DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tyndale Gaming System, v.3
Publisher: Tyndale Toaster Productions
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 06:09:12

In a nutshell, this is Baby's First Savage Worlds. Stepped dice, attributes and skills are die steps, target number is usually a 4. I do like the system overall but I feel like you need different TNs in combat, depending on the enemy type and power. No explanation on how the MOVE stat / die is used. What I like the most is that it's about as modular and setting-neutral as Savage Worlds, without the need for all the minutae and tiny modifiers that actually make SW anything but fast and fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tyndale Gaming System, v.3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! I will add a sentence or two about MOVE when I update the rules next time. Until then, MOVE is just a die roll, higher is better. At the simplest, if two characters are having a foot race, the higher roll wins. For long marches across the countryside, a MOVE roll might be used to determine how far the party of characters can travel, with the rate of travel limited to the lowest roll. But feel free to use it however makes sense for you!
Macchiato Monsters ZERO
Publisher: Lost Pages
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2018 05:22:19

An incomplete jumble of poorly laid out, poorly thouhgt out and poorly structured houserules for the Black Hack, that turn an elegant system into a halfway muddle that is neither narrativist nor traditional. There are far better, far cheaper TBH supplements out there that are actually worth a read.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Macchiato Monsters ZERO
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
We are sorry you did not like Macchiato Monsters. The game is definitely incomplete, and we are quite open about it. The final release should come out before Spring Equinox 2018 (we are going to have a Macchiato Camp!). All purchases will get updated when the final release is ready. If you have more detailed feedback, please be in touch! We would love to hear more about your opinion and make it better.
No Class Hack - RKG-BH1
Publisher: Red Kobold Games
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 07:46:53

Great price point for the wealth of content offered, very easy to mix and match what you want from this trove of options and plug it in your own hack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Class Hack - RKG-BH1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2017 05:32:25

This is arguably the best pure sword & sorcery RPG out there. There are a handful of other systems that claim to do S&S better but none of them are as light as this one and being light is a very big thing when it comes to fast and dirty, puply S&S. Congratulations, Mr. Nogueira on creating this great, tasty mix of the best parts of a few other systems and producing a coherent whole!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks a lot for the kind words! That was exactly my goal when making SS&SS. I liked many different games for many reasons, but none had everything I wanted. So I combined the elements that would make me a fast and flexible game that would allow to run sword and sorcery without worrying too much for preparations, rules, tables and all that, while also giving me a strong framework from where I could create new stuff on the fly easily! I hope you enjoy the Addendum too! :)
Heroic Fantasy
Publisher: Wordplay Games
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 15:27:58

My favorite implementation of David Black's "The Black Hack" rules and mechanics!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 13:27:05

In my eyes, the greatest strength of this product is bringing an accessible, clearly laid out and well illustrated RPG product to the Everyman. People indoctrinated in the hobby through 10 000 pages of rules from eleventy different systems (myself included) may have a harder time agreeing with it all or swallowing it down in one bite, but the system - and not so much the rules, which are relatively familiar, but the STYLE and APPROACH of it, the SPIRIT of it - grows on you with time.

The sheer fact that this has been lodged at the top seller spot for two weeks straight at the time of writing and within that short span of time it accumulated more 5-star user reviews than the latest editions of genre staples like Traveller, Labyrinth Lord and Castles & Crusades clearly shows that people are excited about it and sinking their teeth in it with gusto, which, ultimately, is all that matters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

B/X Monster Reference Index
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2017 14:10:02

It's what it says on the tin, but the real kicker here is that the PDF purchase also comes with an Excel spreadsheet that lets you edit out anything you might not need and fine-tune it for your games / system.

I cut a bunch of monsters out and reduced the columns to a smaller number that I need for running The Black Hack and it's the fastest monster reference ever!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B/X Monster Reference Index
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Party of One [5E]
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2017 06:43:16

This is the biggest heap of useless, disconnected drivel that I have ever spent money on. The material offers no guidelines for scaling campaigns and adventures to a smaller party or a single PC, no mechanical advice, not even 5E-specific advice - why is this even tagged as 5E? It includes literally NOTHING specifically related to 5E, just general advice and largely useless generalities.

You get 3 pages beyond the preview page and it's all completely useless if you have even a tiny bit of sense as a DM. You can get the same or better advice by googling the topic and clicking on free, far more expansive articles.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Party of One [5E]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2017 02:45:05

Great, clear, print-friendly layouts, very usable maps, pleasant sprinkling of B&W art among the text, varied and catchy locations and scenarios. Covers a nice array of PC levels as well!

With Wizards pushing big campaign books only, this is the perfect product if you want a nice collection of standalone delves and adventures to use in your games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Adventures of M.T. Black Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2016 07:15:34

What a great product! There's a great elegance to the rules-liteless of the product, the percentile 2d10 system is a breeze and the classless "skills-are-classes" system really clicks with me, as it allows for mixing and matching class features as you progress. The second part of the book has some great generators and ideas and can really come in handy. Easy recommendation if you're up for something lighter that is not quite FATE (and thank God!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Publisher: Arion Games
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2016 03:23:07

A great introductory system for younger players and a superb rulebook for returning long-time FF fans. The game works off a 2d6 + modifiers system that is a breeze, the flavor is great and the spell fumble table is called The Oops! table. It allows for your character to grow their hair to floor length in an hour, among other results.

At this price, this is a no-brainer purchase.

Finally, a word of thanks to Mr. Bottley who led a long and ultimately successful crusade to release this beauty in PDF format!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Black Hack
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2016 04:46:27

I have been on the lookout for the perfect rules-lite distillation of D&D for quite a while now. This little product hit the nail right on the head.

There is a simplicity here that allows you to run your fast and loose adventuring, but there's also enough intricacy and mechanics to accommodate fun and fresh gameplay.

This little 20-page booklet has made its way into the holy trinity of the only 3 rules-light fantasy systems that I would ever want to run OR play, along with Barebones Fantasy RPG and Polyhedral Dungeon. To my mind, it fills the perfect middle ground between ultra-lite 2-page systems and something that advertises itself as rules-lite but really isn't (I'm looking at you, Savage Worlds).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Black Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers: Dwarfs
Publisher: Reivaj Minis
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2016 00:03:26

Excellent set of minis and fitting perfectly for the RPG system I use.

I'm using the Dungeonslayers rulebook and it uses just Humans, Elves and Dwarves. Reivaj's minis cover those three races AND do all the class combinations that exist in Dungeonslayers, which is a very fortunate coincidence. Very happy with my purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers: Dwarfs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your review, i hope you can enjoy using my minis.
Adventurers: Elves
Publisher: Reivaj Minis
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2016 00:03:17

Excellent set of minis and fitting perfectly for the RPG system I use.

I'm using the Dungeonslayers rulebook and it uses just Humans, Elves and Dwarves. Reivaj's minis cover those three races AND do all the class combinations that exist in Dungeonslayers, which is a very fortunate coincidence. Very happy with my purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers: Elves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers: Humans
Publisher: Reivaj Minis
by Todor P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2016 00:02:54

Excellent set of minis and fitting perfectly for the RPG system I use.

I'm using the Dungeonslayers rulebook and it uses just Humans, Elves and Dwarves. Reivaj's minis cover those three races AND do all the class combinations that exist in Dungeonslayers, which is a very fortunate coincidence. Very happy with my purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers: Humans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates