DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results











Back
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures $19.99 $16.99
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 8
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Ebonclad - A Thieves\' Guild Setting & Adventures
Click to view
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 10:19:46

Thieves seem to get the unglamorous roles in D&D games: scouts, lock pickers and trap detectors. Few scenarios seem to use their range of criminal skills. Some may remember the excellent Thieves' Guild materials by Kerry Lloyd and co-workers, which introduced modules suitable for Raffles style thefts, or carefully planned heists, Ebonclad follows in this tradition.

This review will concentrate on material directly related to adventures. There are a number of helpful tables to generate items of wealth to be pickpocketted, and residential items of value for robberies. The list of urban chase complications should enliven any foot race. Chaper 5, comprising 58 pages, contains seven missions. These are delightfully varied: some investigations with a final combat; a burglary to find an item; manipulating events to discredit an invention, or prevent a marriage. The last group are particularly enjoyable, as the PCs get a chance to dream up schemes. Outright brutality may draw unwelcome attention from the Kintallan Guard. Charm and Illusion magic will be an asset. The missions are fairly short, with plenty of guidance. There are helpful sidebar summaries with bullet points; in contrast, the PCs' Ebonclad boss tends to drone on for several paragraphs.

A solid collection of scenairos, with a couple very good. I would be interested in what the author could make of a longer, more involved adventure such as manipulating an election to high office, or a gang war. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Alastair C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2018 05:26:15

This is an exceptional setting book, packed with characters, resources, and a series of strong and well-presented adventurers. Major publishing houses don't manage to produce work of this quality or relevance. Having run this campaign setting now for over 6 months and several dozen game sessions, I remain a fan. The initial adventures helped me to establish a feel and pacing, and bring in a number of NPCs. With a growing set of resources, I still refer back to the book and continue to find inspiration. Like I say, exceptional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Alastair - thank you very much for your kind review and comment! I am so happy Ebonclad has led to happy gaming sessions for you. Here's hoping for many more to come!
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 12:54:21

A Thieves Guild campaign setting...something I know a LOT of people have been hoping to find. It is VERY well thought out. It includes tables for random pickpocket gains based on the social status of the victem. It contains interactions between different levels of the guild, interactions between these different levels and the authorities, and how the populace reacts to them. Things are not as cut as dry as "steeling is bad, everyone reports it".

It is NOT just about the rouge class, either, it includes the ability to be any class and still be in the guild, though it is obviously hard for some (you over there, in the shining armor, with a beam of light falling gently on you, teeth gleaming with the broad, easy smile and your god's name always poised on your lips...the Paladin, I am looking at you here) it still means it is not just a rogue only setting.

Notable NPCs are here, city layout, and much more. It really is an immersive and complete setting for the DM and Players to weave a memorable store around and throughout. I highly recommend it, another great product from Dan Coleman.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Drew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 16:09:28

Ebonclad is a rich and fulfilled setting for D&D 5E. Whether you are looking for more options for your players, fleshing out of chase and heist rules or a beautiful setting with a fantastic thieves guild built into the fabric, then Ebonclad is the product for you. Dan puts out nothing that is not high quality content that is well balanced and excellently written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by James R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2017 22:41:59

This is a fabulous book, professional art where you want it, great and cohesive world/guild components. If you have any interest in having a great thieves guild in your world (or literally running the in-game city), this will provide most, if not all, of the people, guild rules, and other fun stuff for you to riff on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2017 08:39:53

Ebonclad offers a delightful new setting and ideas for creating a campaign filled with intrigue, thievery, bribery, assassination, and conspiracies. It's a must have for anyone who is a fan of rogues and clandestine missions. I'm very eager to fold the City of Kintalla and the Ebonclad Guild into my next campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by kevin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2017 15:36:08

A great product that can be used on its own or as a supplement for your own campaign or setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2017 11:48:40

Still reading through it, so I may update this review.

A great supplement for any 5e Game especially if you like rogue-like settings

As said in the description, this setting isn't just for Rogues. A crime filled city is a great setting for any party to explore. All the details to the history, heirarchy and guilds really fleshes out the setting and feel of this city. I'm going to break it down by chapters I've read and my thoughts on them:

Chapter 1: Kintalla, The Silver City Dan does a great job of creating a city with rich history. He also fleshes out the numerous guilds and organizations and how they operate in the city. There's plenty to use here, including random NPC encounters that could lead to a whole new quest line. As well as suggested buildings that your party can visit. It feels like a well written novel.

Chapter 2: Guild Ebonclad This is where this supplement shines. You could even just use this chapter and throw the guild into any city already in your campaign. The hierarchy is extensive and provides options to keep a campaign running for years as your party climbs the rungs of Ebonclad. As well as Cost of Services for all guild actions, really allowing you to create your own "jobs" for your party to complete. The Prominent Members and other notable guild NPCs are as always fleshed out masterpieces of Dan Coleman. They are interesting and unique characters that your party will surely remember. The Life as a Member provide great opportunites for roleplaying, I can't wait to try and speak Eboncant (a variation on Thieve's Cant) with my players. He's really created a magical guild that runs a city, and fleshes out roles for each different class in Ebonclad.

Chapter 3: A Life of Crime This section has great tables and options for how NPCs will react to crimes, creating random NPCs (what kind of wealth, who they're associated with, etc.), as well as the type of loot you can find on NPCs and how to acquire it (cutting purses, pickpocketing, etc.), where and how the guard might bump into your party and last but not least, NEW URBAN CHASE COMPLICATIONS. This is a great section to add to any urban city if you have party members who love to drum up crime in a busy city.

Chapter 4: Setting Options New Class Options, Backgrounds and suggestions for how Classes will behave in the Guild. Great section for creating new characters who grew up in Kintalla or the city with Ebonclad. The new spells looks like a lot of fun for any member of the guild. But the new Equipment, Weapons and Potions is where this section shines for me. Great new gear to get around an urban environment without being too loud or noisey. Wrist Daggers? Yes please!

Chapter 5: Missions Here, Dan outlines some sample missons for a party of level 1-5 as well as giving rules to create your own. They are so easily adjusted to higher levels though, so it wouldn't be a problem if you wanted to play at a higher level. Almost all of the missons are very open-ended, great for a DM that likes to improvise and a party that likes to make their own path. Using the other chapters you can really personalize these missions and allow your party to run rampant around the city. Or, just follow them to the letter and still have a blast. My favorite so far is Wedding Bells in which the party is tasked with stopping a noble wedding without harming the betrothed...

Appendices Dan put all the tables, maps and NPCs in a handy set of Appendices in the back. I haven't read through them all though.

Bonus! Short Stories Inbetween every few chapters are short stories (one page long) that really add to the flavor of this supplement. They really set the scene and theme for Kintalla and Ebonclad. Also, great suggestions for possible missions and NPCs. I loved every single one.

So, Should I get it? Do you like urban city settings with slums and a love for crime? Does your party like to commit crimes and try to get away with them? Have you read Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows Duology and thought, I'd love to play a D&D game in a similar setting? Do you love Dan Coleman's work on Dungeons on Demand?Then Yes!

If you're looking for a fully fleshed out module, or something that doesn't require a DM to think on their feet and improvise on the spot? Maybe not. This is a great supplement for creating a new campaign that can last a long time. If this type of setting doesn't interest you, look elsewhere.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebonclad - A Thieves' Guild Setting & Adventures
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Erwin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2017 04:18:48

This is a brand new product from the mind of the same guys as Dungeons on Demand and it's top notch. It's a complete campaign setting set in the city of Kintalla with adventures, new backgrounds, new subclasses, feats, equipment and spells. If you're looking for some kind of roguish adventure (mind you this is not just for rogues) give this title a try and if you're uncertain about the quality look up the recent Kickstarter Campaign through which this is funded for more details https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dancoleman/ebonclad-a-5e-dnd-thieves-guild-setting-7-new-adve/description .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates