DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 22:01:12

I played the previous version of Cyberpunk, and I am a fan. This version is the "Jump Start" version has limited version of the rules (hence the Jump Start), so you cannot make a character. That disapointed me more than anything; in most quick start version of games they give you more options and give you a little insight into how characters are made. I am assuming it is similar to the previous version, but I don't have any idea how to make a character based on this version, which is less than a lot of free versions in other game systems; kind of stingy.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the cut outs and maps included in this edition. It is great for online games or even games at the table. It has some maps appropriate to the setting at included, but it doesn't have anwhere to go from there. It seems a bit pricy for what it is (maybe if you had two more scenarios included with some character advancement or gear offered it would be worth it?), but the maps and tokens definately add to the value.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood and Snow
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 21:51:36

This is a great low fantasy game for ICRPG. I have not run this yet, but I am excited too. It is kind of a setting guild, so you will need ICRPG Core to run it, but it is an ice age adventure guild that deals with slaying great beasts, getting great treasure, and dealing with survival in a dangerous time.

You can only play a "human" but the there are several tribes (Nord, Neaderthal...) and you get lots of loot to give you lots of choices for unique characters. No magic, but the world is magical to your ice age character who might worship the rising sun and be in awe of its brilliance.

It has high potential for for a barbarian campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Snow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Down Darker Trails
Publisher: Chaosium
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 21:41:54

I enjoyed this one. I am enjoy westerns and CoC, so the combination turns out about like you would expect. I can see the potential here for a long term campaign in an old west setting.

It is a setting guild with a short adventure at the end. The adventure is not the best for what I expect a Western to turn out, but it is easily modified. The setting is fun, and it has potential. I never got it to land with my group, but that was because of the general disinterest of Westerns. I think it would land sold with a group that was moving from Deadlands to Call of Cthulhu, though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Darker Trails
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Condensed
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 21:32:07

This is a great version of FATE. I think they cleaned up FATE CORE and made it a bit more accessable for people unfamilar with FATE games. I am not a big fan of a lot of settings, but the core system has been a favorate at my table; you can do any genre and any style of game with this system.

I wish they had better and more unique settings, but a clever GM can easily make their own with this book. Very constomizable, very personal. It ticks all the boxes it sets out to do.

Condensed is a great quick start as well as a great evolution of a the FATE CORE book. I wish they would have made some thing more concrete, but this is it is a catch 22 of the more concrete it is the more setting specific it is. This is a generic system guild, so it tries to be as generic as it can be to allow the most types of play; I cannot knock it for that reason.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Condensed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! I hope to be posting a new revision-round of Condensed later today. I'm a little distressed that after we've published several dozen different settings in our digital "Worlds" line, that you're saying "I wish they had better and more unique settings," as I think we've got some crazy good variety going there. If you'd like to discuss what you feel is the gap in our offerings, I'd love to hear. You can reach us at feedback@evilhat.com
Teenagers from Outerspace
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 21:23:37

This one is a goof RPG. It works very well for that, an as long as you understand that this is meant to be a comedy game, you will have a blast. I do not think the tone of the book is condusive for a "serious game" but it works for a general anime style RPG where you want to fight with giant mechs in a life and death struggle, then be hit with a paper fan by your high school crush. It does what it sets out to do, so I think it is a good game for a very specific type of game.

My group would find it hard to do a long term campaign with this game, but personal tastes vary. I am deffinatley adding it to the one shot palate cleanser. The possibility for comedy is just too high.

I have enjoyed every game I have played in this syste.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Teenagers from Outerspace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Veins of the Earth
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:30:49

This is a great supplament for an underdark campaign. It has great potential for world building and encounter building. It doesn't contain a plot point campaign or specific adventures, but if you are doing an OSR game with heavy cave exploration, it is pretty useful. The useful thing about it is being able to come up with a playable encounter in moments with the handy tables. New monsters, weird civilizations, and differant types of darkness are well worth the purchase price.

The art by Scrap Princess is a love or hate thing. It has a very distinct style and it has the impression the creatures there in are what the adventurers actully see jumping out of the darkenss at them. That give is a indistict look, that I like, but some of my players felt was underwealming. Art is a personal thing, so no accounting for taste.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Veins of the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:20:42

This was a great collection of scenarios for modern day Call of Cthulhu investigators. I enjoyed running all with very little modification. You must read them before you run, but I could do it with a 30 read through and some notes. My group got 2-4 games off of each adventure. Great value for the price, in my mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds A5 Character Sheet
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:16:09

Got exactly what I was expecting. Great character sheets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds A5 Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:13:00

This was a fun splat book for a Cthulhu adventure set in great Britian in the 1800's. It has a lot of great matterial for weapons, tools, and life notes for the period. The assumption of this book is that you are a detective in a Sherlock Holmes era of detective. I enjoyed it, and my home group has had a great time with it.

Players get more miles out of this than a keeper, but it is useful for a keeper for setting up adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Only Human
Publisher: Schwalb Entertainment
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:06:31

This was a suplament that I enjoyed a lot. It takes the most common and under appreciated ancestories. This gives a lot of good player options to the shadow of the demon lord players who like to be only human.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Only Human
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lamentations of the Gingerbread Princess
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 20:57:53

I have run this for my group, and we had a blast. It is an interesting juntipasition of fairy tale and psycotic nightmare that really hit a stride with us. It is easy to die in the LotFP system, but it is easy to convert to another if you so like. Really great scenario if you have player that overthink things.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lamentations of the Gingerbread Princess
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Two-Headed Serpent
Publisher: Chaosium
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 20:53:42

This is a Pulp Call of Cthulhu adventure that is really fun. If you have an issue with the lethality of Call of Cthulhu, Pulp Call of Cthulhu might be for you.

This is a campaign; every chapter is its own individual adventure at exotic locations across the globe. There is a good political aspect to the game as there are several factions of Serpent People doing conflicting plots all around the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Two-Headed Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pale Lady
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 20:46:07

This is a fun adventure that is a blast. It has some adult themes, the art is not the best, and it is a "locked room" adventure where the players are stuck in a seperate plane of reality till they deal with some stuff; these factors might be a bit of a detraction for some, but it has a really great scenario. It is easily converted to other D20 systems too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Pale Lady
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

For Gold and Glory
Publisher: Schwalb Entertainment
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 20:40:09

It is a small one, but it is pacted full of useful information. Ideal for players while providing useful setting info for the player who is playing a Dwarf in this setting. I liked it because it has a good balance of world build and game mechanics to make it useful to refrance.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
For Gold and Glory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tombs of the Desolation
Publisher: Schwalb Entertainment
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 20:37:34

It is a good supplament for Shandow of the Demon Lord, and it adds a lot of player options, world building, and flavor. I am not quite sure who it is for, though. It has some world build stuff that I would want to keep out of world knowledge for the players if I GM (like enemy STATS), but it also has a lot of player options that I would like to as a player. Having it it in the same suplament makes less sense because it is kind of directed to both at the same time which means there is a section in it that is largely useless for both.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tombs of the Desolation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates