effort to get to grips with the Powered by the Apocalypse-like design, since I was coming from D&D. Once I did, though, the game really blossomed for me, and I can heartily recommend it for solo and small groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Liam M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2018 13:20:38

Amazing Game!

I've played in both solo and co-op modes and it's wokred great in both situation. I haven't played Ironsworn with a GM yet, but I imagine it would go just as smoothly.

The dice system and moves are tough but fair. Your chracter WILL suffer, and face harsh realities. The way that "Pay The Price" works (the most common result for failing roll) means that you get to adjust the difficulty of situations to your liking, and you will never end up in a situation you don't find intersting at the very least, even (or rather, especalliy) if the dice hate you.

The built in setting is evocative, and full enough to help spark idea, yet leaves enough blanks to finll in your own stories with ease.

It's also a great game if you don't have a scehdual that lets you sit down for hours at a time to game. All the moves are direclty player-facing, so fn you're running solo or play-by-post you don't need to wait around for GM replies every time you go to make a roll. You roll, the dice set their own difficutly, and if you can't think up a good result in-fiction then the game incudes many pages of fantasic Oracles to help with generating ideas.

Speaking of the Oracles, they're so useful that Ii wish more games used them they way Ironsworn does.

Lastly, the book itself is simple but but still visualloy appealing. The photography is all black and white, but it's evocative and fits the tone of the game perfeclty. I ordered the hard cover version and can atest that it's a quality product that I'm glad to have on my shelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2018 19:12:35

Ironsworn is an amazing product.

The fantastic setting evokes a wide variety of comparisons, but is explicitly designed to allow a player/group to make it their own as part of beginning play. The dice/move mechanics are loads of fun: completely intuitive for anyone who has ever heard of Powered By The Apocalypse, but structured around a unique mechanism called "Momentum," which ebbs and flows based on your character's success. In play with multiple players, Momentum serves to naturally provide the opportunity for spotlight shifting. Character creation is streamlined and easy, with fairly few decisions up front yet an incredible diversity of unique Assets to choose from to customize your character; no "pick a class/playbook" here.

For a GM, not only is the system extremely intuitive, it also (gently) loads a lot of decision and narrative overhead onto the players' moves and the dice themselves, freeing you to make the big-picture decisions and think creatively about challenging your players. Meanwhile, for those without a group to play with for whatever reason, the game works equally well as a GMless co-op or even as a solo game, powered by the best "Oracle" tables I have ever seen. The Oracles also make a great resource for the GM in a guided game.

The actual book itself is beautifully done: logically structured with razor-sharp layout and highly evocative artwork.

Also of note: the creator is highly involved with the community, responsive to feedback, and clearly loves this game as much as any of his customers do. "Labor of love," if anything, seems to undersell it. What's even more impressive is that he has made the PDF donationware; I have been satisfied paying perfectly good money for games that are not this good, and he's giving it away.

No two ways about it: in a short few months, Ironsworn has grown to be among my favorite games in decades of roleplaying. Give it a try, and you will feel the same!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 23:53:11

If you're looking for a storytelling game with Apocalypse World-like rules that can be played without a singular GM, Ironsworn is the game for you.

In Ironsworn, not only do you get to create a highly customizable character (via Assets rather than a character class), the group gets to create their own version of the Ironlands by selecting choices amongst ten categories.

An Ironsworn's goals are what push the campaign forward and the results of the dice rolls (full success, partial success, or paying the price) and the interpretive power of the Oracle rules are what push the game forward. I've literally gotten multiple groups together, created the world and characters from scratch, and have ran multiple games with zero prep with great results. Even the session that ended in total disaster and gained no XP whatsoever was extremely fun.

I personally would love to buy a hardcover of this book. I've actually shelled out over $45 to print Preview 7 at Fed Ex just so that I can have a physical copy of the .pdf, and I would much rather that money go to Shawn Tomkin.

If there's any gripe that I have about the game, it's how Assets are meant to be distributed amongst the players. IIRC, each Asset can be taken by only one player in the group, and the Assets are most likely meant to be cut out and given to the individual player, since they pack in a lot of information (each Asset has three benefits, one that a character automatically gets upon acquisition and two more that must be purchased with XP). There are optional rules that replace Assets with either flat out buying stat increases or by implementing professions, but I prefer Assets as they provide the real mechanical individuality per character.

To conclude, this game takes the Apocalypse World rules mindset and propels it even further by a solid system for generating content on-the-fly, especially as more players in the group get involved in the process. Also, it's free, which is freaking awesome, but is a game I will gladly pay a print edition for.

edit from 8/12/18

It seems that my wish to have a hardcover of this book has been answered! About a week and a half ago, I discovered that this game was being released as both a softcover and a hardcover. I received a hardcover copy as of the date of this edit and I am very satisfied with it. It's a 6x9" book with a hardcover feel similar to the GURPS 4th Edition hardcovers. At about $28, this is a great deal. Finally, a great game to add to my collection that will last a long time and not be accidentally bent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates