DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Ruins of Hisari $3.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 9
3 1
1 0
0 0
1 0
Ruins of Hisari
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Itai A. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 08:38:51

I really liked the overall design choices, I think starting with the hermit who leads them through the ruins up to The Voice is the right choice and sets the mood well. I didn't love the motivation, though. I thought that transforming into yuan-ti wasn't strong enough of a motivation to "solve" the problem. I love the adventure within the overall setting of ToA. I run the campaign, and I've added a lot of additional AL content, and a lot of it has to do with different yuan-ti plots. The fact the yuan-ti left Hisari and found refuge in Omu is crucial to the plot of ToA. If it weren't for that, they wouldn't have met Ras-Nsi. Also, because it happened 50 years ago, yuan-ti captives could actually give information about that, and so the PCs heard about Hisari, and it was one of the "mysteries" of the campaign. They really wanted to get there and find out what happened. I liked the back story. The hubris of the priests trying to summon a version of their god. How the yuan-ti, once proud to be selected by their gods, were actually abandoned by them. How of their plots are moved by this despair. Eventually, though, the PCs aren't doing much more than killing a monster. It's a very entertaining monster set in a suitable dungeon, but that's it. You would note I'm ignoring the whole "yuan-ti can't feel" sidequest since I didn't incorporate it in my game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2018 05:09:03

A thoroughly interesting mod, with a very fun variety of encounters and an interesting storyline to go along with it. There is opportunity to roleplay, puzzle solve and of course combat. The temporary tranformation introduced mid mod also adds a fun variety and sets the scene for some life altering choices for the players at the end of the mod. A few things that might need tweaking: there is one encounter that has the potential to suck an immense amount of time - if time constrained, adjust sensibly. Also, the final boss isnt overly challenging for a halfway decent party. After GMing it (and seeing the party manage it fine) I played it once as a 3 person party and that was certainly challenging, but obviously we were a fairly weak group. Consider scaling - there are resources on the internet suggesting creature substitutions / scaling. Finally, there is one puzzle where the room is slowly filling with lava. I have witnessed even people with the solution struggle to figure out what the trick is so make sure you really take the time to understand it as a GM, and be prepared to just punish the players for not solving and move on (I made my table take lava damage before the walls are caved in and they can go).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lauren P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2018 18:47:08

I'm going to be running Tomb of Annihilation very soon and am stocking up on extra content. The story feels super unique and is incredibly interesting with twists and turns I never would have thought of on my own. I also really like the maps that come with this package; sure they don't match the rest of ToA's maps and are monocolored, but get the job done and are definately worth the $4 alone. The formatting and art are also really well done within the package as well.

Also, I love the little tie to the Ruins of Mezro series with Tuttletomb! That was a great little thread to have in there.

Can't wait to give this a run with my players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 19:39:31

This is a great adventure for anyone interested in running a Yuan-ti based adventure. It fits in well with Tomb of Annihilation and can be run as an expansion to that campaign or stand alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lance S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 22:19:11

This is a great adventure and has lots of surprises for your players that they will not see coming until its to late.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2017 09:10:39

A fantastic mod that requires a bit more thought from players about who their characters are and an interesting story to explore! The PDF is setup nicely with many fantastic illustrations as well. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 23:00:34

Cool module, tons of maps, good illustrations and diagrams for the DM, and a very cool vilain to fight. Definately worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2017 07:27:12

A great Tier-3 adventure which delves into what it is to be a Yuan-Ti. The PDF is nicely bookmarked and searchable. If you're waiting for DDAL Tier-3 content but want to operate on the continent, this is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Joshua! A font/styles formatting issue was preventing my PDF export from being text searchable. That has been fixed. I also added bookmarks. As with the other Guild Adept content, this adventure was created along the lines of the hardcover Tomb of Annihilation, and as such, I am not planning on adding the "final tally page" of AL content. I will keep that in mind for future adventures I write. Hopefully the other changes I made will help you out instead!
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2017 11:01:06

Really like the theme and flavor of this adventure.

While short, it has a lot interesting rooms and features. The map style is fantastic pencil and graph paper drawings with computer art framing.

The story arc is interesting and unique (at least I don't remember many like it). I think the concept of this small story leaving its mark on the adventurers is refreshing. I would like to see more adventures have unique touches like this.

I will mention 2 issues I had. They would not stop me from running this but I will need to get answers or develop my own answers before I run it.

I'm being a little vague on details to try to avoid spoilers

1) The transition from 2 to 3 seems... a little railroady. Most effects described would require a saving throw, but instead it was described in the text. I would not even mind having the players choose to fight the magic (with a saving throw) or choose possible death. At least it follows the mechanics of the game. Also minor point. THe final test... seems like a one shot test. If a group fails I can't see how it can be triggered again. Perhaps something just as deadly but less solid.

2) The reason the for players to be drawn to the events of section 3, makes sense (PCs have what they do not) but the effect of the ritual itself seems odd. I have seen many snakes in trees. I think I will have to figure out a different effect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Hisari
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 17:48:16

This adventure will challenge any group of characters and may even alter the way they play them so be ready!

The module reads as equal parts Chuck Palahniuk, Cthulu and old school dungeon crawl with a new jungle based twist. Lysa Chen knocks this one right out of the park! The flavor of the old sword and sorcery is there, with serpent people, side quests (but not too many) deceptions.

It reminded me a bit of the pulp magazine writer C.L Moore and the ancient temples and religions that her heroes would explore.

Ruty Rutenberg makes a contribution with a detailed skill check appendix.

THe illustrations by Sam Burley and Jessica Thomas are great.

I'm really glad they sent a shout out to the playtesters and a comic book store! (WildPig Comics) Its these things that get us to write adventures and modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates