DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery $2.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 5
1 4
1 2
0 0
0 0
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2019 10:59:44

I am running Tomb of Annihilation and so I am looking for as much content as possible to enrich my campaign and thicken my world; naturally, official AL adventures has adventage over other content. So I ran the "The Rot from Within" trilogy, and the last adventure, Putting the Dead to Rest, takes place in the ruins of Matolo. Nothing in the adventure sent me to this adventure, and that is a very disappointing circumstance. I think that adventure should have mentioned this adventure, and this adventure should have mentioned that one, so GMs would know they have two potential, official, plot lines that both lead to the ruins of Matolo.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 18:04:23

As pointed out herein, there are some problems in the edit. Also, there is no rewards summary page that most modules have, which makes calculations (pre-season 8) harder. To speed things up, do all the random encounters pre-rolled and planned out. But it is a fun adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shawn A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2018 16:16:32

I ran this as a supplament for an AL group during a few weeks in which our regular DM was not available and the setting and content was very cohesive. I ran it as a three-part story with each 7-player session lasting nearly four hours. It has a very good three-act plot if you choose to break it up in that way or it can be run much faster if you expidite the travel and forego the random encounters.

I found this to be a very balanced and compelling narrative as it progressed and transtioned through the multiple environments which provided an opportunity to develop a sense of space and travel and to enjoy the setting. The players were consistently motivated by the hooks and genuinely curious as the information unfolded.

There were at least two particular events/scenarios in that I found to lack what i considered revelent if not essential detail but otherwise I think this is a very well composed module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jeremy c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 00:07:06

My players enjoyed this module, however, they blew through the final encounter as I ran it without noticing several gaping deficiencies with the final boss. Here are my recommended adjustments to the boss:

  1. Change the spell list so he has bonus action and reaction spells. Shield especially.
  2. His AC is actually very high for a caster, so you can assume this includes his mage armor spell.
  3. Start with Animate Dead already cast- the module seems to imply that you should cast it during the fight, but it has a casting time of 1 minute.
  4. Have zombies use the shove attack to push anyone who stands too close to the edge into the water, it's funny.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 00:18:07

Played through the TOA Omu area and we really really enjoyed King of Feathers. He was a cheater but he was very enjoyable to play with. Going back to Ruins of Matolo, encountering yet another somewhat King of Feathers (only this time ramming him through players), it was even more fun! Solid module to play, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 14:09:29

RoM fits pretty nicely into a home campaign following the ToA story or supplmenting with the DDAL Season 7 modules. The adventure itself is pretty tight and short, with a nice mix of role playing and combat, as well as other challenges including the jungle itself. If your group enjoys adventures in Chult, then this is a must have adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 16:29:57

Was glad to see one of the areas mentioned in the Tomb of Annhilation book get some detail. Helpful to me as a template for other areas and new ones.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2017 16:18:18

Easy adventure to run and fun for the players. Didn't need to keep re-referencing the material after the initial read through.

The last act of the adventure is pretty interesting and allows for open interpretation for sheer amount of undead ... I like this because it made the characters/players/ extra weary about what they were walking into. With the right description and story telling skills it's pretty scary even.

One thing to note: this adventure really is for a party of five level 5s - as the adventure states. Once you move beyond that, the combat encounters become super easy all the way up till the end . You may want to modify some of the encounters just in case you run this with a group of seven level 5s or, if you are playing Tiered games, characters level 8 and upward ... if you don't, the'll mow right through the enemies with zero risk. Beast of Jungle Rot is a good companion to this adventure (especially if you are looking to modify the first encounter).

Will run again.

Play time for a Tier 2 group of characters was a between 4 and 5 hours. If you are a newer DM, not use to juggling abilities of mid level characters, or you have a large table, I would say it's a solid 5 - 5 and a half hour run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2017 15:27:26

Fair price for a quick Twenty-Three page adventure. Art was a nice touch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 23:02:24

A good purchase, and a good offering to your AL table. Price is very good, and provides similar quality to those that are officially published by WotC.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Matolo : Discovery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 21:35:06

Excellent mod. Good pacing and fun to play.

Only critiques are nitpicking.

  1. Clarify or give guidance on the goal of the adventure. We get two different messages.
  2. couple of spelling mistakes


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates