DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook $9.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 2
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 2
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Publisher: Room 209 Gaming
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2019 11:58:22

I think FOR is a really great generic system. They put a lot of work into making sure that you can make it work in any setting you imagine. Character creation is really easy, with you assigning bonuses to Talk, Fight, and Skill, then deciding on your fighting stance (a great way to designate how your character interacts in combat), persona (how they interact with society, like are they a cop or a snobby rich person?), and boosts, which are their more unique skills. It's really quick, which is something I appreciate when making a character, but really allows you to make your PC unique. Every session I've played has been great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind review! We're happy you're enjoying the game :-) :-)
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Publisher: Room 209 Gaming
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2019 02:42:38

I purchased this on Deal of the Day. for USD $2.00 as an economic decision. I feel as though I made a mistake. So please allow me to relate my concerns. Regarding your advertising, part of what you said is highly inaccuarate and inflamatory. I think it detracts from other people purchasing what may otherwise have been a whimsical game purchase. Should you ever make it to the Poland I encourage you to visit the Memorial and Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau for you to better understand why your advertising is innacurate.

I feel that minimizes the potential damage my purchase has made. If not, I will find another way to make ammends.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Because I can foresee a day when we take our notification down, Michael G is referring to this notification at the top of every Room 209 Gaming product page: --Until the concentration camps in the United States close, all proceeds Room 209 Gaming earns from sales will be donated to the ACLU and RAICES as they work to close the camps.-- This notification was added to our products in July 2019 and will remain - on all our old products and any new ones we publish - until such time as the "migrant detention centers" in the United States are closed or until the immigrants incarcerated within are granted due process, habeas corpus, and a clear legal path to ending their imprisonment. At Room 209 Gaming, we side with the historians who believe it is appropriate to call them concentration camps (where people are imprisoned without legal recourse), distinct from extermination camps (concentration camps where people are deliberately or systematically killed, such as Auschwitz). We believe these camps are unnecessarily cruel. We do not believe standing against cruelty is a political issue, but a moral one. As proud and patriotic Americans, with family who have fought and died for the ideals of this country, we stand by our decision to donate our proceeds - not just profits, but ALL the money we earn from our products from July 2019 forward - to stand against the cruel incarceration of immigrants. We can do better, we should do better, and at Room 209 Gaming, we are putting our money where our morals are. As you might imagine, the developers of a game called FORTHRIGHT are quite big on transparency :-). We chose to announce where our share of all sales are going - our "advertising" - because we believe consumers have the right to know where their money will ultimately wind up. We made sure it was right at the top of the page so that anyone who finds this cause egregious need look no further at any of our products; we do not want anyone to feel like we tricked them into even indirectly donating to a cause they do not believe in.
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Publisher: Room 209 Gaming
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2019 10:39:01

Since I already owned this, when the author put that political, and objectively false, crap about concentration camps at the beginning of the description, I decided to donate to Build The Wall.

Feels good.

Keep politics out of gaming.

Get woke, go broke.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Because I can foresee a day when we take our notification down, Daniel E is referring to this notification at the top of every Room 209 Gaming product page: --Until the concentration camps in the United States close, all proceeds Room 209 Gaming earns from sales will be donated to the ACLU and RAICES as they work to close the camps.-- This notification was added to our products in July 2019 and will remain - on all our old products and any new ones we publish - until such time as the "migrant detention centers" in the United States are closed or until the immigrants incarcerated within are granted due process, habeas corpus, and a clear legal path to ending their imprisonment. At Room 209 Gaming, we side with the historians who believe it is appropriate to call them concentration camps (where people are imprisoned without legal recourse), distinct from extermination camps (concentration camps where people are deliberately or systematically killed). We believe these camps are unnecessarily cruel. We do not believe standing against cruelty is a political issue, but a moral one. As proud and patriotic Americans, with family who have fought and died for the ideals of this country, we stand by our decision to donate our proceeds - not just profits, but ALL the money we earn from our products from July 2019 forward - to stand against the cruel incarceration of immigrants. We can do better, we should do better, and at Room 209 Gaming, we are putting our money where our morals are. As you might imagine, the developers of a game called FORTHRIGHT are quite big on transparency :-). We chose to announce where our share of all sales are going because we believe consumers have the right to know where their money will ultimately wind up. We made sure it was right at the top of the page so that anyone who finds this cause egregious need look no further at any of our products; we do not want anyone to feel like we tricked them into even indirectly donating to a cause they do not believe in.
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Publisher: Room 209 Gaming
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 09:15:23

Formatting seems to be an issue, an easier to read review here: http://gamingwhiledriving.blogspot.com/2017/11/review-forthright-open-roleplay.html?m=1

Forthright Open Roleplay is a true evolution of role playing games. It is, both, universal and guided. Forthright has blended resolution mechanics into something graceful and intuitive. And, most important to me, it has defied my attempts at tinkering with the core system.

Forthright Open Roleplay is interesting in that it is an open role playing system. It is universal (I wouldn’t call it generic), and has enough constraint to build a framework on. In a matter of minutes, a player can generate a character for any conceivable genre, and a GM can stat opposition in seconds. Adding a Wealth tier related to the experience system makes measuring two sides in conflict easy to measure. Is the character less experienced but loaded with gear? The players can measure how that compares to some other character. That’s what I mean by universal and guided: unlike some generic systems, there’s a value assigned to abilities and gear that makes comparison easy without having to tally points and advantages or merits. It’s fairly elegant.

Forthright Open Roleplay brings a resolution mechanic that I’ve been looking for: a d20 based roll with tiered levels of success. Anyone familiar with games Powered by the Apocalypse can see where the resolution table stems from. However, how it’s implemented in the system is what sets it apart. Sure, there’s what you would expect from a low roll in the form of the action fails and things might get worse. There’s what you would expect for a high roll and succeeding. The mid range rolls and criticals is where the game shines, bringing, as above, a guided method of using Boons (the result of critical rolls) and how, in some cases, Exchanges (the result of mid range rolls) work without resorting to Hold or, necessarily, soft moves.

This is where I came across my stumbling blocks. I tinker with systems and settings to make them better for my play style or have the setting flow more naturally. Forthright Open Roleplay has defied my tinkering. You see, my first impulse was to turn the three abilities scores into the familiar six. Then I recalled the Cosmetic Rule. Combat in Forthright, is an ability score. Did I really need Strength, Dexterity or Constitution? I considered using Intelligence or Wisdom or Charisma to elaborate on witty repartee versus force of personality. Cosmetic Rule stepped in again. Fine. I concede the Cosmetic Rule, how about an oracle for solo role playing? That’s actually already built into the mechanics with the four tiers of success. Ok, I need magic missiles and… Cosmetic Rule, file under Fighting Styles. A-ha! Fireball. Boosts. Next.

A previous review of Forthright referred to it as a haiku, and it is very true. As I explore its depths and come up with rules tweaks, the system itself says it’s already there, hidden beneath the three lines of poetry. I had thought Dungeon World would be my favorite RPG of all time, but I think Forthright is catching up. The more I try to tinker, the more the system pushes back, the closer I think it gets to winning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the tremendously positive review!
Displaying 1 to 4 (of 4 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates