DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart
Browse Categories













Back
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure] $0.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
12 5
6 2
4 0
0 1
0 0
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2017 13:19:22

Perhaps not technically a railroad, but not an adventure I'd ever use. Starts out with three "optional" encounters - all fights - and notes on how to add a fourth optional connected enemy (who's a dangerous human intended to be a recurring threat throughout and after this adventure, yet not given any name or hint of personality - just combat stats). Then another fight. Then two more fights, and an optional fight. Then... fights? And more fights!

There's no map, because no map is necessary, because it's a railroad. There's no scope for players to make an informed choice that has an effect on the outcome, except for how they fight the things they're foreordained to fight. During the adventure the players never have a choice, it's just assumed they're always pressing "onward".

There are quantum ogres lurking - if the players lack a certain useful item, for instance, the DM is encouraged to add some to the loot they got earlier, rather than expecting them to problem solve or to not achieve some part of the story that the author has dreamed up. There are things left up to the GM: the players get however much treasure the DM thinks they should but not more than 200gp each. There are unexplained mechanical effects - if the characters hang around too long, they get scared, but there's no game-world justification for why they're getting scared, nothing that would make sense to a character.

The creatures could be useful, and the magic items at least have some individuality, but that's 9 out of 44 very wordy pages.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Amos B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2016 20:44:29

This is a well put together adventure. It's easy to follow and will be challenging for the players. I'm really considering getting the rest of the campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Adam M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:24:37

The is really well written adventure and as explained it is a tough one for the PCs. It hearkens back a little to the Dark Sun universe in my mind as it recommencs PCs create some back up characters in case the ones they have die. I highly recommend it and look forward to see more modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sjoerd A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2016 15:36:52

Good adventure with a nice background. By giving not too many hints to the players, I was able to keep the suspense till the end.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Toby C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 23:11:33

A great adventure, looks good, really interesting ideas with the location. My only disappointment was that there weren't more maps for the later parts of the monsters' complex - creating my own would be okay, but I prefer not to do work if I can!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Dominic W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 14:15:04

Very good product fit well into my campaing and was fun to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Kel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 14:00:53

A fine example of the OGL at work.

Artwork is beautiful, maps are handy and descriptive, and the adventure overall is well-paced. Does a nice job of balancing the "comforting" feel of being "standard D&D" with unique elements that make it different and original.

The only (very mild) criticism I would make is that stats for opponents (whether taken from the MM or later in the adventure) make you flip to another page or pull out another book, but I suppose it helps conserve space.

Good job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gauntlet of Spiragos [free 5E OGL adventure]
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2016 23:24:05

A quicke review. This is a great little starter adventure, and 45 pages (incl covers etc) of colour PDF for free is amazing value! Outside the adventure it has several unique NPCs, and new monsters and magic items. ALthough I have not run this, I will be very soon with my kids (aged 6,7,10,12) - and they'll have to use their imagination to defeat some of the challenges therein.

A great intro to the Scarred Lands!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates