DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Songs of Aedragard
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2020 19:55:30

There's good components here, but I don't feel that it actually comes together in a coherent way. On the way in, you're menaced by wolves that work for a dragon, but there's no indication of the dragon itself unless you suddenly find yourself fighting it. When you get to the keep you've got dead folks in their bed, despite the fact that they were supposedly killed by a dragon attack. When you get to the basement, you've got ghosts (no mention of their remains) and if you manage to appease the ghosts, everything is fine and you can go home and no further mention is made of the dragon. Oh, and the ghosts are because of an artifact with with the players never interact. What?

I like the notion here; the framework is solid and I like that there are characters with wants and needs and that you can do the whole thing on "pacficist" (if you don't mind running from wolves) but otherwise it's kind of incoherent. Also it's rife with typographical issues, the organization can get blown out the window if your players do anything other than walk in a straight line, and the map numbers don't correspond to the scene numbers.

tl;dr: Neat idea; needs work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Songs of Aedragard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fortune's Childe
Publisher: Hawvermale Paper & Pen
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2020 19:11:21

This game has an interesting idea but the execution is pointlessly complex. I get almost an old-school vibe from the way skills and checks fit together, except it feels like this hasn't been playtested at all.

Take "Dark Fhama." All checks in this game involve drawing a Major Arcana card. If that card is inverted (meaning upside-down), the character earns 2DF. This happens frequently--about every other draw, because the game stresses that you should shuffle the deck on both orientations, which means that at any given time about half the cards will be inverted. So every two checks, you wind up adding 2DF--or if you prefer, an average of one for every single check you make.

The thing is, Dark Fhama is also a penalty to your checks. After eight checks or so, you will likely have 8DF. Dark Fhama can only be discharged under certain circumstances, and only once a day, and most importantly, your Dark Fhama score is a penalty on every single check you make. Speaking of which, discharging Dark Fhama is accomplished via a skill check, and it's a skill that is rated 8+level. Which means that at first level--sorry, 0th level, because of course--the only way to pass a check to clear 8 Dark Fhama is by drawing the Fool. If you get 10 Dark Fhama--if you have a busy day, in other words--you literally cannot discharge it until you level up twice.

Speaking of levels, let's talk crunch. We're looking at weapon proficiencies, folks, one per 3 levels, for a single weapon at a time. Each level also gives you one "skill point" which applies to what is basically the list of non-weapon proficiency list from AD&D2e. And the game has an XP system, with no mention of milestone progression, which is a weird choice for 2016.

It's like ... here's this idea of a fey child prancing merrily through the world, carefree and enjoying adventures alone. Now here's an iron grate of punishing rules to squish down over that concept! It's just such a bizarre a tonal mismatch.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fortune's Childe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Sidekicks: Descent into Avernus
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 23:26:57

For a small group, sometimes you need a hireling or two. Using leveled NPC blocks is way easier than trying to maintain extra characters, especially if you want to avoid the temptation to DMPC. There are some good options in here, too. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Sidekicks: Descent into Avernus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Encounters in Avernus
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 23:24:01

Really great encounters and plenty of them. Many will be random seeds that definitely come back later. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Avernus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

No Country For Old Kobolds
Publisher: Steve Wallace Art
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 23:45:42

I really wanted to like this game. I really tried to like this game. I love games with incompetent disposable characters because they're a lot of fun. Or at least I love them when they're a lot of fun.

My core complaint is that almost everything is handled by the "Duck, Cover, and Squirm" move, which results in a d6 of damage even on a partial success. The thing is, PCs have 1d6 hit points. So that means almost every check has about an 80% chance of dealing potentially lethal damage to the person making it. We played for two sessions and I think we had exactly one kobold survive two consecutive dice rolls. (They died on the third.) So instead of making "incompetent and disposable" fun, it's just kind of punishing. Players were afraid to roll the dice, and tried to weasel around moves. It's just not a good time. We went through several missions, a few village advancements, several variations of ability combinations ... it just didn't work for us.

The PDF also merits consideration. It's cute, certainly, but it's big and clunky; flipping through it to run the game involved a lot of sitting around waiting for it to load. Which is unfortunate, because you're constantly referring back and forth to different parts of it. The ToC isn't bad, but it's not quite great, either. Very frustrating experience all around.

I feel like I should end on a "no country" pun, but I'm honestly too disappointed. If you want kobold shenanigans, play Kobolds Ate My Baby. This game is a good idea, but the execution just doesn't work.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
No Country For Old Kobolds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exilium Core Rules
Publisher: Fire Ruby Designs
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2017 22:12:12

I'll be honest, I don't even remember backing this Kickstarter, but I am so glad that I did. This is like Nephilim in space. Or you could run a government campaign and it would be like Kult in space. Either way, it's a glorious combination of tropes. It's written for D6, which is a perfectly functional system, or you can convert it into just about anything, because the concepts that make it so brilliant aren't system-dependent at all. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exilium Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nightmares of the Dead Dreamers (Digital Early Release)
Publisher: Atramentis Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2017 19:20:46

By all the gods! A game more pretentious than Immortal: The Invisible War!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Nightmares of the Dead Dreamers (Digital Early Release)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Kobold: A Totally Expected Parody
Publisher: 9th Level Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2016 21:23:03

So here's the thing: Obviously this little booklet cannot parody the entire plot of The Hobbit, yet it is noted several times that the kobolds will be expected to go on the big stupid quest for which everyone is preparing. Yet, just as we get to that moment, we run out of text. I can't tell if that's just shtick, or if the file is incomplete, or if it really is just "Part 1" and more is coming later.

There is technically a scenario's worth of activity here, but it would be highly repetitive and just not that interesting, and then the game would end on the note of "and now you start your big quest! okay, thanks for playing," which is why I can't tell if that's the intent--that would fit the overall KAMB aesthetic, certainly--or if this is a prelude to an actual KAMB campaign.

Basically I'd say this could be pretty good if it explained what it was just a touch more. Until then, caveat emptor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Kobold: A Totally Expected Parody
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Best Friends, Protocol One-Sheet
Publisher: post world games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:55:54

This game: Creepy, quirky, fun.

Protocol system: Pretty good! Feels a little bit like Final Girl, a little bit like the story components of Savage Worlds (i.e. without all that math). Quick & easy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Best Friends, Protocol One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tweaks
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:54:10

Competent & functional. Contains just enough setting, plus a few vague story prompts; enough to go on but you can do whatever you want with it. One flaw: Characters start with an amount of money between $111 and $444, which is maybe enough to buy one upgrade. So it's either street-level teenage shenanigans, or you'll want to make some allowances for starting equipment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tweaks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orc Hospital, Protocol Game Series 55
Publisher: post world games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:51:48

This game: Exactly as weird as you think it will be. A delight.

Protocol system: Pretty good! Feels a little bit like Final Girl, a little bit like the story components of Savage Worlds (i.e. without all that math). Quick & easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orc Hospital, Protocol Game Series 55
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Schoolgirl RPG
Publisher: Yaruki Zero Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:49:43

Well, it does what it says on the tin, I'll give it that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Schoolgirl RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:47:22

I know what you're thinking! You're thinking, "This must be so bad it's good!"

Nope.

Sorry.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Septimus
Publisher: Nocturnal Media
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:44:56

Ugh. I tried. I really did. But after 90 pages of setting that's presented like you're supposed to already know the history, I couldn't take it anymore. Or maybe it's the fact that nearly every enumeration is sevenfold. Think I'm kidding? The Seventh Empire has existed for seven centuries and is divided into seven regions. After fighting a war on seven fronts, it's dying, so people are heading for this mysterious alien Dyson Sphere they've just found, which has seven planets orbiting within it and was colonized by a group of humans who promptly built seven cities. The name of the Dyson Sphere? Septimus.

Also, if the Dyson Sphere is 1AU from its star, which is established very firmly, how are there seven habitable planets within the half-AU they have left to move? I don't normally insist on good science in a science fiction setting because it's fiction, but if you're going to give me all these measurements, don't expect me to overlook that they don't make sense.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Septimus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doll
Publisher: Ginger Goat
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:34:51

Okay, I need to acquire a creepy doll to take to cons with me so I can get in as much of this game as possible. Trust me, you will get way more than $4 worth of fun from this game, as long as you're willing to obey rule #1: Play in public.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doll
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates