DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
 
$10.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
26 6
6 2
4 1
0 0
1 0
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by norbert p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2020 18:23:17

Please check out my YouTube review to see what Mr. Mean thinks of W.O.I.N. system: https://youtu.be/a2_IYeHDMGA



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 17:07:10

Love this book! First off, it is absolutely beautiful. I bought the PDF when it first became available, and then had to have the hardcover when it came out. I hear a lot of complaints about how crunchy the magic system is, but that is actually one of my favorite things about the game. Magic becomes much more rarified and those who do study it actually have to invest time into learning the secrets of their craft. Creating personal spellbooks adds so much flavor to magic weilders, instead of just making them a tempory dip into a career to just to get some powers. Using the careers for charcter creation is a dtroke of genius, as it allows you to tell the story of your character during creation, often leading into new concepts and personality quirks that you hadn't concieved of at teh beginning.

TLDR: Great for customization of characters, magic is deep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Kennedy W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2017 22:09:00

I was super excited for this game. I bought both the PDF and the hardcover versions. I've played N.E.W. and had a blast. N.E.W. has rules for Psionics, and they were easy and simple enough to add to a story/game without being disruptive - or worse, bogging the game down with, "hold on, let me look up how that works." Boy was I disappointed to see how crunchy magic is in O.L.D. The magic system IS robust, and incredibly open. You can creat an unlimited number of spells and effects. But man, are the magic rules - rulesy. Whew. But don't look for any examples of use or play to help wrap your head around things - there aren't any. Typical of W.O.I.N. Other than that, it is all the stuff you probably like about N.E.W., flexible system, fluid play (except for magic), no silly classes, and goblins can still be a threat even as players progress. Some typos and grammatical issues throughout. Printing and binding were adequate. Worth the purchase but make sure you've got a pot of coffe on when you start learning the magic rules.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 06:07:24

First off, I just have to say WOW!!! This book is amazing! I rarely give a Five Star review to anything, and this game earns it. In all fairness, no book is perfect, but I have very few things to point out that need to improve. As the author points out, fantasy rpg’s are a dime-a-dozen. This game attempts quite successfully to break the mold. Much like N.E.W., it leaves a lot of ground for specifications to the GM. In other words, it’s flexible, GM friendly, and easy to learn. Character creation can be done in minutes and the game is fairly new player friendly as well. I must confess, I originally bought the PDF along with another fantasy rpg on PDF just to save money. I will most definitely be coming back for the O.L.D. hardcover in the near future. The layout is quite impressive. The tables are easy to find. The artwork is outstanding- tasteful, fantasy inspired, and not trashy or tacky. Even the page borders and margins deserve many compliments for making the book a pleasure to look through. I especially liked the used of sidebars in the magic section. I would encourage any starting game designer to take a good look at how this book is laid out. I’m going to jump ahead to the game master’s area of the book for a minute. This is the part of the book that drew me into buying the book originally. The world building and GM advice are solid. The system allows for amazingly simple customization. I’m already scheming and coming up with new careers, origins and items. I’m glad the example of how to build a race was there, even if it didn’t seem necessary to me. I’ve struggled for years trying to find a good system that wasn’t too rigid or mechanical for me to really build the settings I want to run, but also wasn’t too character/plot focused that it was pretentious or artsy-fartsy. I have searched for a flexible, easily customizable system with a solid balance between crunchy stats and solid character personality traits. This system really encourages players to think their characters through. It also encourages players to think outside of the box and build a background. No longer are you stuck with being a cookie-cutter ranger, fighter, mage, rogue or cleric. The combinations of careers and origins for characters are vast and mind-boggling. Perhaps one of the absolutely best parts of this game is the amount of support it receives from the publisher. O.L.D. doesn’t just encourage you to play the game. It encourages you to use their system to publish your own work, probably more than any other game on the market, unlike other games that pretty much insist that you be a “professional” game designer in order to even think about contacting them. The website, EONS- the fanzine for all the woin games, and ENWorld’s forums are all outstanding resources. I think the gear section is one of the best in a fantasy game I’ve ever seen in my life. I haven’t drooled this much on a gear section since Unearthed Arcana came out for 1st Ed AD&D. Great art, descriptions and a very wide variety of both western, European and eastern gear. Additional kudos for the organization building concepts. Out of the gate, I’ve already seen a couple of new origins I’m going to add for my campaign. Same with careers. Not that the base careers in the game are lacking, I just need to add some specific to my world. I’ve definitely got some monsters to build. As I’ve stated, this game makes all the prep work before the first actual session a breeze. The only two things I didn’t love were the dice (d6’s) and the magic system. The d6 thing has been done. A LOT. Dice pool successes vs difficulty has been done a lot. I got my fill of all things d6 back when West End was still making the original SWRPG and the fine folks at FASA were making Shadowrun. That said, this game will allow me to bridge the gap from Hero Kids into a more serious fantasy game with my own kids. There are also dice conversions on the website which may prove useful. GURPS, back in the day, left a bad taste in my mouth when it comes to magic systems. O.L.D. originally reminded me of the long, drawn-out, convoluted spell casting systems, but it really comes down to A+B= spell Kerpoof! It’s a good spell. And players don’t have to sort for days through various colleges and sub-skills just to risk catastrophic spell failure. I thought implements (Staff, orb, wand, etc) were extremely well done in conjunction with the magic system. I'm thinking it still might be best to present my players with a spell list rather than letting them concoct their own on the fly. Overall, this game really knocked my socks off. I can’t wait to get going to my campaign. Thanks to all at E.N. Publishing. Keep up the good work. Can’t wait to see N.O.W.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by IOANNIS D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2017 08:49:39

A Wonderful Fantasy RPG product, really packed with options, after years and years of switching systems trying to balance crunch(i really love you HERO but cant introduce you to a new party) ,lore/legacy rules orverload and stubborness against evolution to something better (D&D) and lack of options/depth of advancement in otherwise good systems(see Savage Worlds) i finally found my Holy Grail!Highly recommended to any level of players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2017 06:05:53

I just had to get this. I am not much of a fan of fantasy, than I am of SciFi. But seeing as I like N.E.W so much, I had to get this. And like N.E.W it does no disappoint me. Oodles of stuff in there, some things I could easily port over to N.E.W, I wonder.

Being an artist I appreciate great art and layout and this has both. And lots of stuff, did I mention that already, yes, lots. Makes me want to run some sort of game as soon as I can.

Recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by DANI J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2017 00:13:34

When first of WOIN series, "NEW" came out, I read it through and played it. It openned up my eyes as I thought this is how spacefaring rpgs should've turned out. As I am reading "OLD", I couldn't hide my excitement at the prospect of making a living saga for my character. Many of the games I used to play didn't extensively support the character backgrounds mechanically as much as WOIN did. Such options only achieved to aid the player as a visual reference of how a character became the person they are now; other than that, the options were less influencial rule wise to show what the player characters are capable of -that is unless GM occasionally finds a space to use it as a cue for plot. WOIN gives us bevy of career options that allow not only to extend the character lifepath extensibly, but also let us utilize character's work experience into various phases of game play through comprehensive and well woven stats and bonuses listed on each career path.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Sam R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 14:31:27

I just got the PDF over a week ago and have been reading since. I am hoping to play the game soon. The system really feels like a mixture of the good parts different games. I am afraid that there may be too much customization and flexibility. This could lead to the GM having a heavy hand in how characters are created and advancement. I would also make spell caster have the spells they want to cast created a head of time, I can see how a spell casters trying to come up with a spell on the fly has the potential to slow the game way down.

Overall I feel this game has great potential and look forward to supporting books in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game v1.2
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Curtis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 22:14:01

A very good game - in some ways it feels like "greatest hits of other systems" and in others it's very innovative.

Broad basics - system is dice pool system - you add dice and try to beat a target number. It uses nothing but D6. System is Lifepath - you gain a career, and it gives you attributes, choices of skill and choice of "exploits". You buy this with experience, you can also buy those individually, but cheaper in a career. Personally if/when I run this, I will require a % to be purchased individually. Been playing 3.5 and Pathfinder for years for that. This covers similar ground, but more flexible - and a little more "rulings not rules" - so a little looser. But still detailed enough that I enjoy.

Specifics (random thoughts on the game)

All skill checks are just attribute checks. If you have skills (or equipment) that are applicable you may add those dice as well. Max dice you can roll is based on Rank (# of careers). however that is only for stat, skill, equipment. If you have exploits or situational modifiers, that can exceed the rank limit. Skill are undefined - you can make them up, or pick from examples listed. Skills are not assigned an attribute - the GM will call for an attribute roll for something, and if you have an applicable skill, you mention it, and add it to skill roll. So Climbing could be used in a Dex check to climb, a Logic check to see how hard something would be to climb, or a STR check to hang on to something if you start to fall. That idea was the first idea for a skill system for 5th ed D&D playtesting (back at D&D Next). they got rid of it. I loved that idea. It's sort of the reverse of Savage worlds. System is very open to tinkering - I love that. This is a review for OLD, which is fantasy - NEW is the Science fiction game. NOW will be 80's action/adventure. All same system, all scaled similarly for characters - so you can mix and match to make what you want - makes it a universal system. The magic system is interesting - you have skills (that give you what you can do) and secrets (what you can effect). You make spells from those - so if you have Evoke as a skill, and fire as a secret you can do firebolts, fireballs etc, then if you get "Ice" as a secret, you can start doing the same with ice. The system really makes it difficult to be a "master of all magics" - which is fine with me. Overall fantasy feels more like Fantasy Hero or FAntasy Age than D&D - very few "I win" spells. Based on the Elements of Magic that was first written for 3.x. It has an OGL, and is open, so anyone can make supplements. New idea - Countdown pool - if you have a time limit, but don't want to have it exact (to raise tension) - you set up a number of dice - and at the end of the round, you roll it, and remove some of the dice. So you know you time is getting close, but not exactly when.

When I read it, it reminded me of pieces of Traveller (lifepath), Savage Worlds, D&D, D6 and others, but the parts work together wonderfully, and has lots of really nice new touches.

The writing is very conversational - makes it easy to read (as opposed to formal reference book).

Other thoughts

There are narritive elements to the system, but not in specific gameplay, more in background feel. The "heroes in war" system is not a wargame with armies, but the battle has "victory points" and start at specific value. Each day the PC's side loses X victory points. PC go on mini adventures (destroy those catapults, take out this special unit, etc), and those gain victory points. So you aren't running the actual battle as a simulationist would, it's all focused on the story of the PCs.

The two games I think feel the closest (not necessarily by mechanics, but in overall feel) to it are Fantasy Age and Savage World. The game is fast, flexible and detailed. This has become my go to fantasy game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates