DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fate of Cthulhu
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2020 10:46:16

I play a lot of Mythos game, and Fate of Cthulhu has a very different feel - one that I still love. I think one of the most interesting changes is to remove any sort of sanity mechanic (common in most horror games, but it's a very unnuanced understanding of mental health) and change it to a corruption aspect. The corruption aspect adds so much fun to the game, because while it is obviously something you want to avoid happening to your character, the possibilities for what you can do as a corrupted individual are incredibly tempting.

Time travel is generally not my favorite type of game to play, but I was surprised to see how much I liked the system they built here. Another great idea is that there are multiple places to try to prevent the future from being quite so terrible, and your players can choose to try to fix as many as they want. Don't worry, the nihilistic tone of most mythos games remains - you can't prevent the horrors in the futures, you can only attempt to make the future less bleak.

I highly recommend this game for a new take on Mythos gaming, and especially to anyone who loves Fate. I can definitely see borrowing the idea of corrupted aspects in my future games in other settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Megan! I'm delighted with our time travel system in FOC too. :)
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Publisher: Room 209 Gaming
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2019 11:58:22

I think FOR is a really great generic system. They put a lot of work into making sure that you can make it work in any setting you imagine. Character creation is really easy, with you assigning bonuses to Talk, Fight, and Skill, then deciding on your fighting stance (a great way to designate how your character interacts in combat), persona (how they interact with society, like are they a cop or a snobby rich person?), and boosts, which are their more unique skills. It's really quick, which is something I appreciate when making a character, but really allows you to make your PC unique. Every session I've played has been great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forthright Open Roleplay Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind review! We're happy you're enjoying the game :-) :-)
Creatures of Blood and Flesh
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2018 17:34:05

I really love this inventive setting for Cypher. It includes Foci, Descriptors, and Classes so that your characters can easily fit in with the setting. It also gives you a lot of information on what to pull from the core Cypher book and how it fits in. if you're looking for some good scifi for your Cypher game, this is the perfect place to set your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Blood and Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Tower in the Mist (13th Age Compatible)
Publisher: Dread Unicorn Games, LLC
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2016 15:50:40

I received a review copy of this book, and reviewed it here.

Tower in the Mist is a great adventure for first time GMs to this system. There are a bunch of pregen characters, and a lot of help for the GM on how to alter the adventure depending on the number of players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tower in the Mist (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons Player's Companion (13th Age Compatible)
Publisher: Dread Unicorn Games, LLC
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2016 15:49:34

I received a review copy of this book, and reviewed it here.

Gods and Icons does a great job of expanding the world of 13th Age to help the GM with worldbuilding and the characters with options for the gods they follow. The additional tables to roll on for magic items seem like they could be a godsend. If you're looking to expand your game, this is a great place to start. The Player's Companion includes much of the same information as the main book, except for the magic items and some locations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons Player's Companion (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
Publisher: Dread Unicorn Games, LLC
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2016 15:48:42

I received a review copy of this book, and reviewed it here.

Gods and Icons does a great job of expanding the world of 13th Age to help the GM with worldbuilding and the characters with options for the gods they follow. The additional tables to roll on for magic items seem like they could be a godsend. If you're looking to expand your game, this is a great place to start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Icons (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2016 21:24:25

You can find my complete review at http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=2635

All together it feels like a more grown up and subdued approach to this standard horror convention. And in that, I think it succeeds at being even more effective at portraying the brutal costs your character is paying to stay in the fight. This is Delta Green after all: the results of mission accomplished is that life can continue to suck just like it always has.

And that's why I think I take greater satisfaction from the escapism of a game like this rather than Dungeons and Dragons. I am not special. I am flawed and broken and incomplete: I'm just human. But I'm going to do what it takes to keep my little corner of the world together just that little bit longer. And when my character trades two quarts of blood to keep that gate to the unknowable closed, I'll walk away from the table and get ready to go out tomorrow and feel that grim satisfaction of giving all I've got to make sure the world sucks a little bit less than it could Otherwise, because that's what it means to be Delta Green.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 006 (May 2016)
Publisher: CypherCast Network
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2016 15:33:44

I really love this magazine and there's a ton more to love with this release. You can read a more complete summary of my thoughts here. The Sector Agents and the tools they give you to run it as well as the amazing Vehicle section (which I think should be integrated into the official rules) are amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 006 (May 2016)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extreme Cyphers
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2016 11:26:27

I really enjoyed these super powered cyphers. I think they could add a lot to a session. I wish they had rules for what happened if you had one of these cyphers in your hand when you were over your cypher limit, but other then that I recommend it. I wrote a longer review at the Redacted Files



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Cyphers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sun Below: Sleeping Lady
Publisher: Dread Unicorn Games, LLC
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2015 15:03:09

I really enjoyed reading through this adventure/supplement for Numenera. I was sent a review copy by the creator, and you can read my full review here - http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=1789



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sun Below: Sleeping Lady
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Worlds Numberless and Strange
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2015 17:05:22

This book has an amazing number of new recursions that I can't wait to explore with my group. I'm particularly excited for Microcosmica and Rebel Galaxy. I wrote a full review here: http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=1400



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Worlds Numberless and Strange
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Publisher: CypherCast Network
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2015 10:37:30

I reviewed this product on my website (http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=1192), if you want my thoughts on the different sections within the Fanzine.

I think this is a great product with a lot of useful ideas for me to integrate into new campaigns. I really like the news and updates it includes for MCG products, and I hope they can get some exclusive information as the magazine grows. I am very happy with this purchase, and can't wait for the next issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lovecraftian Shorts
Publisher: Felbrigg Herriot
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2015 18:39:25

We played this game on my podcast (you can hear the episode at http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=455). We had a lot of fun, even though tit was the first time for all of us. It's a solid quick start game that's easy to pick up and flowed really well for us. It's super cheap and well worth the price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lovecraftian Shorts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates