DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cyberpunk Night Market
Publisher: Cybertopo
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2020 09:45:02

First, can't argue with free - this is definitely a handy, colorful if dark (appropriate) map for a Cyberpunk-ish themed outdoor market. Cyberpunk Red has Night Markets, which I think inspired this one. It looks great in my Roll20 instance, and loaded up easily. Inspired me to look at (and buy) the rest of the publisher's maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Night Market
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic D6: Bastion
Publisher: Khepera Publishing
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2019 10:22:31

A great mash-up of superhero, sword and sorcery, and post-apoc through an Afrocentric lens. Definitely recommended for Mythic D6 fans. Superpowers are bundled into packages with some interesting setting chrome; there's explanatory content for folks who want to design or reverse engineer new powersets or such. Players get to build / focus on their "Company" (military style, not commerce) allowing for more troupe style and/or easy of pulling in new / replacement PCs.

I found this a fun and fresh setting / micro-setting; I don't see a lot of Afrocentric settings. To be transparent, I was a backer for the Kickstarter funding on the project.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic D6: Bastion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clement Sector Core Setting Book
Publisher: Independence Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2019 22:49:38

I thoroughly enjoy the Clement Sector setting and line; my favorite ATU (Alternate Traveller Universe) via Cepheus. It's got a very Traveller 2300 feel for me without being T2300 or a knock off thereof. It has the feel of a human-centric setting on the general frontier, with Earth not forgotten but out of the picture, and no real star emprires or whatnot. It's a small(er) ship universe, with Jump 2 limit. All the colonies themselves are painted sufficiently to get play going, and not so tightly as to not further develop, or rewrite entirely if you prefer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clement Sector Core Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Foe Folio for B/X Ascending
Publisher: Cross Planes Game Studio
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 00:31:42

I really enjoyed this short but tasty monster folio. I found it to be a nice mix of some familar, and a bunch of new, for a system I enjoy. The art style sort of had a Mike Mignola vibe for me, which I also appreciated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foe Folio for B/X Ascending
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Granite County Locales Golden Aeries
Publisher: CCortrightProductions
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2018 23:06:56

I think Jon S pretty much sums it up in his review. This is a fun, affordable and easy addition to a Swords & Six-Siders game. Glad I bought it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Granite County Locales Golden Aeries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2017 14:00:24

Comprehensive and spot-on for the genre. When Bedrock Games describes this as "completely self-contained", they aren't kidding. Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate is an easy to read, well written, straight forward system (d10 based) and straight forward presentation. Nealry 500 pages long, WHoOG includes a fictional setting (riffing off the Song Dynasty), martial arts techniques, sects, adversaries (standard, wuxia martial artists, monsters and demons), and a sample adventure, along with plenty of genre and GM guidance. GMs would find themselves very well supported for a one-shot, campaign or all points between.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Age Of Legends
Publisher: 6d6 Fireball
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2017 22:31:16

Great book and setting. It's filled with a mix of historical material for the period and setting along with the mythic (Olympian gods, Titans, creatures). The magic is setting-appropriate, so you won't find magic missiles and fireballs, but you will find material on ancient Greek curses, wards and herbology. The artwork is all in the style of ancient Greek. There's 6d6 material on new period-appropriate Archetypes and Paths, along with a number of new Antogonists pulled from myth (and Agent and Monster Paths).

I've run it some, and it's had a great feel in play. The mix of mundane with the epic - especially for newly invested PC Agents - was a lot of fun.

In disclosure, I did back the Kickstarter that produced AoL, and would happily do so again. 6d6 is a great ruleset, and Age of Legends is a great add to the collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age Of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2017 01:07:02

Out of the part hit for a WFRP clone. I'm completely satisfied with my purchase. It's a big book, but comprehensive. As an experienced WFRP GM from way back (1e), I'm delighted with the system and product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big List of RPG Plots
Publisher: Cumberland Games & Diversions
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2017 03:07:18

"If this little item isn't in your GMing toolkit yet, it's time to amend that."

Truth in adventising. I've had this gem in my GMing notebook(s) for years; it's a must have, and a bargain at twice the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big List of RPG Plots
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Space Patrol
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2016 21:19:48

Solid book! It wasn't quite as Terran Trade Authority as my tired brain was wanting in the moment (Space Patrol!), but a well done look at a "missing" branch. Especially well suited to plug and play into an emergent 2d6 classic science fiction "Empire" setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Space Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your excellent review!
Sig: Manual of the Primes
Publisher: Genesis of Legend Publishing
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 23:30:40

I'm a Planescape fan from way back, and Sig totally channeled that Planescape feeling for me without being a simple rehash or clone. I love the planar cosmology that Sig presents, and love the city at least as much.

The book is colorful, well produced, and easy to digest. I enjoyed the planar races presented in it.

The book is for the Spark system (itself Creative Commons licensed), but I think it's easily hackable and adaptable to other games as a concept and setting. Fate and Whitehack both came to mind for me.

The next time I dig into running something planar / plane hopping / infiinite city, Sig will be it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sig: Manual of the Primes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
Publisher: 6d6 Fireball
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2015 09:55:10

6d6 has quickly become my go-to game (or one of my top go-to games anyway) over the last 5 months. I found it very easy to read and grok between the format and writing. It's got a nice blend of old- and new-school "-isms", and I think presents a very mature outlook on some things like game leadership, group dynamics, and open book gaming.

The use of "Potential" to drive PC actions as an "in character" throttle vs more out of character solutions (like fate points or such) seems innovative, and is working very well for my play groups. It feels like it really builds characterization as players use their potential to conduct actions, and determine how to mix and apply their PC's Advantages to solve any given challenge.

I think this is a real gem of a game system, with a lot of value, and highly recommend checking it out. The rules and materials can be read and previewed for free at the publisher's website.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dungeon of Demon Strata (2nd Ed.)
Publisher: 6d6 Fireball
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2015 23:28:52

This was a fun, enjoyable adventure. The isometric map worked well - I found the room descriptions and parsing of information well done, and the monsters, tricks and traps did a good job challenging my group. This started a new campaign nicely for me as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon of Demon Strata (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arrows Of Indra
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by Brian I.
Date Added: 03/30/2014 14:40:11

I bought this one in both print and digital formats, and feel I got my money's worth, easily. Overall, Arrows of Indra's an excellent entry into the OSR in a unique and fascinating way.

I definitely think the game is spot on for the author's design goals as I understand them. It's a pretty clean, self contained game with a lot of flavor that doesn't feel like (but does feel like) an early alt white box. A ton more grok-able (IMO, or for me more appropriately) than Tekumel (for instance) while having a similar sort of feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arrows Of Indra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blackmarsh
Publisher: Bat in the Attic Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2013 16:08:34

An outstanding old school, minimal setting. I've used it several times - it's got just enough meat and flavor to inspire and drive a game, and is light enough that as a GM, I don't sweat getting details wrong.

The map, of course, is great - all Rob's are.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates