DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
 
$19.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
119 18
8 0
3 1
0 0
0 0
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to view
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Zach B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2019 20:48:07

I love this game. Here are a few reasons:

  • I love OSR (Old School Renaissance) games, but my players are used to more modern games where characters have options to customize with mechanics. SWN manages to be firmly OSR (rulings not rules, deadly combat, emphasis on creative solutions, yada yada) but gives players just enough options to scratch that itch.
  • The GM Tools are awesome
  • Easy to prep! I LOVE prepping SWN sessions; the tables provide so much inspiration. And if you need to improv on the spot, it's SO EASY to create an NPC stat block and the encounter tables are easy to use on the fly.
  • Easy to get this game to the table when I can just send my players a link to the FREE rules.
  • Rules-light (OSR FTW), but has enough (easy to understand) systems so you feel covered when a player tries one of the more common SciFi tropes (hacking, space combat, modding guns, adding cyberware, etc)
  • Easy to house rule
  • A lot of supplemental material to build on
  • Compatible with a number of OSR content: re-flavor your favourite B/X dungeon when your players unexpectedly decide to explore those alien ruins.
  • Built to run sandboxes, and run them well (but, of course, you could totally run a more "linear" game very easily)
  • This has more to do with sandbox style, but, as the GM, I am just as surprised and delighted as the players by what each new session reveals about the Sector, its planets, and the people (and aliens) that inhabit it.

The "base" game is great for debt runner, space opera, hard scifi, gritty scifi, etc. It has a section for running heroic scifi, transhuman campaigns, or science fantasy (check out "The Codex of the Black Sun" for magic and magic classes). If you're a GM, get this game just for the system neutral tools.

Again, I love the OSR, and this game captures the OSR spirit while not feeling like just a B/X retroclone. It has a number of modern touches that make it appeal to players that want character mechanics, skill checks, and a clear resolution mechanic. For the GM, it makes it super easy to create interesting situations for our players to stride, stumble, and bumble into; and its systems give you a nice backstop to referee from, but not so much that you're prevented from making rulings or keeping the fiction flowing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Daniel O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2019 04:33:55

This has been my go-to scifi system for over two years now. Simple to learn with plenty of extra content if you are a GM looking to spice up your campaign.

I recommend this book even if you do not have plans to ever run SWN, but plan to run science fiction games in general. The GM section is full of useful generators for NPCs, their names, planets, and entire star systems. If your players could end up on a random planet you have not planned for, there are chapters here that will save you...and damn them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by ANDREW P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2019 16:06:27

This is my favorite RPG! The GM tools and ease of use make it a breeze to learn and run, I love the sandbox creation tools and GM advice about things as simple as "don't create too much prep and burn yourself out, instead here is an effective minimum and above all have fun", and I am enthralled with everything about the game. My players are all coming either from D&D experience or no RPG experience and they had a fairly easy time getting acclimated (the D&D players did have to reconfigure some of their own expectations, both in the tone of the game and some mechanics like skill checks using 2d6 instead of a d20 but they caught on quick) and I have a feeling this will be my go to game for a long time now, maybe forever. Also, Kevin is honestly a blessing, not only do I love his work on this and his other games (I LOVE Scarlet Heroes) but he is active and willing to engage with his fans on the SWN subreddit and other places, just seems like a really great and open guy. Stars Without Number is a 10/10 for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/15/2019 07:55:28

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2018/12/11/ersteindruck-stars-without-number-sandkastenspiele-in-einer-weit-entfernten-galaxis/

Der Weltraum. Unendliche Weiten. Dieses Regelwerk soll dazu dienen Abenteuer auf fremden Planten zu erleben, unbekannte Lebensformen und neue Zivilisation zu entdecken. Das Buch dringt dabei in Regeltiefen vor, die kaum ein Regelwerk zuvor gesehen hat. Aber lohnt es sich auch? Dieser Frage wollen wir nachgehen.

Ursprünglich erschien die erste Edition von Stars without Number 2011 bei Sine Nomine Publishing und wurde schnell ein Geheimtipp in der Nische der Sci-Fi-Rollenspiele. Sechs Jahre und einige Erweiterungen später wurde in einem enorm erfolgreichen Kickstarter die Revised Edition finanziert und verlegt. Ähnlich den anderen Publikationen des Verlags, beispielsweise Godbound oder Silent Legions, legt Autor Kevin Crawford einen Fokus darauf Sandboxkampagnen nicht nur zu ermöglichen, sondern die Spielleitung explizit in der Erstellung und Durchführung einer solchen Kampagne zu unterstützen. Mit welchem Tipps und Hilfsmitteln das ermöglicht werden soll, schauen wir uns in der Folge an.

Die Spielwelt Der Hintergrund Obwohl Stars without Number sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat eine möglichst breite Art von Hintergründen und Spielstilen zu unterstützen, liefert es trotzdem ein eigenes Setting mit, dass von der Spielleitung als Ausgangspunkt genutzt werden kann. In dieser Welt führte vor hunderten von Jahren ein Kataklysmus namens „Der Schrei“ zum Zusammenbruch des terranischen Mandats. In einem Moment verloren alle Telepathen aus unbekannten Gründen ihren Verstand und die entstehende metadimensionale Welle ließ den intergalaktischen Transport als auch die Kommunikation zusammenbrechen. In der folgenden Zeit, das Schweigen genannt, zerfiel nicht nur die Macht des Mandats, sondern  auch ganze Zivilisationen stürzten zusammen. Der Umgang mit komplexen Technologien und das Aufrechterhalten der Gesellschaften  fielen in basalere Stadien zurück.

Nun, Jahrhunderte später, hat die Menschheit erneut begonnen sich zwischen den Sternensystemen zu bewegen. Nur einige wenige Welten haben die technischen Errungenschaften der Zeit vor dem Schrei, der so genannten Prä-Technologie, bewahren können. Die meisten Welten arbeiten mit Neuentwicklungen, der Post-Technologie, die aber unzuverlässiger, weniger effektiv oder weniger mächtig sind als ihre antiken Vorgänger. Einige Welten schicken sich an ihre Nachbarn durch Diplomatie oder militärische Macht unter ihren Einfluss zu zwingen, andere haben nicht die notwendige Kenntnis oder Ressourcen sich aus einer zweiten Steinzeit zu befreien. Der Sektor steht also an einer historischen Wasserscheide. Welche Fraktion wird aufsteigen, welche fallen, wer erhebt sich aus dem Staub der Geschichte und wer wird endgültig vergessen?

Die Spieler im Sandkasten

Artwork von Stars Without Number Man kann es dem vorangegangenen Absatz schon entnehmen. Die SpielerInnen starten – zumindest wenn das Ausgangssetting benutzt wird – in eine Welt voller Möglichkeiten. Die Welt ist noch nicht an einem Punkt angekommen, dass sich eine Fraktion gegen die andere durchgesetzt hätte und die Machtverhältnisse sind im Fluss. Es bedarf also herausragenden Individuen, die bereit sind, das Schicksal der Menschheit zu beeinflussen und zu den Helden oder Schurken ihrer Zeit zu werden. Oder um es mit den Worten des Berliner Historikers Leopold von Ranke zu sagen „In großen Entscheidungen ist es notwendig, dass mächtige Männer eine Unternehmung zu ihrer persönlichen Angelegenheit machen.“ Heute würde man das sicherlich inklusiver und mit weniger heiligem Ernst formulieren, als es Ranke Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts tat, aber der Aussage wohnt der gleiche Geist inne, der auch die Idee der Sandbox belebt: Eine große Entscheidung zu einer persönlichen Sache machen.

Aus diesem Grund kommt das Setting auch nahezu ohne vorgegebene Fraktionen, Konflikte, Storylines etc. aus. Es ist vielmehr wie ein großer Baukasten zu verstehen, aus dem man etwas Eigenes zusammenstellen kann. Das ist natürlich mehr Arbeit als ein vorgefertigtes Abenteuer in einem existierenden Setting zu nehmen und die SpielerInnen durch eine Plot-Achterbahn zu jagen, aber wenn es funktioniert, kann es eine sehr belohnende Erfahrung sein. Damit die Erstellung des Hintergrunds aber nicht in zu viel Arbeit ausartet, nimmt Stars without Numbers die potenzielle Spielleitung von Anfang an an die Hand. In den folgenden Absätzen betrachten wir deshalb die grundlegenden Design-Prinzipien des Spiels und beleuchten, wie das Spiel die Spielleitung Schritt für Schritt hindurchleitet.  

Die Regeln Bedingt durch die enorm erfolgreiche Kickstarter-Kampagne, die immer neue Kapitel als Stretchgoal freigeschaltet hat, ist das Buch sehr umfangreich geworden. Es gibt Regeln für naheliegende Dinge in einem Science-Fiction-Rollenspiel wie beispielsweise Raumkampf oder Sektorenerschaffung. Dann gibt es Regeln für Dinge, die für bestimmte Szenarien sinnvoll sein können, wie psionische Kräfte oder künstliche Intelligenzen. Und schließlich gibt es auch noch Regeln für Weltraum-Magie oder intelligente Nanitenschwärme als Hülle für die selbstbewusste Essenz antiker AIs. Damit die Rezension nicht in Detailanalyse ausartet, beschränkt sich die genauere Betrachtung hier auf die Regeln zur Setting- und Charaktererschaffung.

Settingerstellung

Artwork von Stars Without Number Dieser Teil des Regelwerks ist eines der Kernstücke und auch der, an dem man die Designphilosophie des Spiels am besten sieht. Legt man zu Grunde, dass Stars without Number vor allem eine Hilfestellung zum Spielen in einer Science-Fiction-Sandbox sein will, dann ist die Sektorenerstellung das Herz des Spiels. Hier wird die Spielleitung Schritt für Schritt durch einen Prozess geleitet, an dessen Ende eine Hexkarte eines Sternensystems mitsamt verschiedenen Planetensystemen unterschiedlicher Entwicklungsstufen, Raumschiffhäfen, aktiven und inaktiven Raumstationen, Asteroidenminen, Fraktionen und Handelswegen steht. Im Prinzip also alle beweglichen Teile, die man in einem solchen Setting erwarten oder brauchen kann.

Doch ehe das alles steht, ist es ein langer Weg und am Anfang steht ein großes übergreifendes Werkzeug, das so alt ist wie das Hobby selbst: Die Zufallstabelle. Es gibt für beinahe alles in diesem Generierungsschritt Zufallstabellen. Dabei ist es nicht zwingend notwendig sie immer und für alles zu benutzen, aber sie helfen bei der Erstellung eines eigenen Systems ungemein, wenn man nicht von vornherein mit einem sehr detaillierten und festen Bild an die Sache herangeht. Wem generell die Idee eines zufällig generierten Systems nicht gefällt, der wird sicherlich mit diesem Spiel nicht glücklich werden. Wer bereit ist dieser Herangehensweise grundsätzlich eine Chance zu geben, der bekommt hier ein Paradebeispiel geliefert, bei dem sich viele andere Spiele unter dem Banner der Sandboxspiele eine gehörige Scheibe abschneiden können. Es würde zu weit gehen jede einzelne der Tabellen zu besprechen, aber vielleicht kann ein einfaches Beispiel verdeutlichen, wie die Sektorenerschaffung funktioniert.

Nachdem man die Anzahl der Planeten festgelegt und ihre Position auf einem Hexfeld beliebiger Größe angeordnet hat, geht es darum den Planeten so genannte tags zuzuordnen. Tags sind hier zu verstehen als kurze Schlagworte, die die leitenden Charakteristika des Planeten umschreiben. Um einen Planeten mit tags auszustatten, wirft man zweimal einen 1W100 und schaut unter den entsprechenden Einträgen nach. So hat man dann beispielsweise einen Gefängnisplaneten, dessen Terraforming nie beendet wurde. Oder aber eine paradiesische Gartenwelt, die eine Zivilisation beherbergt, die dabei ist zum Hegemon des Systems aufzusteigen. Damit allein ist es aber noch nicht getan. Jeder tag hat eine ausführlichere Beschreibung komplett mit möglichen Feinden, Verbündeten, Komplikationen, Orten und Dingen, die es zu entdecken gibt. Dabei sind die Beschreibungen zwar kurz, aber immer atmosphärisch und evokativ, so dass es leicht fällt direkt die Grundlinien eines Spielabends zu erkennen, während man auf die tags schaut.

Nachdem man also nun tags ausgewählt oder erwürfelt hat, bestimmt man auf gleiche Wirf-auf-Tabelle-Weise weitere Kennzahlen des Planeten (Bevölkerung, Atmosphäre, technische Entwicklung) und zusätzliche interessante Dinge des Systems wie Raumstationen oder orbitale Ruinen. Für die Statistiker noch interessant: Bei den letzten Tabellen wird mit 2W6 statt einem W100 gewürfelt, so dass die spielerisch sinnvolleren Optionen, wie atembare Luft und zumindest rudimentäre Bevölkerung, stochastisch bevorzugt werden. Danach können noch Fraktionen erstellt werden, die im Metahintergrund agieren und die Welt so zum Leben erwecken. Natürlich können SpielerInnen mit der Zeit einer dieser Fraktionen beitreten, sie übernehmen oder zu eigenen Fraktionen aufsteigen. Für all dieses bietet das Buch Regeln und lässt so einen ambitionierten Leiter nicht im sprichwörtlichen Regen stehen. All das kann aber auch später kommen, denn die ersten Abenteuer brauchen nicht zwingend eine Myriade agierenden Hintergrundfraktionen, sondern diese können nach und nach eingeführt werden. Wichtiger ist es, dass man die erstellte Welt zum Spielen nutzt. Darum wenden wir uns nun den möglichen Abenteuern zu.  

Abenteuererstellung und Spielphilosophie

Artwork von Stars Without Number Nachdem der Sektor in seinen Grundgerüsten steht, bleibt natürlich noch die Frage offen, wie viele Details man hinzufügen will und was genau man denn in diesem Spielkasten tun will. Hier zeigt sich, dass Stars without Number trotz seiner Detailfülle diesen Aspekt nicht aus den Augen gelassen hat. Die grundlegende Philosophie zu diesen beiden Fragen wird bereits zu Beginn der Sektorenerschaffung explizit aufgeschrieben und lässt sich auf zwei grundlegende Fragen zuspitzen: „Habe ich Spaß?“ und „Brauche ich das für die nächste Sitzung?“ Im Idealfall sollten beide Fragen mit „Ja“ beantwortet werden. Sollte die Antwort bedingt durch die Detailuntiefen „Nein“ lauten, sollte man aufhören. Im Zweifel rät das Spiel einem dazu, die fehlenden Details von den SpielerInnen ausgestalten zu lassen, um ihre Verbindung mit der Welt einerseits und ihr Engagement am Spieltisch andererseits zu stärken. Beides enorm wichtige Dinge, wenn eine Sandboxkampagne gut laufen soll. Der Fokus auf den Spieltisch und die konkreten Bedürfnisse des Spielabends werden jederzeit höchste Priorität gewidmet, was auch gar nicht oft genug erwähnt werden kann. Denn ansonsten findet sich die Spielleitung schnell mit einer bis ins Detail ausgearbeiteten transhumanistischen Zivilisation körperloser, unsterblicher Intellekte wieder, die ihre Grenzen mit einer quantenkommunikativ gesteuerten Armada semibewusster AI-Kriegsschiffe verteidigen, was die SpielerInnen beschließen mit Ignoranz zu lösen. Statt sich also wie Captain Kirk mit Bauernschläue und Todesverachtung einer überlegenen Zivilisation von Energiemonstern zu stellen, drehen sie ihre Nostromo um und verschwinden so schnell sie können, um sich und ihre mühsam zusammengeklaubten Besitztümer in Sicherheit zu bringen. Will man als Spielleitung nun die Entscheidung der Charaktere nicht entwerten, indem man sie per Traktorstrahl in den Konflikt hineinzwingt, muss man die ganze Arbeit zur Seite schieben und aus dem Handgelenk eine neue Geschichte improvisieren.

Damit das möglichst leicht machbar ist, gibt einem das Kapitel zur Abenteuererstellung einige gute Hilfsmittel an die Hand, damit der Frust über die schnöde ignorierten Mary-Sue-Übermenschen nicht zum Abbruch der gesamten Kampagne führt.

Kurzum folgt man auch hier wieder dem Prinzip der Spielleitung einen Baukasten für eigene Abenteuer zu liefern. Die Spielleitung wird angehalten sich über die Motivation seiner Gruppe klar zu werden, um so das bestmögliche Abenteuer für diese spezifische Gruppe zu erstellen. Dabei geht die Abenteueranleitung nach bekannten Mustern vor, die aber in einer sehr verständlichen und klaren Sprache formuliert sind. Such dir die Themen des Abenteuers aus, schreib eine grobe Outline an Szenen, füge beliebige Anzahl an Details und Handouts hinzu, mach dir klar welche Motivation deine Gruppe haben könnte deinem Storyköder zu folgen, dann noch einmal aufpolieren und auf die Spielerschaft loslassen. Damit die eigenen kreativen Prozesse starten können, kommt erneut die Zufallstabelle zum Einsatz. Den Abschluss bildet eine Übersicht von 100 möglichen Abenteuerideen, wenn man denn so gar nicht weiß, wo man anfangen soll.

Charaktererschaffung

Artwork von Stars Without Number Die Sektoren stehen, mögliche Abenteueraufhänger sind auch etabliert und man hat sich gemeinsam mit der Gruppe überlegt, was man denn spielen will. Nun müssen natürlich noch Charaktere her. Stars without Number steht hier sicher in der OSR-Tradition des Rollenspiels. Das bedeutet, dass unter der Motorhaube grundlegend eine einfache D&D-Version arbeitet mit all den typischen Eigenheiten dieser Spiele. Es gibt sechs grundlegende Attribute, denen entsprechende Fähigkeiten zugeordnet sind. Je höher der Attributswert, desto höher der Bonus, den man auf einen Wurf bekommt. Man bekommt entweder eine feste Anzahl an Punkten, die man auf Attribute und Fertigkeiten verteilen kann oder man kann sie zufällig erwürfeln. Von diesen Werten leiten sich Werte wie Rüstungsklasse oder Rettungswürfe ab.

Alle Charaktere basieren dann auf einer Kombination von Hintergrund, Klasse und Fokus. Der Hintergrund steht dabei für die biografische oder soziale Herkunft wie zum Beispiel Adel, Klerus, Fabrikarbeiter etc. Die Klasse legt fest, was der Charakter hauptsächlich macht und worauf er sich im Spiel konzentrieren will. Der Krieger kämpft, der Experte hat ein besonderes Spezialgebiet, der Psioniker hat übersinnliche Kräfte und der Abenteurer konnte sich nicht so recht entscheiden und möchte sich alle Optionen offenhalten. Schließlich nimmt man noch Foki, die den bisher relativ generischen Charakteren spezifische Ausformungen geben. Der Krieger kann also entweder Soldat, Offizier, Assassine oder Ritter einer technologisch wenig entwickelten Welt sein.

Man muss dazu sagen, dass Stars without Number – wie alle OSR-Spiele – deutlich in der tödlichen Ecke angesiedelt ist. Ein einzelner Blasterschuss kann auch erfahrene Charaktere auf der Stelle töten. Wem das nicht gefällt, der kann natürlich die Alternativregeln für heroische Charaktere benutzen, die mit höheren Lebenspunkten, Rettungswürfen etc. einhergehen.

Ansonsten ist zu der Charaktererschaffung wenig zu sagen. Das System ist simpel und leicht verständlich, bietet aber auch Möglichkeiten zu Optimierung und Numbercrunching. Es wirkt intuitiv, wenn auch wenig innovativ. 

Erscheinungsbild Das Buch erscheint – wie bei DriveThruRPG üblich – in mehreren Druckoptionen. Alle Aussagen basieren auf der farbigen Premiumversion, wie sie im Rahmen des Kickstarters ausgeliefert wurde. Optisch ist das Buch solide gemacht. Das durchgängig zweispaltige Schriftbild ist angenehm zu lesen und dezente farbige Balken am Rand lassen einen beim Durchblättern nicht nur immer wissen, wann ein neues Kapitel beginnt, sondern bilden eine schöne optische Kapitelklammer. Ferner wird jedes Kapitel durch eine großes einseitiges Artwork eingeleitet und zwischendurch sind immer wieder künstlerische Auflockerungen eingestreut. Das erfüllt alles seinen Zweck, entfacht aber auch keinen Begeisterungssturm. Die Artworks sind durchgehend von solider Qualität ohne allerdings dabei besonders hervorzustechen. Das Papier ist matt und angenehm dick, so dass es auch haptisch nichts zu bemängeln gibt. Der einzige kleine Wermutstropfen ist, dass der Buchblock deutlich kleiner ist als das ihn umgebene Hardcover. Da der Pappeinband somit an drei Seiten deutlich „übersteht“ bekommt er deutlich schneller Knicke und die Ecken sehen schnell bestoßen aus. Insgesamt aber ein handwerklich gutes Produkt, dessen Fokus aber klar auf der guten Benutzbarkeit und nicht schönem Aussehen liegt. 

Bonus/Downloadcontent Zum Zeitpunkt dieses Ersteindrucks gibt es keinen offiziellen Bonuscontent. Allerdings hat man auf der Webseite des Projekts Sectors without Number die Möglichkeit eine Web-Version der Sektorenerschaffung zu nutzen. Außerdem wird auf DriveThruRPG eine kostenlose Variante des Spiels vertrieben, die einige Sonderregelkapitel und Artworks weniger enthält, aber einen hervorragenden Startpunkt abgibt.

Fazit Die Ein-Mann-Schreibarmee Kevin Crawford hat mit der Revised Edition von Stars without Number ein beeindruckendes Werk vorgelegt. Auf den etwas mehr als 300 Seiten findet sich ein wahres Füllhorn an Ideen, Anleitungen und Regeln für nahezu jeden Aspekt von Science-Fiction-Rollenspielen im Generellen und den Sandbox-Spielstil im Speziellen. Wer schon immer einmal sein eigenes Universum erschaffen und dann seine SpielerInnen darauf loslassen wollte, der hat mit diesem Buch quasi eine Pflichtlektüre vor sich.

Optisch ist das Ganze sicher keine Schönheit, aber der Text an sich ist so dicht, dass manches Regelsystem mit dem dreifachen Seitenumfang nicht an die inhaltliche Tiefe herankommt. Alle Regel-Subsysteme wie Fraktionenhandlungen oder Raumkampf sind intuitiv und folgen dem klaren Designanspruch möglichst schnell und flüssig am Spieltisch umsetzbar zu sein und wenn möglich alle SpielerInnen einbinden zu können. Eine vorbildliche Herangehensweise, an der sich andere Simulationen ein Beispiel nehmen können.

Natürlich muss man dazu sagen, dass die schiere Fülle an Optionen einen mitunter fast erschlägt und eventuell einschüchternd wirken kann, aber die Beschäftigung lohnt sich für jeden, der Spaß an Science-Fiction Kampagnen hat. Mit knapp zwanzig US-Dollar für die PDF und 60 US-Dollar für die günstigste Druckversion gehört Stars without Number sicherlich nicht zu den günstigen Vertretern seiner Art, aber die kostenlose Variante bietet einem die Möglichkeit legal und gefahrlos in die Kernelemente des Spiels reinzuschnuppern, ehe man die Investition tätigt. Auch das verdient, wie das gesamte Buch, viel Lob und Anerkennung. Insgesamt ein uneingeschränkt empfehlenswertes Produkt. Chapeau, Herr Crawford.

Der Ersteindruck basiert auf der Lektüre des Buches und der Erschaffung eines kompletten Sektors mit Hilfe der entsprechenden Regeln.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Nick A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2018 18:11:42

The game is really fun. The binding on my book broke almost immediately. I went through proper opening procedures several times, and went to open it for a session and the binding separated. Unfortunate.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2018 17:31:00

Stars Without Number is becoming one of my favourite Sci-Fi RPG's. It's game mechanics are simple to grasp, being easy and fluid in play, yet crunchy and satisfying enough to deal with nearly any Sci-Fi setting you want to stomp around in. The default setting is elegant and infinitely expandable. The actual rules are kept firmly in check, making combat deadly and intensely satisfying. Think twice before starting a fight. They end quickly.

If you have a hankering for some 2d6 Traveller style Sci-Fi, with some OSR/3.5 d20 style D&D combat mechanics, this is highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Skuuf S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2018 07:16:06

I've been running games every week for 14 years and this is my favorite System/Setting by far. The tools that Kevin Crawford gives to the GM are powerful and freeing. This product is worth the purchase for the Faction system alone. If you want a game that enables you to be creative, and then gets out of the way, this is the one for you. It can also be modded it for a fantasy setting without much difficulty and I currently perfer it to D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Roberto M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2018 21:11:44

I am a longtime fan of the original. The Revised Edition is a vast improvement on the system. Mr. Crawford takes the OSR engine into refreshing territory. They book is worth the asking price just for the advice and the tools it provides. With this game you can pretty much run any sci-fi game you can imagine with it. Easy to modify and house rule, flexible and simple, yet robust. Can't recommend it enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Leo R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2018 04:29:09

5 Stars without a doubt. The amount of content you can find within the pages of this book is simply amazing. GM tools for creating your space sandbox (and running it), elegant but simple rules for important scifi tropes/scenarios (mechs, AI, starships, tech equipment, cyberware, drugs, hacking, etc.) and finally a simple method of character creation with lots of options and opportunities for diversification. This is the working mans' space RPG, with a system simple enough not requiring you to spend hours on preparation yet with enough customizability that not every character/situation at the table feels the same after a few gaming sessions. SWN is not a product without its problems though, don't get me wrong. While the authors creativity is unparalleled (at least from my point of view) and they clearly know how to write functional and elegant rules for their game, the presentation of those rules ist somewhat unoptimized. Often one sentence clearly states a rule, while the following paragraph seeks to explain this rule (hint: not needed!) and instead brings up new questions or contradicts the statements made one paragraph earlier. This is but a minor issue, since most rpg books are plagued by these problems, and thus doesn't modify the 5 star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2018 09:26:00

A fantastic science fiction RPG built upon classic RPG mechanics, Stars Without Number is title that will appeal to gamers whether "Old School" or "New School." This revised edtion greatly improves up the orginal by streamlining skills, broadens character creation, making space combat more generic, and adding rules for "Space Magic" for those who don't mind some fantasy in their sci-fi. The rules for Factions and system creation allow GMs to stake out their own slice of the galaxy and play out the conflicts between interstellar powers great and small, shaping the very universe that PCs will interact with. Buy it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 18:33:00

Bottom Line Up Front (BLUF): This is not a complete product, but just about. The only thing missing is minor...spell lists for Space Magic (and setting changes for said Space Magic) Kevin Crawford is obviously a one man band and what he has produced is phenomenal given those constraints. There are some things missing such as the spell lists mentioned, and character sheets usable for magic using characters.

This is a good set of tools for GMs to create a scifi universe. I love "Scarlet Heroes" and "The Red Tide Campaign" the original version of Stars Without Numbers is an excellent starting point. This is a worthy successor. The rules streamline the game. Changing the way AC is used actually decreases the math over the previous system. I liked using the 2d6 for saves instead of a d20, but it is not a game breaker. (I prefer having skill checks with a known average roll, same with saves). Psionics is completely revamped for the better. It runs much more smoothly and seems more internally consistent than before.

In the interest of honesty a few months ago I bought a hard copy of the original SWN. I was not pleased to find out that a new version was coming out and that I had "wasted" 30 USD (and there was no disclaimer on RPGNow or affliates). This review doesn't reflect any enmity, just a cold appraisal of what you get with this product. (I have spent about 100 dollars on Sine Nomine products! I like what Kevin Crawford is doing even if I at first don't understand it)

I will call Original SWN OSWN for the rest of this review. With OSWN you got rules for making a sector. You get that with SWN:RE. What you don't get that you got with OWSN is the Hydra Sector (an example sector along with factions), along with 15 pages of information on the Hydra Sector. RE doesn't have the blank maps for sectors, or planets that OWSN has. It doesn't have blank forms for factions, alien record sheet, adventure sheet, starship record sheet that are present in the original. (There is space for Starship info on the character sheet, but it is just a empty text box). In the OWSN we get examples of Xenobeasts, not in RE. In OWSN we get examples of Alien races if you guessed you don't get examples in RE you would have guessed correctly. What you do get is Cyberware, Transhuman, Robot/AI campaign and character possiblities. I mentioned Space Magic before it just doesn't offer the tool kit available with those first three systems mentioned.

There is a section that discusses how to retrofit any of the previous products in this line. It is succinct and misses no major change between products.

There was a list of quick name tables and tables for creating new religions, heresies, corporations...not present in RE. In RE you do still get rules/tables for making factions. You also get rules/tables for making up societies. The latter give a lot more room for imagination. There are more tags for planets. This is nice but see my comment on gravity below.

You know that extra 20 USD you spent to get the extra goodies...? Well how about Space Magic? The character sheet has no place to reflect a character as Arcanist or Magister (or Adept). Psychics have several boxes dedicated to them (which is useless space for other classes). When you make up your spell lists you'll have to make up a character sheet as well. But I would have to say this is overshadowed by the completeness of the other additional sections. Definitely worth the 20 dollars.

As I go through the book, now for the second time, I see that many of the sections here are sparse in detail but long on verbiage. Not my cup of tea. Mr. Crawford is letting us as GMs and players make some decisions on our own. He even has a section of House rules that I greatly appreciated. I think he could have tightened up on word usage and found the room he needed to add some of the other areas he felt he had to drop.

One area where both OWSN and RE lack...rules for gravity. Gravity is mentioned repeatedly thoughout the rules, but it isn't discussed as a system anywhere. How does micro/zero gee change how you use a gun or melee, or movement? (Why would I care if I had a laser weapon or Void Carbine? Why do I care if I have thrusters on my suit?) I don't know. It isn't in either book. How does high gee impact encumbrance? Don't know. We are told that this is a hard sci fi setting, but without rules on gravity it seems that the author is playing at hand wavium not hard science. When rolling up a planet there aren't tags/rules for variable gravity worlds. I also miss Conditions. I understand the OSR ethos of house ruling everything, but just a few conditions would free GMs from having to rule on each individual situation.

This game is worth the 20 dollars. I just wish that the Space Magic section were complete...or not in there at all.

Note: I apologize for my first review. I wrote it after having done only a cursory read through. I missed sections that would have answered questions that I had and I would have avoided having panned this book in the first place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2018 16:08:44

Played the original game for several years. Really like the direction the revised rules have moved in. Simple.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Dean P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2018 19:42:40

I ran a campaign a year ago with the orignal rulebook. It was a fun adventure throughout the sector. When I started a new campaign with the revised rules, it was imediate how much better they were. Its more streamlines, allows more complexity, and the psychic rules are much, much better. All in all, this is a brillaint improvement to an already great system, and at a bargain price. If you are a fan of sci-fi or rpg's in any form, pick this rulebook up. It is worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 13:51:29

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition is the best kind of "2nd edition" that other RPG titles should aspire to emulate. Why? Because it did not throw away the baby with the bathwater. It is fully compatible with all the original SWN sourcebooks and adventures. The original Stars Without Number was an amazing but identifiably "indie" set of rules. Was it bad? No, it was great, chock full of great ideas, interesting systems of rules, exciting content. But as a gamer who has been around since the '77 basic set, I've certainly read my fair share of RPG rule books, and the original SWN was a very well done "budget" book that looked very good but was not the highest quality layouts and artwork I'd seen before. This new Revised Edition corrects all of that, in spades, and adds a ton of new excellent content as well. There were a few issues I had with the earlier system, and almost all of those minor issues I had have been corrected with the Revised Edition also.

This game starts with the basic OSR d20 core system of abilities we've all come to know and love (or at least understand), as a base, and then builds onto it custom layers of science fiction content onto it. So, no, you do not have "Fighter" but you have a warrior class that is similar to Fighter and you have an Expert class similar to Thief (but a far better way to handle the skills compared to 1e), and you have a Psychic to be the "magic user" to add some cool psychic powers to the game. And that's just for starters, there's tons of customization that can go into individual classes, and for the most part, you can develop the character in whatever directions you choose.

There's also some amazingly great GM tools included in this book that can be useful for anyone playing any type of science fiction space opera type setting regardless of the rules you're using. There's chapters on designing your own space sectors, with advise on handling interstellar trade, societies, diplomacy, alien physiology and psychology, robots and VI's (androids or droids with "virtual intelligence" or semi-sentience),how to develop alien, robot, or VI player character classes, factions, etc. Starfinder GM's may want to consider getting this just for its world-building and sandbox play assistance.

But is there anything negative to say about SWN:RE? For fans of lighter "indie" roleplaying games similar to Apocalypse World, Stars Without Number Revised Edition like it's original will feel a bit "heavy" in terms of game mechanics. There's a lot of little mechanics to either remember or reference in the book when they come into play. Not everything is handled by one simple 2d6 mechanic, although basic skill use is, so that's something that fans of PbtA games will probably appreciate. But for the most part, you will need amost all of your polyhedrals to play SWN:RE, and you'll want the handy GM's screen set up while playing so you can quickly reference various charts and tables that will be required to successfully judicate the mostly player-driven narrative. Since SWN is intended to be a player-driven sandbox style game, it has similarities with "indie" titles following the AWE / PbtA model, but there are more rules to handle all of the various situations that can come up in a science fiction setting. For example, starship design, starship combat, designing robotics and VI's and True AI's, hacking into stuff, psychic abilities, the effects of scifi hazards like vacuum, radiation, pressure sickness, poisons, disease (terran and alien), technology levels, etc. All of that may seem overwhelming for a PbtA GM, but you know what? It's there if you want to use it, and if not, you can chunk that and just let the narrative dictate the result just like always because it's YOUR GAME and as the GM you're the final arbiter of the results of any attempted action on the part of the player or non-player characters.

Revised Edition is FULLY COMPATIBLE with the supplements and adventures of the original edition of the rules, so you don't have to go re-buy all of your SWN books to stay current. Or if you are new to SWN, you already have available a lot of adventures and supplements compaitible with this new rulebook! And did I mention that the production values are way up? WAY UP, amazingly beautiful full page artworks and a full color printing that just pops right off the page and is absolutely gorgeous. Along with all the new optional content like Transhuman campaigns, AI's, Mecha, and even Space Magic, SWN Revised is an incredible value for the price and a gorgeous edition to any scifi fan's bookshelf.

I did participate in this book's Kickstarter, full disclosure, but I bought this book, and this is not a paid review. I honestly feel this is one of the best science fiction RPG rulebooks ever produced.

virtuadept



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2018 16:18:42

The production quality has gone way way up in this revised edition. There is tons of great full color art to inspire players and game masters. It adds great new character creation rules to let players really dig into customizing their character. It's a weighty tome with lots of tables for running a space sandbox for many years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates