DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion

This product is no longer available from DriveThruRPG.com

Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
52 15
13 4
3 1
0 2
0 0
Heroes of the Orient: Player\'s and DM\'s Companion
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Iamthe C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2021 19:57:45

I cannot believe how USEFUL this guide was. I also cannot believe it is not an official production from Wizards.

Excellent, complete guide for DM's wishing to explore Japan, China and the East. Very detailed, beautiful and invaluable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dirk M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2020 10:23:28

We are playing a Kara-Tur/Lot5R-campaign (Legends of the Sparrow Clan) since three years based on this book and it is a blast. We even started a rip-off adventure on roll20 to explore other races and classes. The book never disappointed us, which says a lot because the only 5e content allowed was this and the PHB. The balancing is very good, minor flaws are neglectable. Give me a sixth star and I would rank my rating up. Thank you for your amazing work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2020 16:00:46

This fantastic book has formed the basis for my current D&D game, providing plenty of interesting character options and allowing us to explore an often overlooked set of mythologies. Heavily inspired by Japanese culture rather than any generic idea of 'the Orient', the included background is great even if you aren't going to use the exact setting as described.

The new class and racial options are quite a lot of fun, with our party making extensive use of the hengeyokai, shogun, and kensai rules in the current game.

A fantastic product. I only wish there were some Heroes of the Orient inspired adventures that could be paired with it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2020 06:59:35

So, straight up, this is terrific. It's EXACTLY what I was looking for. An update to the 3.5 version that fits into 5E, with lots of room for your own setting and lore to go into.

First of all, the update to the equipment lists is great. I was dreading trying to do those myself, and here they are. All done! Ready to go! Second, the work on the races is spot on. Spiritfolk and Hengenyokai seem fun, and not incredibly unbalanced, or out of place, next to the base races of the PH. Third, the spells and feats are excellent. Clear, concise and, again, fit into 5E just right.

BUT, what I want to highlight are the classes. The work put into these is, honestly, astounding. Like, sure, if there wasn't the Races chapter, you can still "feel" like you're in an Asian-inspired setting, so long as you're doing the kind of things that mark it out. Like being a Shama, a Shugenja or a Wu-Jen. Obviously, I haven't playtested them all or anything like that. I've read 'em, and I'll be using a lot of the content in my homebrew, Asian-inspired campaign world. But just from the readthrough, I'm really happy with them, and impressed at how they just feel like they go right alongside your basic classes.

I highly recommend this to anyone thinking of buying it. At the very least there is some great design work and illustrations (as a book it looks very nice), and I do not doubt that everyone can find something of use, interest, and value in here.

Seriously, well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by 5e W. C. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2019 11:38:44

Easily one of my Favorite books I hope it gets a hardcover Version



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2019 16:41:14

So I had reviewed this online and there's too much to cover here, sorry for just getting around to writing a review on the DM's Guild! https://youtu.be/Aam1kKNOmuc



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2019 05:16:30

A great resource for running a game set in the orient, or just to introduce exotic elements to your D&D game. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2018 08:41:44

This book has a lot of really useful information if you want to add an Orient flare to your campaign. It has an in depth look at a samole Orient setting, complete with a caste system and ways to use the Honor varient system from the DMG. in addition, this book adds some new items and unique magic items that really fit the flavor of the book. The classes are well written, and although I haven't played any of them, they all appear to be fun and thematic. There is also a limited set of spells that fit the theme very well. All in all, this book is well worth the price. It adds races, classes, equipment and spells for players, all well written, flavorful and unique. It also adds a good setting for DMs who want to run a campaign in an Orient setting but don't want to create their own. Finally, the book is easy to read and visually is rather impressive. The only downside to this book is that the DM and pplayer information are mixed together and it is not formatted the same as most Compendiums.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by clive s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2018 13:40:04

I am a big fan of this and think it is even better than the original Oriental Adventure products of D&D 1st ed and 3.5 it is inspired by.

Well done. The writer has really tought this out well.

It is great to see how 5e is bringing such talent into the game. Without products like these we would be waiting indefinitely for a quality oriental Addition to the Game from Wizards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 21:03:30

For worlds like the one I am building this is a wonderful book, allowing massive spanning worlds with continents and cultures. I would say that my only complaint is the lack of options for several of the classes. Other than that, an excellent suppliment if you wish to have oriental cultures or campaigns!! I made a Aasimar cotton Nezumi and I was delighted by the idea of an angelic squirrel (which is how I interpret the cotton subspecies).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Darrin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2018 12:34:09

Thematically wonderful, mechanically a mess. The interesting ideas are marred by oft poor implimentation, and typically overpowered features.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2018 03:11:59

I was skeptical of purchasing this at first, but the idea did intrigue me enough for me to take the risk. I have absolutely zero regrets and consider this the best purchasable product on this website. The PDF is just absolutely brimmed with information, play rules, and content that made me excited just reading through the possibilities. I recommend this to anyone on the fence.

P.S. Way of the Geisha bard is the coolest fucking thing in this companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 14:07:53

An extensive update of information from previous editions of Dungeons & Dragons, drawing on older information and updating it for 5e. The lead designer is Marc Altfuldisch. Part 1 of the book focuses on background and information mostly relevant to the DM. Setting information, including background on society and history, provides a nice update to those previous editions, making changes as is needed. Players will of course get something out of it too, but it is Parts 2 - 5 that focus on information relevant to creating an Orient themed character. A few races from the old days make an appearance, (Hengeyokai and Spirit Folk) and there is a new class (Shogun) that is not anything I had seen before. I liked the backgrounds and the supplement is rounded out with Feats and Spells. All in all a nice update/throwback to those older 5e supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dylan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2017 06:10:19

If u are reading this Buy this its neccesary because its so cool



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of the Orient: Player's and DM's Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:51:40

I have to say this reference is definitely worth every penny. It is an excellent work with a lot of great references. My players love it and as a DM I incorporated into my FR campaign. Keep up the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates