DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7 $14.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
2 6
0 0
0 0
0 0
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Geoff H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2007 00:00:00

Overall this is a good collection of art. There are 51 different images, though only 42 of these are full images as the rest are borders or 'blank' images for you to place text on parchment or a large rock. Most of the art is well done and will look good in publications, however a few of the images seem rather simple and have a 'not finished' feel to them.

<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: A nice selection of images from animals and familiars to locations to people. A good 'started' product for somebody looking for a variety of images.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some of the art contained border graphics and the like which I didn't like. I don't particularly like including rings or borders around art in my publications. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by KEVIN M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00

I purchased Arcane Publishers Editions 5 and 7 at the same time and I can tell you that I liked both products. The artwork looked clean and simple when viewing them from my computer. When printed out however there was a box of shadow or grain left around the edges of some of the images.

Edition 7 I liked moreso than Edition 5. I really enjoyed the diverse pieces from locations to small fillers. This helped out in a pinch for some of my artwork needs.

Overall I liked the art and am happy with the purchase.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The locations, while very linear in the sense of being all in the same genre for the most part, I enjoyed more so than the rest. Some of the pieces really stuck out and I liked them.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: With 50+ images in the product I had hoped to use more of the pictures. For the cost that was paid for and the amount I used didn't really sit we with me, even though I used more from this set than Edition 5.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your purchase. The only thing I disagree with is the statement "For the cost that was paid for and the amount I used didn't really sit we with me, " Reason being, to have a freelance artist like myself do these individually would cost you at $20 (thats conservative) nearly $1000. Even if you used 4 images, that would still cost you $80. The price i have these art pieces at, I think you'll come to appreciate in time, is an extreme value and you have gotten a great bargain to have so much art for so little investment.
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Rob M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/08/2005 00:00:00

V. Shane?s Arcane Publishers Edition 7 provides e-book publishers and others looking for quality fantasy themed clipart and layout design elements with an excellent cross-section of fantasy illustrations and fantasy themed borders, section pieces, and an interesting decorative font, Wizard Kanji.

The collection includes 4 birds (3 hawk type birds and an owl, all of which are well done line art with cross-hatch shading), 9 buildings (Most half of which are actually large statue-like structures, including an obvious sphinx analogue, the artwork on these is simple line art with a bit of cross-hatch shading and ground cover and vegetation sketched in, the others are more detailed, with the illustration of a small castle-keep very well done with detailed stippling), 9 people/adventure types (most of which are rather well done, some are sketches, with details left unfinished, while others are detailed line art with shading, cross-hatching and stippling used to define details. The ?Winter Rider?, ?Dwarf?, ?(Thief) Behind?, and ?Assassin Guy? illustrations are quite good looking.) There are 9 dragon graphics, most of which are close-ups of features such as wing, or head. The ?Dragon Egg? illustration presents a nicely done image of an entire dragon, presumably just hatched from the above mentioned egg. There are 3 ?familiar? cat illustrations, presenting a cat suitable for use as a mage?s familiar; all of the illustrations are nicely done line art with cross-hatch shading to provide details. There are 2 ?gate? illustrations, which are wilderness scenes with stone pillars framing an entryway. There are 4 miscellaneous creatures? illustrations, a female centaur (this is one of the sketch type illustrations), male kobold (a well done piece of a tall, skinny, ?noble? looking kobold, well executed as line art with stippling, cross-hatching, and shading to provide details.), a female ghost headshot, and a female ?Vampyr? (another striking illustration, the ?Vampyr? is done with crisp line art and solid shading, with a stippled pillar and background providing contrast).

In addition to the illustrations a number of page design elements are included as well, An ?arcane border? border piece is provided in both line art and detailed shading, an arcane divider, again in clean line art and detailed shaded versions. The arcane pieces are wondering scrollwork, reminiscent of Celtic knot work, ensnaring a couple of crystal ball type objects. There is a ?Natural Border? piece featuring a vine and leaf & berries type motif. The selection of borders is rounded out with a ?Stone Border? border piece featuring a wrought stone look. Finally there is a ?Sorceress? divider, which features a female mystic type whose hair snakes out in whorls to form the body of the divider.

In addition to the border and divider pieces, there are two text block backgrounds provided, one is a light grey ?parchment? look, and the other a ?standing stone? background, both are sharp and good looking. Finally, there is the ?Wizard Kanji? decorative font, it provides an interesting font style featuring scratch-like font pieces similar to Japanese Kanji script, it makes for an interesting decoration or faux document.

So, as can be judged by the descriptions above, this collection provides a wide selection of illustrations ready for a publisher or GM looking for visuals for his game to insert into their documents. The artwork is all professional, with some done as sketches, and others fully realized detailed illustrations. Based on the variety of not only illustrations but page design elements provided in this collection, I recommend this product to anyone needing illustrations of the type included in this collection. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Some of the illustrations are outstanding, done with masterful shading, cross-hatching, and stippling to define details.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Building pieces were weak overall, mostly colossal statues ala the sphinx, rather than buildings proper. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, that was a detailed review, thank you for the input! I did want to point out that future Arcanes will have much more dynamic buildings as this is not the first report on the laxness on the building designs.
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Josh B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/01/2005 00:00:00

Images can enhance an rpg; breaking up the flow of white space, and presenting readers with a visual representation of the style and theme of the book. Purchasing original art can be expensive. Which can be a bite on start up and smaller publishers whom may have little to no budget to pay an artist with, or maybe you simply can't find an artist to work in the desired style or within the range of your deadline. It's times like these that stock/clipart comes in handy; giving you already completed art that you can drop into your product, and at prices usually less (sometimes much less) than what it would cost you to commission that piece from an artist. One of the immediate downsides of this is that both in the cases of stock or clipart, it doesn't tend to be a unique purchase: any number of people other than you may have copies. This can result in your product being less visually unique.

Arcane Publishers Edition 7 weighs in at 51 images and two files for the Wizard Kanji fantasy font (one of which registered as gibberish to my system - I'm guessing it's the Mac version). The images cover a wide range of subject matter; there are pictures of scenes and buildings, animals, characters and creatures and several images of dragons. There is also a nice selection of page enhancements: borders and backgrounds for boxed text etc.

As with any art collection some of it doesn't appeal to my personal tastes, but all of it is of above average quality. The weakest pieces are in the images of buildings; most of them lack the attention to detail that goes into the rest of the images.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: A large number of images covering a wide variety of subjects.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The images of cats all had various "magical" effects around them, meaning they'd have to be modified before being useful as images of normal cats.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Grimur F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2005 00:00:00

Very nice stock art. The price is good and the quality as well. I will continue to buy this vendors stock art for my own releases.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Good quality - no restrictions<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2005 00:00:00

There's no denying that V Shane does top notch artwork. Instead of paying $15 - $25 apiece for custom art, I can spend the same amount of money on a small library of high quality images. In truth, I will probably use every single image in this collection in DDG Games products.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Fantastic quality. Leaps and bounds above similarly bundled collections. Rides the perfect line between quality and value.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's a little harder to swallow the purchase size of these collections, but the overall value is truly higher than any collection I've purchased at any price.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2005 00:00:00

What can I say? As a small publisher all of the Arcane Publisher Editions have been a valuable source of clip art, and number 7 is no exception. The stone border, edited slightly for my needs, fit perfectly into our recently released Guardians of the Underhalls and I couldn't be happier.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Demo sheet shows you exactly what is in the pack.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A few too many birds, but I'm sure I'll find a use for them sometime. I also would have liked to see a little more detail in the building clip art.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Ah, the dreaded "too little details in the buildings" lol. Thanks for the comments Eric, I really appreciate it. I am such a slacker when it comes to buildings, I'll have to work on that and make you guys proud! :)
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Neil S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2005 00:00:00

High quality B&W artwork. Simple to understand rights on re-use. A demo that shows you exactly what pictures you'll get. No faff with web interfaces or cut & paste from .pdf . . . V Shane sets a high standard for publisher-friendly art.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Quality and ease-of-use<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: For some reason, Photoshop v7.0 doesn't like the .tif format, and images look corrupted. Other graphics programs read them fine, though . . .<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Neil, glad you like them. Gives me something to think on. Mine read perfect in P7, make sure they are all converted to greyscale and not in bitmap format. Goodluck on the products you'll use these for!
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Anna D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2004 00:00:00

Once again, V. Shane has produced an excellent collection of clipart.

Borders, birds, cats, dragons, buildings, characters, and my favorite, a kobold. Along with a new font, you can't go wrong purchasing APE 7.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The artwork and the assortment of drawings.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing I don't like about it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Publishers Edtn. 7
Publisher: V Shane
by Spencer C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2004 00:00:00

Possibly the best Arcane Publisher's Edition collection to date; V_Shane's expected high quality shines through here, and this collection is quite versatile, with images of a wide variety of people, animals, and places (as you can tell from the demo) - this means odds are there is something in this collection that can be used no matter what kind of product you are creating. The addition of borders and "separator" graphics - as well as a bonus Font only increases the utility of this product.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The variety of human/humanoid figures. Special "hooray" for the Centaur and Kobold!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The building illustrations were a little sparse on detail; a little more detail work on those might have added to them.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Mr. Cooley, thank you all around. I will certainly aspire to create greater detailed arcane structures in the future APE's, especially the monthly subscription of Arcane's Phoenix series monthly.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates