DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Fantasy Heroes II Set $5.00 $3.50
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 11
1 4
1 0
0 0
0 0
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2015 06:44:00

Hi Like set one this has a lot of characters. Unlike set one these are not class based rather more broad so allowing for more uses. Again a well designed and useful set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Carl S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2014 12:06:38

The second set of heroes is just as great as the first one. Mostly human with a couple dwarves and elves and one gnome illusionist (why are gnomes limited in magic in most game systems?) No complaints at all with this product. Let the dice roll!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by SengKok L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2012 00:46:30

Arion publishes many sets of PDF paper miniatures with a good enough variety with each set that there should be something suitable for most players. In particular, the Fantasy Heroes I, II and III are great starter sets to begin with.

The color and detail are very good in this set of figures and there is enough variety in the poses to easily recognize each character. Mounted versions of 4 of the figures are also provided which is a nice touch. If I could make a recommendation, it would be that each figure would also have a matching mounted version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Brett G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2008 21:31:24

Pewter or plastic minis are great but can be cost prohibitive when amassing a reasonable variety for a campaign. Arion Games paper minis are a cost effective alternative that look great and can be printed in whatever quantities are needed. When printed on cardstock, they are also fairly durable. Most come in both 2-sided and 3-sided formats and all are in full color. Even if you intend to acquire more traditional miniatures over time, these paper miniatures are an outstanding base from which to start. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Cory C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2008 11:01:11

I don't want to plunk down 1000's of $ for minis, which I may or may not use in an RPG setting. I love the artistry, the visualization, and, when I have time, the painting, but I have so little time to devote to my RPG gaming, that paper minis are the way I went for.

I saw some stuff out of print, running at about $120 for the book on Amazon, but that's a bit much for throw-away minis.

I'm so glad Arion Games cranks out nice, inexpensive minis for the masses.

That being said, I would like to present to you a review of one of their sets, Fantasy Heroes II.

First off, WOW! The detail is stunning on these pieces. It is nice to see computer-generated characters put in a fantasy setting for miniature gaming. WIth computers the sky's the limit, because you can render with different lighting, poses, scenes, costumes, etc. and with photorealistic quality.

Secondly, Arion Games is very helpful in describing how these basic sets (Fantasy Heroes II included) can be set up to print multiples of the miniatures outside of the original setup. That way, whole regiments and armies of allies and baddies can be run off your printer to your heart's content!

I like the white background, because I can make some of the more mundane poses (more on that later) more interesting by placing a background behind the characters using copies of these minis edited in a paint program. That lets me print out minis with forest, dungeon, or even tavern environs to help set the gaming mood.

I've bought over a dozen of the different packages - monsters, heroes, giants, historical characters - all with a considerable amount of detail.

On the 'bad' side, the strengths for computer-generated miniatures can also be weaknesses/challenges.

Although the detail is quite nice, a higher resolution would be good, because the details are only really good for character cameos or monster illustrations in RPG games. You need higher resolution than just 1" scale. The resolution of the images pixel out over 200%.

Also, at 1" scale, those fantastic details and shadings, wispy, wind-blown hair, etc. get lost in the miniaturization. I would suggest a half-way point between realistic and 'toon' rendering. Some neat minis have the cartoon look, but lack the multiple views enjoyed by the heroes in Fantasy Heroes II. Maybe separate pages for big cameo shots, and higher-contrast, 'toony' rendered pages with less busy detail for 1-to-1.5" minis. Vectorized 'toon' versions would be great, because the prints could be scaled up or down in size without losing detail.

I've heard that there is an uprise of female RPG gamers out there. GOOD FOR YOU! Welcome to the game field, I say! But for them, I think that their female counterparts in the Fantasy Heroes II mini set could be disappointing, if not offensive. The female versions of, fighters, rogues wizards, etc. look more like strippers than adventurer-player-character-heroines. Ah well, more fun tinkering in the paint program.

The benefit of computerized minis could go further in the 'dynamic pose' range as well. There are a few poses in this set that look more like mannequins or characters with 'deer in the headlights' poses that look like they're saying, "Well, what should I do now?" A page of each character in all the cool poses shown once on some of these characters could be great for variation, making the characters more interesting.

All said, I still give Fantasy Heroes II a 4-out-of-5 stars vote. There is so much variability - different character/monster/villain sets, and the detail and colors are vibrant and awesome! Arion Games has been innovative in providing 3-view minis that give more of a 3d feel and options to their mini line.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2007 12:12:50

Another great set of minis. I'm very satisfied with these set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Philip P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2006 00:00:00

I really love the fact that this set doesn't really duplicate the previous one. The figures continue to look nice, and you get a lot of different varieties. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Figure detail seems to just get better and better. Barbarians look much better in this set. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Geoff H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

A wonderful set of miniatures. Graham puts some great computer magic on these miniatures to really bring them to life. Certainly more detailed than pre-painted plastic minis and a lot lighter too! This work is one of the reasons I am happy to include Graham's work in The Divine Order: Jute - Faith of Creation.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Amazing detail.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Andrea F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2006 00:00:00

Very beautiful set, the quality of the images are very good.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: the quality<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2006 00:00:00

Very nice Artwork and realistic miniatures. Especially for Gamers , Gamemasters this Set is a very useful tool to get a lot of nice miniatures at a very low price. I use them for GMing or for my tabletop skirmishes:-)<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The graphics are very detailed and the miniatures look very realistic. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by George O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2006 00:00:00

It is a very good set. I just wish it didn't have so many doubles of characters in it. Seems like added "fluff".<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Very good art work<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Doubles of artwork should not have been included.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I am glad you like the set, but would just like to comment in the replicated miniatures. Because the flat/A-frame style miniatures take up less spece on the page, the one of the "flat" pages would have been left with an area of blank space. As in other sets, we decided to put this to best use by replicating 6 of the most commonly used figures. Graham Arion Games
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2006 00:00:00

Nice set, Draw are very computer looking, but are clean and sharp<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alex P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2006 00:00:00

This is a very nicely rendered set. The figures are well detailed and attractive. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I especially like the 3-sided versions. They are a bit classier than your usual paper mini, and the mounted fighter looks great.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The female paladin looks a bit like an anemic Joan of Arc when on horseback. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

Well now, some, nay, most of the figures in here are beautiful and rendered in to the same high standard I now expect from Arion games. These figures have a lot of style to them, they would be well suited high fantasy high jinks ? many are just begging for characters or colorful npc?s to go with them. Perhaps the best thing this set does is bulk up the number of non standard kit combos ? i.e. less average sword and shield types and a few duelists with rapiers, axes, spears two weapon fighters and other such variations there was not so much of previously. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: female elven rogue with a short skirt and legs spread wide ? its about time there was an honest portrayal done ; ) and the real adventurers adventurer ? fresh from the campsite backpack full of kit and all.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Giovanni A. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2006 00:00:00

Great quality, easy to assemble, low cost.....anything else necessary??<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: all<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates