DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Publisher: Room 209 Gaming
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2019 10:39:01

Since I already owned this, when the author put that political, and objectively false, crap about concentration camps at the beginning of the description, I decided to donate to Build The Wall.

Feels good.

Keep politics out of gaming.

Get woke, go broke.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Because I can foresee a day when we take our notification down, Daniel E is referring to this notification at the top of every Room 209 Gaming product page: --Until the concentration camps in the United States close, all proceeds Room 209 Gaming earns from sales will be donated to the ACLU and RAICES as they work to close the camps.-- This notification was added to our products in July 2019 and will remain - on all our old products and any new ones we publish - until such time as the "migrant detention centers" in the United States are closed or until the immigrants incarcerated within are granted due process, habeas corpus, and a clear legal path to ending their imprisonment. At Room 209 Gaming, we side with the historians who believe it is appropriate to call them concentration camps (where people are imprisoned without legal recourse), distinct from extermination camps (concentration camps where people are deliberately or systematically killed). We believe these camps are unnecessarily cruel. We do not believe standing against cruelty is a political issue, but a moral one. As proud and patriotic Americans, with family who have fought and died for the ideals of this country, we stand by our decision to donate our proceeds - not just profits, but ALL the money we earn from our products from July 2019 forward - to stand against the cruel incarceration of immigrants. We can do better, we should do better, and at Room 209 Gaming, we are putting our money where our morals are. As you might imagine, the developers of a game called FORTHRIGHT are quite big on transparency :-). We chose to announce where our share of all sales are going because we believe consumers have the right to know where their money will ultimately wind up. We made sure it was right at the top of the page so that anyone who finds this cause egregious need look no further at any of our products; we do not want anyone to feel like we tricked them into even indirectly donating to a cause they do not believe in.
Thoughts on Fate: A Collection of Essays on the Fate RPG
Publisher: Amazing Rando Design
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2016 10:52:45

I really enjoyed this. Honestly the first half is way more useful then the magic systems. I intend on using most of the first half suggestions this very weekend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thoughts on Fate: A Collection of Essays on the Fate RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Focal Point: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Running Extraordinary Sessions
Publisher: Encoded Designs
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2016 18:25:58

The example group is just terrible. Much of the advice was obviously never really tried by the authors. it's just so bad.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Focal Point: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Running Extraordinary Sessions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2014 17:17:59

As a long-time gamer (starting around 1979 or so), there have been just a few games that really got me excited. When I switched from a level-based game to a skill one (D&D to Traveller), to a great universal game (GURPS) and now this. I am convinced this is the best RPG book out today. It''s very well written. Clear, yet entertaining. This is NOT a rules-lite game. It is, however, a rules-are-secondary game. The aspects are an awesome way to keep focused on the narrative. Instead of looking down your character sheet for what you can do, or examining the tactical map for options, you decide what you are going to do, and make it fit into the rules. I just love that. The rules are quite structured as a flexible framework, but within those rules, the sky is the limit. I also love that you can portray great stories in the rules, without the massive preparation required in typical number-heavy games. I am not so sure about the letting the players have so much say in the story and campaign design, but that is most likely my lack of experience. I can tell you that is is now the only game I will run, and what I look for first at cons. It's simply the next generation in RPG development.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Village of Briarton (Action!, d20)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2005 00:00:00

Great base of operations for a standard D&D game. The town will fit into just about any Greyhawk or Forgotten Realms type fantasy world. The characters are interesting, but now weird enough to frighten off the PCs. Most of the time, PCs need a peaceful place to go, so they can buy stuff, heal and such. This works, but also gives great ideas for thing to happen in the town, and even ways to let things develop over time.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Characters were interesting, but did not distract from the idea of this as a base of operations for a party.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Needs to be updated to 3.5 and the maps are awful, but serviceable.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Village of Briarton (Action!, d20)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Image Portfolio 006 Fantasy Cityscape
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2003 00:00:00

This is a GREAT products. I was able to illustrate my campaign handout with great art. I found it was easy to match locations I already wrote up with the pics in this PDF.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 006 Fantasy Cityscape
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Everyone Else: A Book of Innkeepers, Farmers & More
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2003 00:00:00

Wonderful. I hope they revise it for 3.5 soon. I printed it out and keep it near-by at the gaming table.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Everyone Else: A Book of Innkeepers, Farmers & More
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Studio Companion: Dixon and Rhead
Publisher: Alea Publishing Group
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2003 00:00:00

Really bad, low-res clipart. Terrible waste of money. The other product from them, Question of Honor, is fantastic.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Studio Companion: Dixon and Rhead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
With Dan Evelands initial response, we immediately asked other consumers of the product if they felt it was a waste of thier money. Though none of them said it was a waste, they did indeed point out some problems with the product. We in turn took those comments, and those left by Dan, and revised the product available for download now. As with all of our customers, we wish to put out a quality product and we understand that the needs of our customer has to be met in order for us to grow thus becoming a part of your gaming tables. Though we also understand that we cannot please everyone, comments, such as Dan's, will inspire us to a) address and alter the problems and b) revise our product should the need of the customers arise. We thank you Dan for your comments and we hope that you enjoy the revised Studio Companion Vol. I, like those who purchased the revised edition, and the other products you have purchased from us. Thank you, Alea Publishing Group
A Question of Honor: A Guidebook to Knights
Publisher: Alea Publishing Group
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2003 00:00:00

This product far exceeded my expectations. It details some great additions to the d20 system that fit perfectly on top of the standard 3.5 SRD. The additions represent combat options. It feels like details for melee that match the details in spellcasting and magic that already exist in d20. New feats and skills like "Swordcraft" that works kind of like Spellcraft. Also, the area detailed in the document fits into my d20 campaign (fairly standard, ok... really standard) perfectly. The history is vague enough to insert your own events/deities into what they have written (I use Word and search-and-replace). I spend way too much money at RPGnow and this is one of the few things I actually printed out, copied and pasted and incorporated into my own campaign I run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Question of Honor: A Guidebook to Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Player's Companion, Volume One
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Dan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2003 00:00:00

Really great. Stuff that should have been in the main book. Integrates perfectly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Player's Companion, Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates