DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
YotZ Gunfight at the OK Diner Minis
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

It?s a set with an entire page of assorted zombies. As if I wasn?t going to buy it, especially with how cool the zombies in the undead set were. I am pleased to say the rotting nastiness that we all know and love zombies for has been nicely expressed over a good range of zombies ? everything from the massive orderly type zombie down to zombie kids. The set also includes some named characters, presumably important people from the module this set is for and includes a couple of nice archetypal characters that could see use in many different games.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Toilet Zombie. Absolute gold. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: some of the zombies look a bit highly animated and agile which won?t be to everyone?s tastes<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
YotZ Gunfight at the OK Diner Minis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

Well now, some, nay, most of the figures in here are beautiful and rendered in to the same high standard I now expect from Arion games. These figures have a lot of style to them, they would be well suited high fantasy high jinks ? many are just begging for characters or colorful npc?s to go with them. Perhaps the best thing this set does is bulk up the number of non standard kit combos ? i.e. less average sword and shield types and a few duelists with rapiers, axes, spears two weapon fighters and other such variations there was not so much of previously. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: female elven rogue with a short skirt and legs spread wide ? its about time there was an honest portrayal done ; ) and the real adventurers adventurer ? fresh from the campsite backpack full of kit and all.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Victorians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

This is actually a set I requested some time ago and it is good to see it finally made flesh so to speak. The variety in the set is particularly nice with people from most parts of the Victorian era represented which is just what I needed from the set. The images themselves are clear, crisp and detailed.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: the gentleman and cabby are both posed in quite a lively way that makes the stand out. Also the number of female models is good, a more even mix really benefits this set<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Really not so sure about the thugs dress sense, I don?t know if it is the pose itself or the odd looking partial sleeves but his arms look kind of awkward and out of proportion.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Victorians Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Tiles 1: Enchanted Palace
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2006 00:00:00

Well, these tiles really are very pretty. Okay, I'll be fair, these are lavishly illustrated it really is no lie. The prodcut description is accurate you don't get any more or any less than it says you do. The 'rules' for each tile are very simplistic but essentially a nice little prompt for the bit of your brain that forgets sometimes that as a gm you have free reign to do that sort of thing and probably should. They are d20 specific but given that they are nothing complex it really won't be hard to adapt them for whatever system you happen to be using<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Well, I bought it to see if the art really was that good and was not dissapointed<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: with just one tile per page it felt like there was a lot of wasted space on every page I printed. I certainly would not object to set containing one or more larger rooms. I don't generally see the need for corridors and crossroads and the like but it might be nice to see something like some set dressings, single tiles you could use to add or remove details from the existing tile. That would make it feel like better value to me.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Tiles 1: Enchanted Palace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2005 00:00:00

okay so if you go back and read some of my earlyer review of the arion games miniatures you'll spot I mention noise around parts of some miniatures. Well, this is one of two sets so far to use the 'new' pdf creation process. Quite what that means I do not really know or indeed care as the end result seems to me to be that the aforementioned noise is almost entirely eliminated and that the superb level of detail you can see when on screen viewing miniatures is significantly clearer and crisper when the figures are printed off. Maybe it is not a big thing as by and large when the figures are in use you just aren't likely to notice that much difference, but me personally I like the fact that you can pick them up and take a good hard look and actually clearly see all the cool shiny bits the artist went to the trouble of putting there to be seen.

This set is big, well a lot of the figures are big so you don't often get many to a page. There is a lot of classic monsters in there and some more novel ones too and the new pdf creation process means a lot of these figure are just plain cool.

Other points - the giant freebie - available from the arion games website is a nice addition, leaving the figure creation guide out of the file is I think a much better choice.

And finally, in other news - Arion games now offer a custom figure/portrait/illustration service. Check their website for more information but I have tried it out and I really liked the results<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The medusa looks ace, but her lower body seems a bit awkward and stiff and the snakes for hair don' look terrible much like snakes. But I still love it. Go figure. The phoenix is super cool, the giat worm and dragons - with a little bit re-scaling to fit one per page of A4 will have your players discovering the silent joy adrenaline and those are just a few of the more noteworthy critters<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The werewolf looks more like a slightly wolfish man, perhaps more island of doctor moreaux than werewolf proper. Or a werewolf only part way through transformation. The hell hounds fire gout looks very artificial indeed and the giant snake looks rather like a sock filled with newspaper. So there are a few duds. They do not ruin the set so much as stand out as the runts of a strong litter.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Saracens Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2005 00:00:00

okay so if you go back and read some of my earlyer review of the arion games miniatures you'll spot I mention noise around parts of some miniatures. Well, this is one of two sets so far to use the 'new' pdf creation process. Quite what that means I do not really know or indeed care as the end result seems to me to be that the aforementioned noise is almost entirely eliminated and that the superb level of detail you can see when on screen viewing miniatures is significantly clearer and crisper when the figures are printed off. Maybe it is not a big thing as by and large when the figures are in use you just aren't likely to notice that much difference, but me personally I like the fact that you can pick them up and take a good hard look and actually clearly see all the cool shiny bits the artist went to the trouble of putting there to be seen.

Beyond that, the set itself is pretty beautiful, the saxons dress is vivid and visually very different to the other sets, the nomads are particularly handy to me at present and many of the figures are pretty action posed so look very dynamic.

Other points - the pack camel freebie - available from the arion games website is a nice addition, leaving the figure creation guide out of the file is I think a much better choice.

And finally, in other news - Arion games now offer a custom figure/portrait/illustration service. Check their website for more information but I have tried it out and I really liked the results<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The saxon knigy is the daddy of this set - the cover image btw. The detail and the colours are superb and lose nothing when printed<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saracens Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2005 00:00:00

Saxons - yes the are. Now admittedly I'm not in this for historical stuffs or miniature wargaming, I just want a good range of figrues for roleplaying purposes so I stnad some chance of having a good stand in for whatever comes up so I figured more blokes with swords and stuff was a good bet. And that is what I got here, a couple of the figures in particular stand out to me as looking pretty cool/badass and several others just have that thang that suggersts thye will most certainly be of use to me for what I want.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The couple of ladies was a real boon as - understandably, this like most sets is predominantly male.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2005 00:00:00

Again this set gave me the feel that the sets are improving overall in quality. No mean feat.

So soldiers, not my regular cup of tea but I already know several things I could have used them for and don't doubt having access to them in the future will be very handy. I'm afraid I'm no military buff so I can't tell you much about that side of things beyond what you can already see on the figure listing. The figures have what I think is a decent variety and do look very much like they mean business. The poses are pretty key with this set, given so many of the figures would otherwise look very similar on a table to the point of being hard to differentiate if needed and the poses do indeed deliver.

The vehicles are also going to be very useful something car shaped and something tank shaped will be making much better proxies for more modern things than chariots and horses.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The tank is great, it might just be the single largest illustration yet and looks suitably imposing.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I thought the naval guy seemed rather out of place, I could more easily imagine him in a set of suitable modern nautical military figures. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Undead Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2005 00:00:00

These figures were a must have for me, undead in their various forms crop up time and again in roleplaying game so it was a no brainer. Especially given the other sets I've picked up have all impressed me so much. Now don't ask me to put my finger on it exactly, I'll put it down to the growing experience of the artists, familiarity with the tools and so on but I really do believe the sets are getting better.

Now the skeletons - they are not your typical fair, they are dark and manky looky, grubby and dirty, probably infections, kind of the way you might expect them to be, and as an added perk it means they show up very nicely against the card where the more regular pristine white skeleton might have looked a bit weak.

The vampire and liche to me are very hammer horror esq or traditional stlye you might say - a good thing I think.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The spectre and jack o lantern both look very cool but for the real winners of the set are the 2 zombies - these are the third variety of figure flat zombie I happen to own (a coincidence I tell you!) and these are streaks ahead of the others, flesh mostly rotted off and / or torn up. These are some properly hardcore zombies. And you can never have too many zombies. Oh and the skeleton dragon is also very cool.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some people might find the ghouls look a little bit 'kung fu', it reminds me more of the infected from 28 days later which I honestly don't have a probelm with. And one the skeletons does look a bit like he is throwing his arms wide like he is about to give someone a hug. I imagine thats not the intended effect but it was my first reaction which made me giggle. Maybe I'm alone in that but neither are big things.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undead Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Egyptians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2005 00:00:00

These are cool, very, very cool. Maybe it is just because the whole egyption style appeals to me but this lot are well worth picking up, the gurads/soldiers etc would make for half decent tribal warriors in many settings, the priests and other important peoples will always find a use in games with an occult/horror feel to it and well strangely enough they could also come in handy for those tomb raiding scenarios that crop up every so often or even just period scenarios. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The ladies are particularly lovely and the level of detial in all the miniatures is pretty spiffy. The anubite just looks plain mean, I got to find an excuse to use that figure.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Its a really minor thing but some of the figures are coloured in light tones meaning they don't contrast very much with their background of white card when printed which is a shame as the figures are very pretty. But they are also supposed to pale and the colours used are appropriate so there is not a lot to be done about that. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Egyptians Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villagers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2005 00:00:00

Villagers, they are that. They are not sexy action packed figures bursting at the seems with coolness. They are villagers and in that they succeed very well. This one of the few sets where I wasn't left thirsty for more, there is a very real limit to how many average joe type characters adn innocent bystanders etc I will need to pepper a scene with and these guys and girls should fill that gap very nicely indeed.

The selection is good, the 'extras' are good simply because of their versatility this set will see much use and abuse on my table top.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Who hasn't occasionally wanted for a dog or a couple of market stalls that are not represented by squiggly lines, glass beads or other non inspiring stuff. As always it is whta I think of as extras that rounds the set out that I like the most. The value added crunchy bits if you will.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing to dislike, the barkeep is quite ugly but he is meant to be. And you can't dislike him - he is the barkeep!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Villagers Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DOLLAR DUNGEON$-DOJO
Publisher: Mad Kaiser Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2005 00:00:00

For a nice low price you get 19 pages of assorted tiles which seems pretty reasonable to me. The variety is good, in particular I think the grass and cobbled/rock path tiles can see a lot of use in many settings above and beyond a dojo or similar. I'm afraid once you get passed the plain roms the corridors and junctions turn up which I will admit I've yet to look at in detail but seem a little confusing at a first glance, not too sure where I should be cutting I know it kind of depends on what I want but a page or two of idiot proofing instructions would have been appreciated.

As a couple of other reviews have said some of the sections struggle a bit with the grids - where more than one tile pattern has been used it looks to me like one has been pasted over the top of the other and not lined up very well but I would consider it a minor inconvience more than a big disadvantage. And the coi pond really ought to have grids over it. You know it makes sense.

But all told it looks like a good buy to me, its a first foray into tiles for me so I don't have anything to compare it against really. I've used some free stuff and this is clearly better than that and I would definitly buy from these folks again.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DOLLAR DUNGEON$-DOJO
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orientals Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2005 00:00:00

Another quality set of figure flats from arion games. Only this one is kinda personal as I emailed them a whileback to suggest. Unsurprisingly enough it was on the good old 'to do' list but apparently it got shunted up a bit as there was an interest in. And I am not disappointed - the samurai and ninja look the part and in particular the samurai in full armour looky very nice indeed.

These will service me very nicely for a couple of adventures I have and will hopefully impress the gm that prompted me to look around for some oriental flavoured figure flats. I'm pretty certain he will like what is on offer here.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The extras such as the geisha and noble nicely rounded off the set and duplicating some figures on the 'fold up' stlye sheet is nice as it means the space on the card is not wasted. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: So far as I'm aware this is the first set without an extra page of assorted extras - the pirates got cannons and a chest, most of the other sets got mounted varients of a couple of the figures, it would have been good to see the same with these maybe a mounted archer or two. And it seems hard to believe they missed the opportunity of a 'wise old master' style figure. But the set is a little cheaper than those with extra bits which is nice to see.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orientals Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
We have now rectified the absence of a "Wise old master" type figure by adding it as a freebie on the Arion Games website (along with other Oriental freebies)!
Savage Worlds Adventure Deck
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2005 00:00:00

This is nice product, a nice idea, and I can see it adding a lot to the game. Its already got many reviews that tell you all you need to know but suffice to say this recieves my backing also. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It has so much potential for increasing the fun of the game and the blank cards were a nice addition for those of use that might want to get extra creative<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'm afraid to say I think it is somewhat overpriced for what you get and like a lot of savage worlds products the art really doesn't do anything for me. The variant card backs were a nice option but I wouldn't really want to print them. This much at least I was easily able to remedy by putting the finished cards in some very attractive card sleeves I bought for the purpose.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirate Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2005 00:00:00

Another awesome set of figures from these folks, there is a goodly selection nautical folks herein including the archetypal peg and parrot pirate bad ass.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The real finishing touch for me was the bif trifolds for cannons, a chest and some ammmo crates.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing, its all good with the possible exception of leaving you thirsty for more.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates