DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium $29.99 $10.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 19
1 1
0 1
0 1
0 0
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Click to view
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2018 16:22:21

I know what you're thinking. Ah, yeah, another magic item book. Why do I need another magic item book, anyway? Well, yes, this is true. Lost Artifacts is a magic item book at its core. But this book is a LOT more than just a magic item book. First of all it's friggin' HUGE. If you ever decide to quit playing D&D, you could always tie a chain to this and use it as an anchor for your boat. Secondly, it is GORGEOUS. There is a lot of really brilliant fantasy art in here, page after page of amazing items and artwork. But the most important reason you want to get this, as GM at least, is because each of these hundred odd artifacts has an actual STORY to them, and those stories WILL kick off your creative juices and can easily turn into unique adventures for your campaign that you build yourself. There's really a LOT of little hooks here in nearly every item description. You could write adventures for multiple campaigns with all the good ideas here. And that it why this book is a highly recommended for 5e DM's. And as for players, well hey, some of these items are also really USEFUL, so you could pick up a copy and try to convince your DM to put one of these in the next random chest or goblin horde. Yeah, right. I mean, sure, it COULD happen. So why not buy and try?!

Art: 5/5 Story: 5/5 Crunch: 5/5 Value: 5/5

OVERALL: 5/5 - Highly recommended for DMs and tentatively recommended for players of 5th Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Brianna J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:40:44

i found this book through reddit. the author put up this awesome picture of a poster and frame he made for one of the illustrations in it. i asked a few other users who backed or bought it if it was good and i got a ton of positive reviews of the quality and care taken to make it. it was really expensive and i was on the fence and then i started looking up what people thought and siad about it and everyone was so satisfied i bought my copy and i am not disappointed at all! first, this book is huge. you really don't know that that means until you get it in your hands. you think you know, but you dont know. its 500 pages. its like one of my textbooks. and its quality content from cover to cover. i started just reading it like id read a novel and got lost in the new stories for each item and the new ways to attune things. i am amazed that they managed to add so much flavor to this book. so many plot ideas. i have a dozen new campaign ideas just from the narrations alone! i am not kidding. one of the stories is about this lonely set of armor in a baren field in the rain in the middle of nowhere and that whole area was once a thriving giant city that got destroyed. i took that and its the plot to my next campaign and that armor is a big part of the dread of it. its soo good. as i was reading through the items and their system i noticed that all of them were special and new and none of them were boring reskins of old items or +1 swords or anything. i found maybe a few out of a hundred that might be too risky for a party member in my game but none of it was overpowered. the level of care they took to make these all good for any game is awesome. my favorite part is probably the artwork. its gorgeous absolutely gorgeous. and so many of the battle and item scenes depict women. as a girl who loves D&D ill be honest, i feel underrepresented all the time. as a poc, i definitely do. there are so many great depictions of women and pocs in awesome fantasy poses and doing cool stuff. i went back to see the creative team and yep, the representatiion in this book was amazing. its not a big deal and the book woud be worth it either way, but it was great to see that manysideddice thought of people like me that love rpgs and want to be more of a part of them.

this book is a must buy. its pricey but its worth it. it will be one of the best books you ever own for fantasy rpgs around a table with friends. i cant wait to see what they make next. i am in on that next kickstarter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Matthew E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 13:16:02

The uneven quality of the writing and editing and lack of internal consistency with regards to the use of game terminology somewhat mars an otherwise great product.

If finding some creative, unique magic items is all that matters to you, this book is an excellent resource.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Cale W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2017 18:58:56

5/5

This is a fantastic product and 5e supplement. I plan to implement this into every campaign I run in the future, and in the present. Very impressed with this product. There is so much content and lore to deal with, it's amazing! I highly recommend to this book to every lover of lore, magic items, and D&D!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2017 13:12:17

The good:

  • It's big. Lots of items. Even though each item sprawls across multiple (2 in the majority of cases) pages, the page-count means there are still a lot of items.
  • If you like background and flavour for the items, this has tons.

The bad:

  • Needs another editing pass. Typos ("it's" instead of "its" in many places), the core terms are not strictly used (e.g "Dexterity Save" instead of Dexterity saving throw", or "Athletics check" instead of Strength (Athletics) check" as is the core convention), and the style varies from the core books (e.g. the capitilization core terms, italicising of spell names, etc.). This may be a minor point for some folks, but I'm disappointed when products (expensive ones, especially) lack this attention to detail. If those details don't bug you, add another two stars, but for me it's the difference between an okay product and a great product.
  • I still need to go through all the items, but I've already seen some with problematic mechanical interactions that I could see needing DM rulings to resolve at the table.

The book does contain a lot of interesting mechanics. This is both good and bad. Some look quite fun. Others might be difficult for some players to understand and/or remember, so that might be consideration for some tables.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by James R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2017 22:37:55

I'm really enjoying paging through my copy. I've already picked out one item to be used as a reward for one of my players.

Overall, this isn't MORE of what you see in the DMG. Those items, by and large, do kind of meet the needs of the system in terms of mechanical advancement. The LAoG items are really plot hook or lesser magic items (in many cases) disguised as normal magic items for their players. I already do this with a LOT of items my players get, so for me this is as much of an ideas book as a crunchy supplement.

It's not a perfect book and it can be a little longwinded to get to the "what does this do?" part, but for the price you get a really awesome tome to pour through when you're in need of an item that will spice up your next session!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Mallory D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2017 21:01:55

Excellent resource full of interesting, unique items that can be easily planted into your campaign. I'm planning to insert a few of them into mine soon! Each item is thoroughly described with descriptions, DC for identification, history, and mechanics. They are organized by class, background, and complexity to make selection much easier. I was able to find a cool, not overly powerful item to plant for my low-level druid. And other items have inspired me to build stories around them. Truly amazing work!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2017 13:46:56

This is well worth twice the asking price in any format. I have spent a few weeks with this book, and I can't ask for any more from it! I truly love the way the PDF is put together, it is indexed , it is logically layed-out, and especially the fact that I can include my own notes :) that is a very excellent idea! The narrative that comes with each item gives you lots of ideas that you could use in your own campaign, some not even involving the magic items. The description and uses of the items are just as great, and go so in-depth that they even include ways to limit or expand them for your own uses. I can already see how I'm going to include these in my own games. None of these items are overpowered in anyway, if you think they are, just keep reading, and you will see, they will balance out in the end, and are still way better than most things you are used to seeing. I got the soft cover with through the Kickstarter, simply because I knew it was going to be a working book. At present I am getting a hard cover just so I can have another copy of the art, this is a beautiful book. Hats-off and back-on to the artists, and everyone else, involved with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Lee P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 02:19:29

An absolutely fantastic resource of not only magical items from varying degrees of power but every one with history to give you ideas for plot hooks and campaigns.

each item has is fantastic artwork and a notes box for you to keep track of what you used them for our to put I your own amendments

The printed book itself is over an inch thick, I couldn't believe it when it arrived.

Excellent quality thanks many sided dice for your hard work increating it and putting it all together



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2017 12:53:33

The items presented in the book offer options for your players that go beyond the standard +1 whilst also birning lots of flavour to their use.

Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for something a little different to give to their players or otherwise considering making their own items looking for inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Izzy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 15:21:22

A brilliant book. Not just for gamers. Where the outstandind atention to detail as a pdf and hard copy are unequaled. And should be used as a benchmark for all ebooks especially. But also a great coffef table read for all hard core fans of fantasy. Who just enjoy reading about the props an magical paraphinalia that go with the whole genre.

if you but one book about fantasy artifacts. Make it thiis one. Especially if its an ebook.it needs to be seen to understand the true difference talent can make to this emerging format



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Frédéric D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 15:05:42

Received my physical copy on Wednesday. And by the Old Gods and the New, what a beauty it is!!! Each page a pleasure, every page a one evening story, or a campaign idea. As promised. Seriously, mates, you’ve done a Fantastic job on this one. The most original D&D compendium on my shelves in ages (and i'm a DM since '83), no kidding. Glad to have backed this one I am, oh yes. Slàinte!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Sarah D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 12:17:28

Excellent book, absolutely chock full of creative, interesting, and fun magic items. I highly recommend this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 12:56:46

So psyched this is finally out. I Kickstarted this project on day 1 and haven't received the book yet, but the PDF is gorgeous. It's clear that this whole production was a labor of love as well as just a whole lot of labor! For me, the narrative possibilities and the rich lore hooks that are embedded in these items are what D&D is all about. None of these items will break your game. All of them have the potential to make your campaign and your characters deeper and wider and stranger than anything offered by a simple +3 sword (although, shout out to +3 swords!). Thanks for all the hard work, folks. Potential buyers: this is very highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Artifacts of Greyghast - A 5e Magic Item Compendium
Publisher: Many-Sided Dice
by Ryan J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 09:34:39

I backed this product on Kickstarter and received the soft cover book. This is truely a great product and I think all DMs (and players!) should get a copy of this to implement in theor campaign.

This book/PDF has a massive amount on information, and is 450+ pages! This isn't the typical PDf with 10-20 pages of materials.

Highly recommended and I loof forward to supporting this developer in the future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates