DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Publisher: Angry Games, Inc.
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2019 02:50:46

Dense with good, gameable material. Solid theory and implementation. The Angry GM's blog is a treasure trove of RPG writing, and this book is all that distilled. Cannot recommend highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hack the Planet: Cyberpunk Forged in the Dark
Publisher: Samjoko Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 18:01:19

Another fantastic cyberpunk game by Mr. Simons. The Forged in the Dark engine is perfect for this sort of thing, streamlined enough to keep the action quick, crunchy enough to make characters interesting and resolution punchy. The climate fiction angle is new, and makes for a very interesting and cool setting. I especially like the way Mr. Simons has integrated cyberware into the system to work seamlessly with the Forged rules. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hack the Planet: Cyberpunk Forged in the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wireless Soul Transmission - Play Guide
Publisher: Scribed Starlight Press
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2018 14:28:40

Cyberpunk with a new twist and fresh setting. Post apocalyptic cyberpunk terminator mashup with megatraveler flavor? So much going on here! The layout is crisp and clean, easy to read through. Good examples of play sprinkled where needed most. Art is colorful and evocative of the setting, very nice.

Rules are an offfshoot of the familiar D20 setup, but streamlined with some VERY interesting tweaks, especially in the skills and combat areas. (I am definitely stealing a bunch of this stuff for other games I am running. So good.) I love it when an RPG has rules that support the feel that the story is telling. The rules feel fast, slick, with gritty combat and terribly dangerous consequences.

The clincher was when I asked the designers (via their website contact form at Scribed Starlight Press, there should be a link to the right) about rules that I found unclear (care and application of fire). Their response was well thought out, detailed, and published-level written (feels like it could have been lifted out of the book). Hands down the best quality customer service I have experienced in the industry. There was a slight delay of a day or two before I heard back, but given that they are a small operation, and that Scribed Starlight put a lot of thought and effort into their response, the wait was completely worth it.

In conclusion, buy this game! Support these great people! Even if you don't want to run the game as is, the rules innovations alone are worth the price of admission. I eagarly look forward to more material!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wireless Soul Transmission - Play Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lexicon of the Throne
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 14:43:23

Another high quality product from Sine Nomine. Lots of fun Words to play with, and the section on creating new Words is great! My favorite bit is the section on Concept Words, like "Lich King" - AWESOME! Also, well made PDF table of contents, which is very pleasing to me. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lexicon of the Throne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

minimald6
Publisher: Darkworm Colt
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 21:49:35

Super rules lite, for your personal hacking pleasure. Over a dozen hacks already exist, and they are all dope. Simple enough that you could use it as a pick up game, just need 3d6 and some writing implements. Build your game on the fly using minimald6 as a framework! Great for younger players also.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
minimald6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2017 14:38:48

Great game! Innovative mechanics, evocative art, streamlined for action packed play. Makes use of two years of design and play philosophy evolved by the author, and presented on his youtube channel. Check out Drunkens and Dragons on youtube for fantastic DND advice, deep insights on gaming, and actual plays of ICRPG. I really want to get this to the table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Veil: Cyberpunk Roleplaying Powered by the Apocalypse
Publisher: Samjoko Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2017 14:29:59

Great game! Takes the PBTA engine and presents an open toolbox for creating cyberpunk stories. I love that the playbooks are broad archetypes that evoke familiar cyberpunk tropes. Enough ties to fiction to provide touchstones for characters and story, but lots of freedom to, as the author says, create your own cyberpunk. The Veil uses an intriguing twist on the PBTA archetype, using emotional states for stats driving the moves. The game feels much more personal than other RPGs in the genre, much more about the characters stories in a cyberpunk world. The author has been on a number of podcasts talking about the Veil, and I recommend checking them out, his POV is fascinating, and he is eloquent in explaining the nuances of his game. I highly recommend this game for fans of cyberpunk of all flavors, as the game will support nearly every variation.

As an aside, the author has been stellar in supporting this game. On the google+ community for the Veil, he is very active, responding to questions quickly and positively. Great all around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Veil: Cyberpunk Roleplaying Powered by the Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Midgard Campaign Setting
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Gerald R. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2012 14:49:00

A wonderful take on fantasy. Introduces fresh ideas using familiar faces, with a setting full of possibility! I am currently using Midgard in my game, and the adventure ideas keep growing the more I read. The art is beautiful as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midgard Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates