DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
 
$6.00 $3.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 9
1 6
0 0
0 0
0 0
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2007 14:05:15

I am very pleased with this pdf! Dozens of templates to spice up your D&D game. My personal favourites would be the spirit templates and rules.

Very good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Duane B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2005 00:00:00

I really enjoy using Book Of Templates. Many of the concepts are ones where you wished you thought of them already. Fallen Angels and Puppeteer Oozes are my favorites.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Jeffrey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2004 00:00:00

There's not much to say here - either you like applying templates to your creatures to customize them, or you don't. If you're in the former group, you should have this book. If you're in the latter group, you can safely give it a miss.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2004 00:00:00

Excellent...not perfect, but I'm not about to nitpick. With the Deluxe Book of Templates, Silverthorne Games has brought back that sense of 'omg...I can build anything that the concept of templates gave me when I first discovered them. The big difference is that after a while, that initial amazement wore off. Now...I have incredible possibilities, all under the OGL! If you've ever tried to develop a scenario for publishing under the D20 system, you know how constraining that can be. THROW OFF YOUR SHACKLES! I feel like I've been handed the key!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2004 00:00:00

The real genius in this collection is the half humanoid template and the theory behind it.

Simply excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Joel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

This product has an amzing number and variety of templates. It would be very useful to make every encounter unique (and to prevent metagaming).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2004 00:00:00

Some good feats, some not so good. Particular favorites are the Apocolyptic and Hypermitotic. Definitely a decent buy. The only real problem is that there are very few CR5 templates but plenty of 1-3 and a few 10+.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Brian G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2004 00:00:00

I like it, I now have more then enough monsters to make my group worry.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2004 00:00:00

With the recent outpooring of monster books, this book allows a DM to expand upon that amount immensely. Not only do you get well statted out and well developed templates, but ones that actually make SENSE and are BALANCED!

I was slightly disapointed that this book was only for 3.0 and not 3.5 but with a few tweaks and some knowledge about how monsters work and the new rules one can easily use this for any game from Modern to Fantasy.

I highly recommend this book as it has brought terror to the gaming board and even when using common creatures from the Monster Manual one can easily cause simple creatures like orcs, goblins, and owlbears to become a challenge again!

Try throwing a ferrovore bullete at them and watch the party fighters run in fear1



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Matthew O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2004 00:00:00

5 out of 5 stars. An excellent product that can shake up my whole campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Antonio S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2004 00:00:00

I liked most of the templates in this book. Some of them are the "classics" old players have been used to (like "Gigantic") or must-have (like most of the Undead ones). There are a few templates that are great to shock players with the unexpected ("THAT'S a MONSTER?"). Worth the money. Absolutely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Ronald J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2004 00:00:00

I really enjoyed this book. It had good valuable content, was thoroughly thought out and provided some good guidance on how to develop your own templates and modify those in the book! Great job!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Nathan I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2004 00:00:00

Put simply, the Book of Templates Deluxe Edition should be the first thing you buy after the 3 core rulebooks...or the first thing you buy period if you use the SRD. No other book has as much utility for me as the BoT-DE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Sarah P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2003 00:00:00

This is a 3.0 book, but hey, monster templates are easy to convert to 3.5. I'm not sure I'd want the job of converting all the templates, considering how many there are. Loads of value in this book, folks.

If you enjoy tinkering with monsters, this book is for you. And by that, I mean, "What are you waiting for, buy it this minute, you have no idea what you're missing."

For example: A Heightened (+2 to all attributes and some other stuff) Half-Medusa (stoning gaze) Nymph who is an Argent Servitor (servant of good)

A Woundmender (construct with fast healing) Skinrug (self-explanatory) made from the pelt of a Displacer Beast

A (well, not for long) Hypermitiotic (divides when struck) Hiveling (gets bonuses when around other creatures of its hive).... anything. How about stirges or kobolds?

Apocalyptic Tarrasque? Half-efreeti Centaur? The possibilities are about as endless as they come.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2003 00:00:00

Many interesting templates. Many spells, a few which should probably be adjusted. For example, there are some that are specifically intended to affect contructs, but no mention is made on many of them whether they ignore a golem's 'unbeatable SR' or not (and they almost all allow SR) but they do mention it on some other construct oriented spells. The 'Half-' templates are also pretty good, but they do make a common mistake. They say you can't combine more than on half-template, but what about a child who has one human parent and a fiendish Dragon parent? The resulting creature would be refered to as "half human, half dragon, half fiendish" with an implied "half prime material", as that is really what you are implying to when you say "half fiendish". There's no reason to think that a fiendish human mating with a prime material human would produce a half-fiendish offspring but a fiendish dragon mating with a prime material human would not also produce a half-fiend, half dragon. One is more a measure of body and the other is more a measure of soul. I still recommend this book because of the volume of material compared to its price, and its mostly good(useful) quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates