DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
World Builder's Guidebook (2e) $4.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 5
8 3
1 1
1 0
0 0
World Builder\'s Guidebook (2e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2021 03:05:07

This is an ideal tool for worldbuilding at almost any scale. Wanna strarting village, and want to klnow what trades/services are avalibe? It's got you covered. Want a new content, it's got you covered. Want to start a whole new world from scratch? It's got you covered. It is the rare 2e product that has largey stood the test of time.

That said it is a little dated, and a few of it's charts could uses an update. But even with these quibbels, I'd still put this up next to any other world building book you could name.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:39:08

I've been using this since dinosaurs roamed Gaia. It covers advanced topics like geology, tectonics, biomes, city life, pantheons, yadda yadda.
I love this book and have bought it multiple times. It comes with handy sheets to help you develope worlds.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2018 09:52:00

Personally, I love this book. Its got everything you need to build your own setting, and lays it all out for you in a systematic order. It also provides nice hex and grid maps, which i use constantly in my games. And its system agnostic (technically) since you use it before you play the game, it doesn't matter how the game is played. Ita major downside, for me anyways, is that it is very slow to follow this book by the letter. Theres a large amount of focus on things like air and sea currents that are technically required for worldbuilding, but are very specific and niche in practice. It also feels dated, but it is, so thats understandable. Do not expect to use this at the table while playing, but if you want to start a campaign in a new world, or expand out from your starting town, then this book is perfect for you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2017 23:24:07

This is a very nice, very clean complete scan of the 2e AD&D WBG, By Rich Baker. I have physically owned this about 3 times, it is my go to for designing campaigns for any system, except modern, or wild west. THere are some areas in the text that need erratta'd calculating kingdom sizes, but it is overall, one of the best products in gaming ever made for the campaign designing homebrew referee.

You can use this book to start top down, bottom up, or somewhere in the middle, with chapters that focus on each stqage of continent, region, province and city.

I started using this to design my own Birthright world. And these days use it with Pathfinder's Complete Campaign.

This is not a ready made campaign, this is a book of charts, tableas and ideas to completely do it yourself. If you like Drawing campaign worlds and making maps and detailing a setting, especially a fantasy setting, this is the book you need. It also works for doing worlds for games like Traveller, but you'd need to convery over the icosahedral world displays, or just use this system. It does not have charts for generating or detailing races, it assumes you are using AD&D races and monsters.

But this is my go to bible ffor world generation. I often loaned this to other GMS as the printed book, and didn't get it back.

Thanks for putting this up here, all my physical copies the covers have long ago worn off, lost the maps, never returned from bowwed out, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2016 16:16:26

If an individual is interested in world building this is an awesome supplement. There are tables for randomness, or an individual may use the items in the tables as inspiration. The book will take an individual from a macro (top down), or micro (bottom up) approach. Individuals are certainly not limited to these options. There are areas that cover pantheon building, racial dispersion, and terrain assignment. This can be used alone, but will probably really shine if combined with other supplements. I feel the value far exceeds the 5 dollar price, and I am happy with the purchase. There are also downloadable/printable hex templates.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Claude L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2016 14:26:22

Found it very useful... used it to randomly to finish populating my world.... came up with a unique combination that value added to my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2007 12:24:57

A really good OOP book to help a person create a campaign world, especially if you get hung up on things like geography, weather, and things of that nature. It was definitely worth the money to download, though I didn't need all the extra sheets at the end. 1 copy of each sheet would have sufficed and I think one sheet was missing anyway, not that it is important. The main book is what was really useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2007 05:48:01

THis is a good book if you have the time to read it all, and work with the system it gives you. It works well when use with spelljammer books as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2004 00:00:00

I was worried about the quality of the scan after reading the previous comments but was relieved to see that the scan each page is clear, legible, and complete. IT's fine for screen reading. Some pages are crooked, but it's a minor inconvenience. IT's not OCRed, so it's bad for searches and so forth.

The text is blue on a white background. I haven't tried to print it but I imagine there could be problems.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates