DriveThruRPG.com
Please%20choose%20which%20option%20you%20would%20like%20to%20add%20to%20your%20cart.
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E $16.50
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
63 57
2 4
1 1
0 1
0 0
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to view
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Ruben M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 10:27:57

I was listening to a Podcast that referenced the RUNEHAMMER youtube channel for running D&D games like a Badass. I looked into it and found myself really enthralled by the writer and his enthusiasm for the hobby. He explained some great rules and ideas that he had written in ICRPG. I had heard of this game before and heard it had a heck of a following. I bought it on Amazon, but then after I had it in physical form and ingested all of it, I bought it on PDF here.

This game has allowed me to run hard and fast games for my players using an OSR style of thinking with a LOOT based milestone system! The simplicity of HARD and EASY rolls and having a ROOM difficulty instead of individual stats: It was just all so logical and it got me super-pumped about running an old school dungeon romp! I ran some one-pagers I found online using this system to great success! I just finished running a Fire and Ice Spire that was directly inspired by one of the creations from the Author, and not only did it feel ultra-dangerous going through the dungeon, but the players felt like badasses when they completed it and stopped an otherworldly Dragon Tyrant from entering their world! However, they had failed to stop this monstrosity from entering, but the priest had a spell that allowed him to rewind time to a few rounds earlier and they were able to do it! They failed and then succeeded by literally going back in time mechanically and thematically!

This game has a goal of making you feel awesome in a very dangerous world and has also taken the time to explain that mechanical rules feed to narrative rules that feed to mechanical! I love this game and I've only had it for a few months, but it's my GO-TO for dungeon story arcs or One-Shot adventuring!

Strength and Honor!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2018 15:20:45

We tend to start a lot of rpg reviews by saying the game is impressive and/or outstanding, The Index Card RPG 2nd Edition lives up to that standard and more. It’s not just a remarkable starter game. It’s not just a good generic RPG engine. It’s also packed with unique concepts, print-and-cut minis, and functions as a plugin to other RPG’s. The thing I like the most is- it’s a world designer’s dream come true. It might not be the greatest system ever invented, but it is ridiculously useful.

I can’t remember the last time I was this excited for a new game. Although I was shocked a second edition followed so closely on the heels of the first one, I was pleasantly rewarded once the waiting was over. It reminded me a little bit of opening that certain red box all those years ago. The funny thing is, there really aren’t any startling new concepts, genres or worlds in this game. Originally, when it was first released, I glanced at it, scoffed and moved on. It wasn’t until I downloaded the free QuickStart that I saw how ridiculously flexible the system is and how it could fit with several pre-published worlds.

ICRPG breaks several tried and true game designer rules when it comes to organization and layout. It wastes no time teaching you how to jump right in and make the most of your game using its very simple rules. It threw me off slightly when I went digging for the standard indices of character creation, races, combat, vehicles and spells. While all of those things are there, they are scattered throughout the book, especially the vehicle rules. As a writing teacher once told me, “do it all wrong.” The approach this game has to layout and organization is unique and wonderful. Please, keep it up. I am thankful the PDF is fully indexed and searchable, though.

I like how combat in this game has the potential to be an impeccably bloody affair if the GM so desires. The character death rules are even very well spelled out early on in the book. A solid hit or two from a weapon or monster and you could find your character down for the count. It definitely makes you think before you act.

That brings me to my next point. I love, love, love the turn taking and initiative mechanics in this game. If I come away with nothing else, I’m likely going to adopt this part of ICRPG for many of the other games I run. Not only does it cut down on cross-table chatter, but it makes people think before they act. The other amazing thing is the timer system. This game puts the clock into play for the characters any time the GM deems it necessary and there’s potential for a lot of heart-pounding, intense rounds with timers winding down.

ICRPG tends to be very medieval fantasy/sci-fi oriented. That’s not intended as disrespect, but just an honest statement of fact. Nor is this the time and place for a lengthy debate about whose genre is better. In fact, some of the world’s best, most well played, well loved rpg’s started out this way, or just doing one or the other very well. While the rules allow for kit-bashing almost any genre together, it just doesn’t seem suited very well toward non-magical modern espionage or modern warfare types of games. The skill system, turn-taking and timers work well. But, I'm still working out how a loot progression is going to work with an espionage or WW2 game.

I love the DIY attitude of this game. It took me a while to really grasp it and get behind it. (My apologies, Sensei Ferinale, I had not received your wisdom yet.) Your character in this game is pretty much defined by history, personality and, in terms of statistics- loot. Loot is the key to this game. It truly makes more sense this way. Screw big, chunky lists of feats, spells, and level bonuses.

The skill system in this game is just ingenious. No long list of skills to look up. No complex cross-referencing. And the best part is- complex skills are a matter of time and skill. Need to decipher a musty tome? It might take a few rounds. Need to disarm a bomb? You’ve got three turns. Better make them count. If it’s reasonable that your character might know what he’s doing, you can roll for it. If not, it might be a Hard roll and only a d4 Effort, but go for it.

Another advantage ICRPG has, as do many simpler games, is the ability to bring in creatures or characters from other games. Monsters convert in mere minutes. Other character classes with GM approval, are a simple matter of starter abilities and loot. Converting a race to your ICRPG bioform takes a description and some vague idea what they’re capable of. Role-playing games like Star Wars, D&D, Mech Warrior, and Deadlands are easily brought in. In fact, there are already examples within the ICRPG book for some of them. Of course, D&D or any other fantasy genre game is pretty easily emulated with ICRPG. A campaign world somewhat similar to Deadlands actually appears in the ICRPG Worlds book (sold separately, but well worth the investment.)

ICRPG is an amazing game to start kids on. I’m pretty sure this is going to be my own kids’ first experiences in role-playing. It’s what I would refer loosely to as a gateway game. If you can grasp the basic concepts of ICRPG, you can move up to any d20 based game easily. It covers the basic concepts of die rolling, skills, combat, gear, minis, and so on so much better than any game I have owned prior to this. I wish I had taken first ed more seriously.

Another thing I would like to point out is that my physical copy of the book came to me printed very poorly. It was lopsided within the binding. I hope this was an isolated incident. However, the nice folks at DrivethruRPG need to be commended for a prompt response and replacement of the book. Awesome job, guys!!!

The last thing I have to show a ton of praise for is the fan base for this game. It reminds me so much of the early days of D&D when a small but devoted cadre of game nerds sprouted up in Lake Geneva WI and blossomed from there to places like Des Moines, IA and all the way to California, and then the rest of the world. ICRPG has a remarkable fan following on Google Plus, Facebook, and even on DrivethruRPG itself. I see new posts every day on Google Plus that reminds me of my enthusiasm of being a new gamer, drawing maps for minis on brown paper grocery sacks in my parents’ dining room. I love the dedication and comradery shown even in the GM section of the book itself. It has brought back the love of the game and what it means for me to be a GM.

Thank you so much for the Second Edition Core Rulebook! You’re doing a great job with this game. Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2018 06:37:49

What jumped out at me the most is how good this RPG would be for introducing people to TTRPGs. The system is reminiscent enough of a board game that peoples minds can make the leap from playing board games to TTRPGs. Mechanics like always being in turn order, having the target number for players rolls clearly displayed and having all character progression bonuses condensed into loot (items) make things easier for new players to pick up. Probably my favourite mechanic is the "effort" system, where any task that takes more than one roll (killing a monster, picking a challenging lock, running an long distance race) is assigned so many "hearts" of effort (each heart being 10 points). You 'attack' this effort with the appropriate skill, succeeding if you beat the clearly displayed target number and getting to 'damage' the effort, gradually reducing it to zero. when you succeed. This unified system that treats monster battles and a negotiation the same, along with the games simple mechanics, means that new players won't be left going "uhhhh... what do I roll to do this" that you see in other systems (5e).

The book itself is very short, stylized and engaging. An entire system, plus adventure seeds, two settings and a bunch of monsters in under 220 pages. Not a burden on prospective players to read. I did find some small issues with the document structure though. In some places mechanics were mentioned but not explained (and no page reference for where they could be found). If you kept reading you would eventually find them but a reference e.g. "SPELL BURN (p.80)", would have been helpful as I kept finding myself searching the page to find where I had missed the explanation.

One thing I do not so much criticize as point out is that this is a devil-may-care system designed for fast paced play. People who enjoy slower and more crunchy systems might not like it as much.

I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to get their friends into TTRPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jimmy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2018 09:08:46

In my quest to find a great rules-light, but with some nice crunchy edges, and a flexible non-genre specific rules system for one-shots or short campaigns, I really wish I had found ICRPG much sooner! This is simply download, read, and go. Everything I needed all bundled into one nice little package. It even encourages the use of make it your own style house rules; whatever works for you. Perfect way to get the busy lads and lasses from the days of old back into beer and pretzel RPG nights and to teach n00bs and kids the ropes. Keep it coming Runehammer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Spencer G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 07:41:06

A great resource that's also fun to read. It's so packed full of ideas and advice that it's well worth purchasing even if you've no intention of using the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Nicolas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2018 11:30:35

Simple but not limited rpg book, finaly a book that i can use to improve my dming. ^^

The writher is very dedicated to his work, there is a great community around his creation (https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/113794869422304907451 , https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCh5vto8JFstb9Sma9zV25g) , if you decide to buy this book you won't regret it. But, if still you hesitate just dawnoald the free quickstarter. ^^



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2018 15:58:06

A very fun and fast-paced D20 system. Great for New and Old Players who get bored with the long turns and complicated systems of other TTRPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Lon P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2018 11:32:53

It's like someone took Elmore Leonard's famous writing advice "Leave out the parts people skip" and applied it as a principle to RPG rules.

This system came from outta nowhere and rocked my world. Simple, clever techniques baked right in to keep things moving. A just crunchy enough system with a few elegant guiding principles that allow you to add more crunch to just the parts you want to, when you want to. For the first time in too many decades, I'm not focused on building my own system anymore... able to just play with an RPG that "gets it" ... and it's GLORIOUS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jens S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 18:34:08

This kind of blew my mind.

ICRPG is a pretty rules light game, so if you want tons of different rules for everything THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. However rules light does not necessary mean mechanics light if that makes any sense to you. Hankrin (or if you wanna be technical Brandish) has some really interesting design ideas but what stands out to me the most is the GM chapter. If you're not interested in the system I'd still say get the book just for the GM stuff alone wich tbh is the main reason for me to buy RPG books in the first place: more GM Ideas. But where most RPGs come to the GM chapter and basicly just say hey you're a GM, go do GM-things, ICRPG actually gives you guidelines on how to GM.

Holy fly that GM chapter. I dont think I've seen a GM chapter before that was that gave you that many mechanical ideas about how to make your game faster and more dramatic. (apart from maybe some PbtA stuff but those are usually more focused on giving you narrative tips) The session-end roll might be the biggest wtf moment I had in a while. Also the chapters about story and encounter architecture are really refreshing. Remind's me a bit of Sly Flourish's Lazy Dungeonmaster but better explained. It's all about being fast, keeping the pressure on your game. The chapter about Room design actually helped me finally understand how to make a room more interesting than just your ordinary "The room is 10 feet by 20 feet there is a goblin" (well ok I already knew how to make a room more interestign than that but hyperbole helps to bring the point across I hope) by actually categorizing rooms themselves as a kind of challenge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2018 17:57:20

A great ruleset that has inspired me to bring my kids into the role playing hobby. One or two turns and everyone gets the rules and we can get on with the story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Nate V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 08:19:48

This is an excellent rules lite alternative that retains much of what I love about D&D, but adds some fresh concepts to simplify and keep things moving more quickly. Combine that with great system neutral DM tools, beautiful art and bookcraft and it's a total win. Don't get the hard copy version without a PDF, though! The PDF comes with ALL the things including paper minis and character sheet, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:13:55

ICRPG is a unique RPG rules system that is a mixture of a rules-light version of D&D 5E mixed with additional sources of inspiration (Dungeon World and Dungeon Crawl Classics among others) that reflects Brandish Gilhelm's (AKA Hankerin Ferinale) house-rules when he was playing his 5E campaign along with additional evolution as he continues to survey the tabletop RPG field in book form and in dialogue with players, game masters, and game designers. I suspect GURPS also had a long-lasting impact on Hankerin's vision for tabletop RPGs since ICRPG is not solely a fantasy setting. In the core book you get fantasy (Alfheim), sci-fi (Warpshell), and weird western (Ghost Mountain) versions of classes and races as well as adventure hooks for all three. The core book is filled with Hankerin's evocative art and the basic layout of the book reflects the same artistic vision. I think I see other influences at play (for example, the adventure hooks follow the same style as Mike Evans's Hubris).

I've never played ICRPG, though I hope to soon. There are some things I would quibble with--I like the advantage mechanic from 5E. I feel it's similar to DCC's gameplay and philosophy that rolling more dice is just plain fun. I'm not convinced that a single DC for a room/encounter is a great idea. I don't like the meta-gaming aspect of a constantly displayed DC.

Even if you don't have any interest in a new or different rules system, ICRPG is worthwhile for the extensive discussion of game mastering tips regarding encounters. I've used a number of these tips (many of which are featured in videos on the Runehammer Youtube Channel) in my 5E campaign. I would recommend buying the pdf version as it contains all of the updates since version 1 was released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Taylor S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2017 11:24:02

The book provides everything you need to get the game to the table tonight and have fun. It's simple enough to explain in five minutes and let's you get right into telling stories and having a laugh with friends. The author provides a fantasy and scifi setting, and two adventures. This book also provides lots of great suggestions to the GM on how to actually go about building encounters, and provides some generic templates that can be customized. All in all, a high quality product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2017 12:18:37

BLUF: I am giving this 5 stars because of the community and the author's dedication to supporting the product.

The rules in the physical book are 120 pages long. In the PDF they are presently sitting at 192! A big difference because the community's input is used! A whole new bioform (read race for all you old-schoolers out there) was added because of the responses of the community.

Frankly the rules are a bit rough. The game engine itself could be tightened up. The game uses various forms of "effort" to do work. Effort is used for damage or to measure the work a rogue does to pick a lock. The rules on types of effort is the part that is confusing at times. Basic effort is hands and brain only; no tools. Weapons effort; weapons are used. Magic effort; spells and magic devices. Finally Ultimate effort; if you roll a nat 20 you add ultimate effort to your normal effort. Difficulty is rated in "hearts" each heart is 10 points (think hp). Basic effort is d4. Weapon d6. Magic d8. Ultimate is d12. So if I use a long sword (weapon) to hack away at an orc I do d6 effort after I hit him. If my elfkind mage is trying to bare hand open a chest using nothing but their wits use basic effort; d4. That chest probably has one heart so it may take awhile. Seems simple and easy to remember right? Okay do you use d6 when you use tools to do work? That wizard has lockpicks. Or maybe someone is trying to lift a large rock with a lever; do they use d6?

This is where the G+ community shines. If you have questions you can quickly hash it out online. Honestly, rules as written I'd give a 3 or 4 star rating. But as time goes on the author is making changes and tightening up the product with the help and support of a vibrant community. So 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Dorothy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 22:51:38

I picked this game up a few days ago and was able to get my group up and running in half an hour; I ran the scenario in the Quickstarter and the results were hilarious. A good time was had by all. My husband is now considering using this for his next campaign. The rules are easy to manage and flexible enough to cope with what my players do to them; the effort mechanic and room difficulty system are innovative and keep things moving rapidly. The GM section has ideas and suggestions that are helpful even for someone who's been playing RPGs for 35 years.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates