DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Ironsworn $0.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
160 36
13 1
9 0
0 0
1 0
Ironsworn
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Baldemar G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2019 01:53:09

While others learned how to play RPGs with the most popular tabletop rpg, I learned with Ironsworn I used to daydream playing RPGs, but couldn't convince at least 2 more people in my small town to begin any popular game. I finally found a complete solo, co-op, and GMed game where I could turn an army-of-one campaign or bring a buddy with me (no GM!). I started my solo campaign in The Havens since it looks like the safest region of the Ironlands. This is my first time I've played an RPG, and I went through the whole book. I was able to find boars and wolves that threaten produce farmers between settlements. 

It was easy to have battles, reach victory or face immediate consequences. I wanted to keep moving further and realized it was possible to communicate with elves and giants. Soon there were Mammoths, wyverns, and bloodbound promises. Things get very interesting even if you're by yourself. I was able to teach a friend, and we jumped into another campaign. We haven't tried a GMed game, but Ironsworn has a strong potential to be the gateway into RPG, and probably the only stop since it's too good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2019 14:26:11

Ever wanted to play an tabletop RGP, but no one else wants to play right now? Having trouble getting a consistent group together? Well stop being disappointed and play Ironsworn! I was initially doubtful about a solo roleplaing game, but I've quickly realized Ironsworn is just so much more fun that I thought it would be. There's so many mechanics and thematic elements that are geared toward enabling solo/co op play that the game is specifically designed to guide you through the experience. I've honestly found it to be very creatively fulfilling, and I even have a weekly group that I already play with.

Thematically, the game has a very low-fantasy, gritty feel to it. There's kind of a nordic flair to much of the art and design of the game, but it's in no way restrictive to that particular flavor. The game seems easily hackable or reflavored, and several players in the discord community have done just that. There's an actual play of a Western-themed game, and I've learned that one player even went so far as to play a World War II game in Ironsworn. Personally, I love almost everything about the "default" setting that Shawn has put together. The Iron Vows are so thematic and great, swords being rare and special is just unique, etc.

The dice mechanic is such an interesting twist and evolution of the regular Apocalypse World mechanic. I think that Ironsworn's base mechanic could really inspire future RPG writers, specifically those wanting to work with Apocalypse World. The assets provide not only mechanical benefits, but help you to understand your character more. You don't just take Oathbreaker because you want to get through it and add +1 to a stat, you take Oathbreaker because your character literally broke an oath and now that's an essential part of your character. Swearing Iron Vows is not only the thing that drives your actual roleplaying, it's also the way you get experience and advance your character. The design is just overall tight and elegant.

On top of it all, the discord community has been great. Shawn himself is friendly and very active on the discord. I would definitely recommend new players join the discord if they have any questions.

Overall, it's a great game and a great community. If you're a little doubtful about solo roleplaying, I would heavily recommend just giving it a chance (it's free!) before you make any final judgements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Jais P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2019 11:48:34

Ironsworn is simply one of the best RPG I have ever seen in 30ish years of playing RPGs. It perfectly matches my style of play. Here are just a few of all the wonders it offers:

  • no prep needed before a game
  • super fast character creation
  • one-shot session compatible, or longer campaigns
  • solo or GM-less compatible
  • easy-to-remember rules
  • the narration is at the center of it all, yet surrounded and framed by rules that won't let you go wild
  • random tables powerful enough to prompt ideas in order to carry the fiction further
  • customizable setting
  • a wonderful, fast-growing community
  • a really nice, accessible author
  • useful (like really useful) examples of play
  • an official podcast

And it's FREE TO DOWNLOAD!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Michelle C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2019 08:57:38

I had to buy this after watching Adam Koebel's first look for this game. It looks amazing and I can't wait to run it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Tommy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 02:38:21

This game has a dark atmosphere so dense you can almost touch it. I just thought I was going to give it a glance since it's free and then forget all about it, but once I started reading it I couldn't stop and read it cover to cover! That has been years since I did that last!

Truly well written book that hits most of the other "big" rpgs on their fingers. My warmest recommendation if you - like me - love dark low fantasy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Jeff L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2019 17:14:41

A fantastic system for solo RPG and creative writing. It got my imagination going and invested in my world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2019 04:10:19

An all in one package for collaborative or solo storytelling. If you like the idea of PbtA but want more systems to lean on this will be perfect for you. If you want a rule-light system that is balanced around combat exploration and relationships this is also for you. If you want a grounded fantasy setting when being a hero will cost you something this is again for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Ludovico A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2019 09:20:58

A revolutionary take on solo rpgs; it is not only well equipped for procedural generation and prompts and oracles, it also creates a well-supported system. It easily adapts to solo-play, coop with any number of players and guided-play. Very engaging and solid-built system, that couples a lot of PbtA lessons and modern designs into its own implementation - with such novel ideas and divergency that it has the potential to create a lineage of games just as Belonging Without Belonging, Legacy and Forged in the Dark did. A must read for any designer. An example to every other designers that wants to move away from the current industry models. The printed hardcover is gorgeous, does not bend at the spine. High-quality thick paper; high value even with the expensive delivery. The publisher has updated a second print with all the (minor) errata. This attention to the detail and community care is also an extra star on Ironsworn.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2019 11:10:41

The quality of this product – in terms of gameplay, editing, layout – is really strong. Amazing that it's offered for free. I chose to support by buying a hardcover book (as well as the Lodestar reference book), and the printing is perfectly fine, good value for the money.

I am currently playing a solo campaign, co-op with two friends, and will hack it for an epic dwarf tale set in the Warhammer universe. Great fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2019 11:42:47

Delivery was prompt. The book is physically of high quality. The lay out inside the book is a little unorthodox. I'm used to small RPG books placing Character Creation in the beginning as groundwork for how that character works in the rule set. This makes retention of information easier for me if I'm using a on screen PDF. With that understanding the hard bound book allows me to read that first and then start to understand the rules and how character fits in.

I like the mechanics of the game system. They are simple and get out of the way of the way if playingg in Solo RPG mode. I'm new to solo RPGs but this one seems like a good fit. I've only played the one session but the mechanics are pretty intuitive and allows/requires some creative storytelling on the Solo RPG player. I think this will be a fun system to play regulary when I can't get with a group of players.

I want to add some comments since I've played and got to read most of the book regarding gameplay. The gameplay/tutorial near the end of the book was fanstastic. I'm sorry but all RPG books should show images of potential dice rolls & an interpretation of the results. This might not be needed for very popular games that "everyone" plays but is crucial for new game systems.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Chris F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2019 13:10:19

Combines a fantastic default setting (makes me think of Pictish dark age legends, for example the film Valhalla Rising or the video game Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice) with some of the best rules design I've ever encountered. Ironsworn actually evolves the root PbtA mechanics in ways that are exciting and engaging, rather than simply re-skinning Apocalypse World with different playbooks.

I've played both the solo and GM-less group options and had some of the most fun I've ever had playing RPGs. I've shamelessly stolen pieces from the structure of this game for use in other campaign's I've run using other systems (Star Wars F&D, Legacy, Numenara, Fellowship), which IMO is one of the best tributes I can give to this system.

I like this system so much I'm going to order a physical copy - which I almost NEVER do.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by James N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2019 09:12:24

For me, one of the most awesome solo rpg out there with limitless potential and stories in your adventure! Double thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Max B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 16:26:24

I picked up Ironsworn a few months ago and it's quickly become my favorite RPG system. I've played both in traditional GM mode and co-op, and found them both to be great in different ways. Ironsworn keeps the story moving quickly, with plenty of focus on the narrative, while giving you a rules system that feels comprehensive while staying out of your way. The flexibility of the ruleset also makes it rather easy to reskin into whatever setting you prefer -- so don't let the default setting box you in!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Kyle H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2018 03:19:49

Ironsworn has become my go-to "low fantasy" RPG. It accomplishes low magic, low power level, while still actively making characters feel cool. That doesn't usually happen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2018 02:07:40

Incredible what the author has released for free here. While there are still some wonkyness (for example the progress track of enemies being directly tied to how much damage they deal) it's still far beyond any other free system and fully competes with a lot of the paid systems as well. A refreshing take on PbtA-inspired mechanics and suitable for small groups as well. Currently playing it with two players (and me as GM) and it works great. Havent tried it solo but I think it could be even better there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates