DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle $1.65
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
4 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
0one\'s Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 12:35:44

The vampire lurking in a remote and ancient castle lair is a standard image in the horror genre, so here are the tools to recreate it (you don't even need to be playing Dungeons & Dragons to find a use for these plans!). Of course it may not be a vampire who lives here at all, maybe it's the family seat of an ancient bloodline whose history is entwined with that of the lands around, or it may have been abandoned or repurposed for another use entirely - a grand hotel with hidden secrets, perhaps - or maybe your own party has been gifted the place by a grateful monarch... but you have to make it your own! The possibilities are endless.

The introductory notes offer some ideas for why the party might pay a call here, as well as providing a legend for map symbols and instructions on using the customisation tools that switch fill, numbers, grid, and furniture on and off.

The first plan gives an overview of the entire castle, with a gatehouse and curtain wall around the central structure. Perched on a hilltop with a chasm between the main castle and the entranceway, unless you are good at climbing (or can fly) it is quite difficult to gain access.

The second plan presents the entrance in more detail. There are 2 small structures on the far side of the chasm, a drawbridge, then a small complex of chambers in the outer wall with a wide passageway leading further in. This page also depicts the 'overlook' - a balcony on the far side that looks out over the lands beyond. Relatively safe from attack, this is an open area with several rooms and a terrace.

We then move on to an exploration of the main structure, beginning with the basement or Level -1. Down here there's a veritable maze of very small rooms, probably cells, and a lot of statues. This is followed by a plan of Level 0, which has several large rooms, including a hall that contains a massive statue, and shows the base of several towers. Level 1 shows that the hall with the massive statue is two stories high and also includes what appears to be a throne room.

Next, Level 2 provides the roof to some areas (including the large hall which has a dome over it) and includes high walkways to the surrounding curtain wall, including two which extend to the 'overlook' spoken about earlier. Level 3, Level 4 and Level 5 are mainly rooftops apart from some towers that continue upwards, their top levels - open to the sky - appear on Level 6. Within the castle there are many rooms, most of which have been left empty and unadorned, you will be able to have fun deciding what is there.

This is a quite magnificent castle, worthy of some great ruler or historied family. It's wasted on a vampire... if one's there, it is time to throw him out and install a more worthy resident!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mads H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2009 15:28:52

A sprawling an imaginative dungeon. Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Harvey B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2007 00:00:00

Very well laid out and with some excellent options (such as turning the grid or numbers on and off to make life easier when printing) make this a first class product. It was also very reasonably priced. Most definitely ten out of ten.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jerry G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2006 00:00:00

Excellent product! The floor plans were unique and well thought out. I got a lot of utility of this product.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The versatility of the product. I was able to print what I needed for players and myself. They way the PDFs are set (in layers) I can pick and choose what to print and what information to print. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing comes to mind..good product<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2005 00:00:00

This is a collection of maps of a castle that could be used to map out the lair of a powerful vampire. The PDF starts with a cover page, a short, one-page introduction, and a page with the map legend. After this comes the actual maps. In total there is 10 different maps. but they are printed both in "blue and white" as well as ordinary B/W, so there is twenty pages of maps. The PDF ends with a page to fill in the room numbers and short descriptions of each room, and an one-page advertisment for other 0One Blueprints.

The cartography is crisp and clean, and the useage of the PDF format is well done, allowing one to show or hide room numbers and grids with a simple mouse-click.

Unfortunately, the cartography isn't that much better than what I used to do by hand back in the days I wrote my own adventures, and the simple (and clean) style doesn't allow any fancy embellishments.

My conclusion is that this is a product for those of us that doesn't have the time to draw our own maps any more and who are looking for something simpler than those fancy, colored tiles of the other RPG cartography firm. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Crisp, clean cartography. Good useage of the PDF format.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Almost too simple cartography. Use of "blueprints" is fancy, but this only doubles the number of pages while adding nothing useful.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2005 00:00:00

Another great blueprint from Oone. These are great for quick adventures for any game system.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Has several levels that can be explored. Some of the levels even capture a bit of a gothic flare to them. One of the lower levels has a place in the front of the castle for a huge statues - would be good point in a story where the adventurers are awestruck and terrified by some imposing and/or horrifying figure standing over the front entrance to the castle.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: No outside view of the castle like in another blueprint.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Luke S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2005 00:00:00

This great castle is full of interesting nooks, crannies, rooms and corridors. Visually, it's great, with lots of features and numberable rooms. The only thing I could suggest is perhaps a side-on view, giving an overview of what the castle looks like and how the floors interact.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The cartography of this product is excellent, and for the price, I douby I could find anything better.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I have Adobe Acrobat 5.0, but I don't really want to have to download a newer version of Acrobat Reader to turn on/off the functions (like the grid, furniture, and numbers). I suppose that's my problem, though... I'm just stingy with hard-drive space. :)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2005 00:00:00

I have always been a big fan of the map of Ravenloft castle. In fact, I bought the Hackmaster version just to get a better 2d rendering of it.

Vampire Castle is very similar to, but very different from that. In fact, I just plopped it down in my campaign as a newly built castle in a nearby province ruled by nobles with a known checkered past.

Excellent lay-out and presentation. Well done indeed!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2005 00:00:00

Great maps ... 'nuff said! Save time and effort is you need a quick map.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Gregory B S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2005 00:00:00

Remember Strahd Von Zervich's castle from Ravenloft? This is very similar. There is NOT an isometric view, but it's still a great castle for any occasion. I really liked this one, perhaps it is the best of the line so far.

The maps are interactive. The GM can manipulate them by dropping the grid or room numbers.

Buy it! Fill it! Run it!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates