DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
 
$6.95
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 9
5 4
3 3
0 2
0 1
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2012 14:23:45

These rules do NOT work well for the serious super-speedster. That’s the first thing I noticed when I started to crunch the numbers, and my primary reason for the low ranking. A 1st Level Fast Hero with the Increased Speed Talent and 4 ranks of Super Running (3 Level, the maximum allowed) only runs about 26 MPH. (35+80)210*60/5280. This same character could run 65 MPH if the had the Run Feat and ran in a straight line. A 5th Level Fast Hero/10th Level Speed Demon with Increased Running 1-3, the Outside the Envelope Talent, and 18 ranks of Super Running could run 114 MPH, but would have to spend an action point. If they had the Run Feat and moved in a straight line, they could move 286 MPH. Impressive by human standards, but many comic book speedsters are much faster. For a character to move at Supersonic Speeds, they would have to be at least 43rd level if moving in a straight line, 108th level otherwise. Short-range teleportation works OK, but forget about anything long range. It would take hundreds of ranks in Teleportation just to teleport a mile. I didn’t like the fact that rest is necessary for Regeneration. Again, this doesn’t fit the way it works for some comic book characters. I also couldn’t find certain traditional powers: Plant Control, Dimension Travel, Time Travel, Body Transformation (Energy), and a power that would allow a hero to create duplicates of himself. The lack of Time Travel and Dimension Travel I can understand; these are best left as plot devices in a D20 game. There was very little information on gadgeters. I understand that this will be covered in another supplement, but I prefer having all my “supers” material in one place. This book copies other games (which copy a certain comic book publisher) in the way it treats mutants—making them the objects of fear and prejudice. I find this irritating. As one game designer wrote: “Mutants are good; anti-mutant paranoia is bad.” Why are mutants good? Because they save players and the GM from having to invent an origin story. (And how many GOOD, ORIGINAL origin stories can gamers really come up with.) As a matter of style, I would have listed the Ganger and Mastermind classes last, since PCs are unlikely to have levels on these classes. On the positive side, I liked many features of the Acrobat class (especially the Cat’s Feet, Nine Lives, and Evasive Dodge talents). I also liked the fact that heroes were rewarded for rescues, protecting property, and other good actions, and that they gain experience whenever a personal disadvantage makes their lives difficult. I like the fact that the new combat rules covered knockback and collateral damage. This book works well if you want to spice up your D20 adventures with short-range teleporters or other low-grade powers. For full-fledged super hero gaming—especially for super speedsters—try DC Adventures or TRI-Stat Silver Aged Sentinels.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/24/2009 13:01:41

Probably the weakest of the normally top-flight Blood & * series, Blood and Vigilance gives solid superhero mechanics but short shrift to the creation and running of superhero games. Nevertheless, the general quality of the supplement is good and if you are an experienced D20 and superhero GM, you can definitely get a lot of benefit from its formulation of powers and conflict.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Mickey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2006 00:00:00

Charles Rice is one of my favorate d20 authors. I have never been dissapointed in any of his products.

Keep up the good work.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The ability to play well defined super heroes AND integrate them into other d20 Modern/Future games. Just awesome.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not much. Had to scratch my head at a couple of mechanic tweeks, but once I looked them over they made sense and work well.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/27/2006 00:00:00

Blood and Vigilance

Superheroes are a nice part of the gaming community. There have always been some good games on the subject but it just does not seem any of them have really had the great staying power. But with the movies of comics becoming big business hopefully more will start to see the light of day and with greater support. Superheroes have always come in different looks and types and even as I write this I am watching The Greatest American Hero one of the truly original takes on the genre. Blood and Vigilance is a PDF by RPGObjects. It deals with superheroes in a modern setting. The seventy two page PDF Is nicely laid out. It has a version for on screen use and for printing. The book is well book marked and the art is good and very action oriented

Blood and Vigilance uses the d20 Modern rule set. It builds off that by offering new advanced classes, feats, skills, and other mechanics to build super heroes. It is easily compatible with most other d20 systems and genres making it versatile and easy to use. The book starts off with a good introduction and then right into character creation. The book uses a characters origin like the fantasy game uses races. The origin also determines if you have power points which are used for super abilities. Not all super heroes get super powers and this is reflected well in the origins area. What of the more original origin options is that of Jinx, a person with super powers but extreme bad luck to go along with it. Other origin options are like alien, freak accident, cybernetics, training, and mutant.

The book uses the base classes from d20 modern. One nice thing they have done is each super power is favored by one class so it acts like a class skill for it. This gives the classes a little more definition in my eyes as I found that they did not feel that different in the basic d20 modern game. There are also new advanced classes in here but first like it does for the base classes it gives powers for the advanced ones as well. The advanced classes presented in the book are very well fined for the super hero genre. They have acrobat, brick, energy projector, gangster, mastermind mentor, psychic, and speed demon. Each is very self explanatory and makes for easy use.

The powers section is pretty basic. The ones presented here seem to cover all the bases. One should be able to create almost any super powered being they would want to use these. There are disadvantages as well to give the hero that little weakness. The GM section is really good giving good advice for the supers game and using the book to its full potential. It has good suggestions for types of campaigns, different environments, collateral damage, and rules for taking characters into the epic levels which is levels about twenty. The different sub genres in the super hero genre are talked about and what sort of characters and levels would be most appropriate for it. The game finishes with good lists of feats and of the powers. This serves as a good super hero game for people looking for one that uses the d20 system. This book will fit right alongside most other d20 modern books making it easy to incorporate with other rules and items that fall outside the genre. RPGObjects is a good company that does consistent and solid work and this is no exception to that.

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Rolland T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2006 00:00:00

It's not bad, but I didn't have much of a chance to use it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2005 00:00:00

Very pleased. The power points/rank system is very cool. Needs some of the powers tweaked a little to work better. But over all very pleased.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Simple and uncomplicated suppliment for d20 Modern. Not hard to understand.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some powers don't work for first or second level characters. Lacked the origins/system for techno heroes as advertised. Hated the art to the tenth power.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2005 00:00:00

An excellent treatment of superheroes for the d20 modern system. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Robert P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2004 00:00:00

Pleased with Blood and Vigilance, a vast improvement over Vigilance. It became a staple in my pulp investigators campaign.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: This supplement is a win-win for d20 modern. Your characters, even if they are normals, get lots of added bonuses- more skill points and feats, etc.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2004 00:00:00

What I really liked about this product is the fact that it is compatible with the D20 Modern rulebook. The art work is good and I like the different descriptions of the powers, feats, etc. If you're not into any of the other superhero games out there, then this one is for you! I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2004 00:00:00

An excellent alternative to Mutants & Masterminds or other standalone supers rpgs. You need D20 modern to play, but aside from that, most of what you need is in this file. Overall, I liked it enough to want more, like gadgets and techie stuff. Let's hope for more supplements soon...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Robert O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2004 00:00:00

Very well-written supplement.

If you use the character creation rules in here, keep in mind that it will greatly boost the power of your party, and the CR for monsters/enemies will no longer be accurate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2004 00:00:00

A great attempt at a Super hero RPG for the D20 Modern system. However, I do not like that the powers are directly tied to your level. I've found the OGL Mutants & Masterminds or CryptoSnark Game's Deeds Not Words to be better products.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Kese C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2004 00:00:00

I was looking for something that added superheroes to d20 Modern without altering any of the core mechanics. This product delivers in spades. Again, RPGObjects manages to provide the essential elements without getting bogged down with too many details.

A little warning though: Blood and Vigilance is not complete. The publisher promises a Gadget supplement is in the works, but this is an essential aspect to any superhero milieu. This shouldn't discourage anyone interested in d20 superheroes from picking up Blood & Vigilance, though. The supplement is very good, I just feel that with gadgets included, I could've easily given it 5 stars and been willing to pay more.

I'm beginning to feel a bit like a cheerleader for RPGObjects, but their products really are quite good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Rodney T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2004 00:00:00

Simply put, this supplement rocks. I have been looking for a suitable way to run a superhero game for some time, with no luck. This book more than suffices. It is indispensable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2004 00:00:00

I, too, was considering getting Mutants and Masterminds. I may still, just for the gamemastering info.

But these are the rules I'll be using, since it plugs into D20 Modern. I'd much rather expand a game I already play than start a whole new one.

It's a great addition to the d20 Modern rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates