DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mounted Combat
Publisher: Fünhaver Industries
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:40:53

The best mechanical rules for mounted combat for any fantasy game I have seen. I also LOVE the concept of building characters that have an NPC for a mount (i.e. like anime characters that ride a friendly giant while traveling)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mounted Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Publisher: Liberi Gothica Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:38:07

Based on read only: A brilliant take on Dungeon World (DW) that allows for Stardust (Neil Gaiman) like stories, Avatar: the last Airbenders stories, and various other interesting options. This is one of my favorite supplements for DW



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fellowship 2nd Edition - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Publisher: Liberi Gothica Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:35:56

Based on a read-through only I had rated this 5 stars. Conceptually, it is brilliant! It looks easy enough to run and and play, thematic, and the articulation of how far narrative could you push a game like Dungeon World before you break it. Unfortunately, in play, I have found this game is pushing narrative moves so hard, it does break.

Both attempts I made to run or play lead to confusion and frustration immediately following the first move of particular playbooks. Unlike the best PbtA games where if you follow the genre conventions, you will find a move to use, Fellowship's move triggers are really awkward. The feedback loop can circle around over and over until you feel like you are playing a game of narrative Chess where the MC and the PC player sometimes stalemate by doing the same actions and getting the same results over and over. It made me wonder, does this game really follow the tenants of "failing forward" or not? I have asked other PbtA fans online about their experiences and everyone of them also mentioned that while they wanted to LOVE this game, it just lead to a similar experience to what I had. As my experience seemed to be fairly universal, I have updated my rating to fit what I have experienced.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship 2nd Edition - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Steam World (Core Book)
Publisher: 2Die10 Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:25:51

Based on a read-through only: It's a pretty neat Dungeon World alternative. It also maps well to certain playbooks in the Inverse World Dungeon World book (Sky Capt.). The playbooks are solid, thematic, and look fun. Worth the price of admission and you don't need to learn a whole rpg to get your steampunk fix.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Steam World (Core Book)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wetlands: Swamps, Marshes, Bogs, and Fens
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:23:04

This is a useful resource for running adventures by rivers and wetlands in general. It's basically well organized info from wikipedia with a few ideas on how they could be incorporated deeper into your games. You could do this yourself easily enough but it's nice that this is all in one place at least.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wetlands: Swamps, Marshes, Bogs, and Fens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ironsworn: Delve
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:14:25

Do you want to add dungeons or depth to the travel segments of Ironsworn? Do you want prompts to create dungeons with a motif and / or theme for any fantasy dungeon crawl or even hex crawl? If so, buy this now! It's a great resourced even without the Ironsworn rpg. Speaking of which, you can get Ironsworn as a free PDF and I cannot recommend it highly enough!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Murder Most Foul - Core Rulebook
Publisher: Sixpence Games
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:10:00

Keep in mind this review is based on a read-through only. It may play just find but I find the idea of an rpg with scoring to be a little bizarre. I also find the concept of attempting to murder each other at a dinner party to not be a little disconcerting. The truly awful rule that ruins the game is that the accused player is the loser. This rule is rife with the worst sort of social deduction game issues where players can be targeted (and / or framed) for no other reason than to get them to lose. This game seems like it may kick up enough interpersonal drama amongst family or friends to avoid playing but it may be fun in practice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Murder Most Foul - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
With regards to the rule where the accused player loses, keep in mind that if that player did not actually commit the murder, then the detective (the person doing the accusing) also loses. It's there as an incentive not to get caught - otherwise, why not just commit the murder in broad daylight, with everyone watching?
pixel_trans.gif
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 16:25:25

This was a 9 out of 10. The BEST (only?) great solo rpg out there! A top tier rpg for between 1 - 3 players + an optional GM. Arguably the best shared MC PbtA game. One of the best low magic, low fantasy rpgs ever made! Now that Ironsworn: Delve is out this is a 5 star 10 out of 10 game. Easily the best free rpg I own.

It doesn't get better than this! Download it now and find out what the hype is about!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Publisher: lumpley games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 16:04:15

Although I find this game to be AMAZING in the conceptualization of moves and how personal histories between PCs affect aiding each other, and many great innovations in a single game, I find it a hard game to run. I really enjoy playing it but as the MC you it's sometimes hard to mitigate uncomfortable territory between players. Certain optional and standard playbooks (aka classes) work off each other to further the uncomfortable territory (like the Brainer and the Child-thing). It's a brilliant game though if you want a world full of Mad Max types, this is THE game. 2nd edition is also famous for adding in rules specifically for Mad Max Fury Road style play and doom clocks replacing threat fronts. One last point: The rules boil down to a few dozen pages. I would have like to have seen the blowhard bits and the lengthy explanations reduced and examples increased.

If you don't like in your face, expletive laced explanations but want to try this game, get Apocalypse World: Burned Over edition. I've heard that's a much more straight forward rulebook.

I dropped a star for the bloated text and the reluctance I feel towards running this game and yet being unable to find many groups willing to try it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Torches Deep
Publisher: Sigil Stone Publishing
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 15:53:10

I LOVE the concept but find the implementation lacking. If you do not know D&D 5e well enough, there is no way you are going to understand this game on it's own merits. It's more like a hardmode + how to make your game more narrative supplement than a different game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Torches Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fellowship Book 2 - Inverse Fellowship
Publisher: Liberi Gothica Games
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 14:05:13

I'd highly recommend the Inverse World book for Dungeon World for the same setting and a superior game. the Fellowship PbtA moves all feel so forced. Dungeon World feels more trad but also more natural.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship Book 2 - Inverse Fellowship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Macchiato Monsters
Publisher: Lost Pages
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 14:02:46

While I like the idea of the resource die, using it for literally everything seems exhausting and requires nearly as much tracking as the old fashioned rules. Mind you, the push your luck piece looks fun and the tables are perfect for improvising a one-shot but this is definitely not going to be my go to rules light fantasy rpg



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Macchiato Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Abort Retry Fail
Publisher: Newstand Press
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 13:58:28

Simple, funny, and clever based on a read. I'll update my rating after my first one-shot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abort Retry Fail
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beyond the Wall - Further Afield
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 13:55:35

The single best resource I have ever found for running a fantasy sandbox!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall - Further Afield
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ACTION MOVIE WORLD: First Blood
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2022 13:53:31

Based on a read only: A great genre emulator with a clever concept using the "Actor" as the interstitial tissue that turns this from a one-shot to a campaign. I'll revisit my rating again after finishing a play session



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ACTION MOVIE WORLD: First Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 104 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates