DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
 
$1.65
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 3
2 6
1 0
0 0
0 0
0one\'s Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/04/2019 11:26:59

The idea here is that there is a multi-level underground complex that was built for and inhabited by (or at least was at some time) by giants. There's a ruined keep outside, near the entrance - was that a guardpost to protect them or was it designed to keep them in? There are plenty of things you'll have to decide, although a few ideas (one garbled beyond recognition) are provided in the introductory section, along with information on how to customise the plans (you can choose whether or not to have the heavy fill, grid, numbers or furniture displayed) and a legend for common items that may be found in the plans. It's common to all of 0one's sets of plans so not everything may show up!

The first plan is the ruined keep. Much of the walls are missing, and there isn't much aside from debris within. Even the bridge across the stream running outside looks pretty battered. It's not very clear where the entrance to the underground complex is - look for the number 1 in what appears to be a slight curve in the hillside overlooking the keep, that's where it is supposed to be.

Next is level 1 of the complex proper. It's apparently the domain of guards and warriors, but also boasts a couple of temples. Even they might want to worship after all. There are storerooms and bedrooms. The temples have pillared halls and statues, one is larger than the other. Perhaps two deities of differing important to the residents, or one is a shrine to drop in for a quick prayer and the other the location of formal worship. The way down is to be found down a corridor of storerooms and barracks, not a very smart entrance. There's another way down too, if you can find the secret door to access it!

The next plan is level 2. This is where the chieftain dwell. There's also a shrine, a forge, and several cells, as well as a kitchen and refectory and space to meet. There are storerooms and living quarters for a handful of the senior leadership as well.

Level 3 follows. This is a mining complex, built around a great rift that has been bridged in quite dramatic style. Probably not quite enough space for Gandalf to battle balrogs, but that kind of thing. There are storerooms, a couple more shrines and several crypts down here as well. The final plan depicts Level 4, which is under development, with mineshafts all around the central rift.

This all makes for an interesting complex - a somewhat militarised mining outpost, it doesn't seem to be a 'home' - but it doesn't screech 'giant'. You'll need to be creative about describing these great hallways... or maybe decide it's a 10' or even 15' grid, rather than the assumed 5' one (a scale is never mentioned, so you will be able to get away with that!). There's scope for fun exploring the place, whether it's a working mine with giants working away or an abandoned one which may or may not have attracted other residents.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2018 13:14:02

I like these maps quite a bit and they will no doubt be useful as I run my players up against some giants. I would give the product 5 stars if it had more granular control over the layers that can be turned on or off. One particular example is that there really shold be a separate layer for hidden doors and the areas they lead to. I plan on printing these maps out for my players using a plotter, and will need to edit the secret areas out beforehand lest the secreat areas become not-at-all-secret to them. This isn't enough to cause me not to purchase more of these products in the future, but nonetheless it seems a glaring oversight to me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Steve J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2008 00:57:31

0one's products are universally good. For less than two dollars you get a nice professional image, usually able to be opened in Photoshop for modification to fit your own adventures, and which projects and prints nicely. One major advantage is that they deliver what they promise at a small price and download footprint.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jerry G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2006 00:00:00

Excellent product! The floor plans were unique and well thought out. I got a lot of utility of this product.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The versatility of the product. I was able to print what I needed for players and myself. They way the PDFs are set (in layers) I can pick and choose what to print and what information to print.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2005 00:00:00

These blueprint sets are great. They can be used in any game system.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Has a lot of items scattered throughout the rooms - plenty of possibilities for stories.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The map area didn't seem so large. It does have plenty of rooms, but I was expecting more levels and bigger areas.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Gregory B S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2005 00:00:00

This was what I was expecting. The maps are complimentary with an extended "Against the Giants" G 1-3 campaign based upon the classic 1st Ed AD&D game. Just add imagination and you have an extra chapter for angry Stone Giants.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The graphic features which can be turned off or on as a DM's aid.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's all good.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2005 00:00:00

Initial impression from a brief review of the contents is it looks pretty good to me.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2005 00:00:00

Halls of Giants, while not the best so far in the Blueprints series, is a prodcut worthy of the line. I am really enjoying this line and thus far I have yet to be disapointed. 0One is doing a great job. The style and presentation is very well done, and the maps are laid out with spectacular skill. The open keys at the end of the product allow full customizability that truly makes this a fully useful product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Halls of Giants
Publisher: 0one Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2005 00:00:00

Excellent product! I really like the two maps, B&W plus Blueprint style; the ability to turn on/off the filling in of non-white areas, is a real ink saver; the ability to turn on/off the numbers, and the room contents, is a tremendous asset. The set includes numbered key lists, so you can add in the monsters, and descriptions of room contents. Very professionally done, very useful. The maps are logically layed out, with suggested room purposes, such as guard barracks, chieftain's room, temple, etc. This really helps with a suggested layout, which can be used, or ignored, at your discretion. I own a PDF copy of the classic, TSR Giant series of modules, but this gives some expansion options for these bad guys, which can be used to continue the battle against the nasties, or you can adapt the original modules to these dungeons. These are, in my opinion, a really useful starter 'module.' I can't wait until my players' characters are high enough level. I may run this as a one-off, using higher level, disposable PC's... Cheers!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Well laid out design; suggested room uses are logical; the maps have the various printing features which can be turned on/off, at your desire, saving you considerable amounts of ink; the fact that it comes in both B&W, as well as Blueprint styles of printing. Fantastic price for what you get!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates