DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results











Back
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 40
4 25
1 2
0 0
0 0
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2018 20:26:48

Part of my one night fill in collection. A short two hour adventure in 4 parts only two of which have combat. I like that "bad guys" are human. I like the choices with consequences in Part 1 (so many adventures what the players chose as options don't matter). Part 3 is a choice of four random ecounters, what purpose the randomness fulfills I am not sure (unless one is expecting to rerun this one a lot). It feels it as most put in just to have another fight. Part 4 is the main combat. That will do module, that will do.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrea C. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 15:20:30

Depending on how RP-inclined your party is, this module will run much longer than the 2 hours according to the module. I've both run and DM'd this, and even the most RP-averse group still spent at least 3 hours playing (though that might be due to having really poor rolls to hit the enemies and the DMs own rolls, which is hilarious looking back).

The story of the module itself is really good but is not immediately obvious to a DM on how you can present the information so the players get the whole story. It takes a bit of DMing experience/know-how to seamlessly reveal the backstories and frustrations of the NPCs to the party without it being a massive exposition dump (and it admittedly is something I am still struggling with for a lot of modules in general).

But overall, this is a great module to run and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 09:46:38

Definately a mod with a good mix of RP and combat - Love to see what tha players come up with everytime I run the mod.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 19:13:03

A good mix of role play, investigation, and combat. The middle encounter can lead to some seriously entertaining situations. The ability to select different encounters allows this to be tailored to different groups as well as providing some replayability.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2018 22:28:10

Every time I run this module, I get a better understanding of the mobile combat rules (and realize things I did wrong before). In general, it's a good module for exposing players to the advantages a mounted enemy has (particularly one whose stat block essentially gives them the Mounted Combatant feat). I found the final combat was frequently challenging for my tables-- not only are the enemies mounted, but they also tend to outnumber the PCs, which gives them an action economy advantage to go with their mobility advantage. On the flip side, they have no very threatening options against a PC who can fly.

The rest of the module: there's a good amount of exploration and related skill checks; each time I ran this the party interacted with the river for a while, too, trying to "solve" it somehow; I like the multiple choice option for the mid-module encounter and the variety of options for "winning" the social encounter at the Blood Rider camp. I did have to remind my players of some information they'd learned and ignored after they'd come up with a bunch of other arguments and were running low.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2018 01:24:23

Fun adventure to run, the NPCs are interesting and story simple and compelling. The included maps are nice, and the encounters fun and interesting. I had a real blast with one encounter in the middle, as the situation was hilarious and my players dug it. Would definitely enjoy running this again in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 12:20:10

A good mix of role play, investigation, and combat, with some genuinely entertaining moments. A solid, strong effort that easily avoids railroading players into the 'one right way' to solve it.

The only thing that keeps this from being a 5 star review is the lack of that something extra, that 'oomph', that you get on truly great mods. This is a good mod, it just doesn't make the leap into great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by GOH K. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2018 01:21:40

A great module to run, with a decent mix of combat, diplomacy and investigation (although throwing out diplomacy for more combat is possible [if dangerous] if your players are strong enough to handle it).

Much shenanigans were had at the river, especially since I chose to run the most...amorous encounter from the ones available.

Suggestion for people who plan to DM this module - try to give out the faction quest in secret (if you know your players will appreciate it). It's funnier that way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 22:40:19

Choose your encounters before you want to run this, and make sure you keep it focused. Time can be a constraint in some play settings, such as a store.

Very good mix of the three pillars of play, and characters who pick up on the clues can have a very satisfying role playing resolution, leading to the final combat. Also, completely bad-ass item for Tier 2 characters, which can be essential for playing in Hartkiller's Horn!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2018 22:45:26

GREETINGS ADVENTURERS!! A Dish Best Served Cold. My first T2 Foray. I felt it was a great Mod! With rewards that are undeniably awesome. A call to help to stop a war is something all factions can jump on board with. One of my pkayers bought long stockings for his spider mount in the snow. AMAZING. The story was engaging and the options within the Mod for the encounter were all very entertaining. I particularly enjoyed the final encounter. One of my group learned a lesson about making the boss a hostile before democratic solutions could be investigated. My players and myself were hard pressed and it's a story that we tell others. My multi-class cleric player is now eteranlly lnown as "Hold person" lol Enjoy the ride adventurers! Bring the warm clothes!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!! xVxORIONxVx



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2018 17:32:53

The ease that this can be run and played but it in my file under "Will run again" Decent Story, intersting twist with the special mission effects, overall a pretty good adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by alan t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2018 03:03:54

it was really really good! like all the one shots i buy it was to fill a gap in our own campaign which is a storm kings thunder game. It provided a perfect template to change slightly to suit our own story. it was easily scaled to suit my party and the time constraint aspect was a really great piece of extra pressure. Also it had really great NPCs to DM!

definately recommend especially if youre playing Storm Kings



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Wei C. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:13:03

Terrific module, short and bite-sized yet brings out the best in roleplaying. First the introduction breaks the mould as players get a request for help from someone totally unexpected, and then there is the investigative flow of events, as well as being on the trail and a race against time. The investigation culminates in a role playing encounter that can be very critical for most parties (they would not have much of a chance if they failed), and ends off with a very appropriate and cinematic fight. Best of table top, put nicely into a two hour module... hmm well there's a minor quibble, could easily run into three or four hours, but great adventure nonetheless!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 19:26:12

That's a great module.

What is great is that there is a lot of way this can be played and end. I've run it twice and play it once and all experience were completely different.

your players like combat? they will be served they prefer roleplay? they will be served too!

the intrigue also is pretty well written and easy to follow... something the writing make it weird and hard to understand the author intent but here everything is pretty good from that point of view!

This was actually the first tier 2 I've done as a player and it will stay a memorable experience. Just prepare it will because of the intrigue behind it, it is ideally not something you should run after having read it 5 minutes just before play. Can be done this way but not optimal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kareena R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 11:11:52

This was the first Tier 2 that I've run before. It was an easy adventure to jump into. I like how there are options for combat, you can roll randomly or decide ahead of time what the characters will have to face. There are opportunities for roll play but also opportunities for combat if player characters are not wanting to negotiate. Without giving spoilers, the magic item is super cool. This is one of my favorite adventures to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates