DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:22:33

While basically interesting, I had a hard time getting into this one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ3 The Principalities of Glantri (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ4 The Kingdom of Ierendi (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:21:50

This book was a lot of fun. Loaded with adventure ideas and unique locales, I highly recommend you pick up this book. It's also really funny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ4 The Kingdom of Ierendi (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mini-Dungeon Monthly #1
Publisher: AAW Games
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:17:35

In working my through the scenarios in the book, I'm enjoying myself. The adventures I've read have been 2 pages of text with a map, so they are a breeze to read and understand. I like the format. Some of the scenarios have been too ambitious for the pagecount, though, so I wanted a little more, but I get that they wanted to keep it short. Lots of fun adventures in here, and they are rich with further story and adventure ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon Monthly #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

An Axe to Grind (Level 3 PCs)
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:13:54

As another reviewer noted, this adventure is incredibly easy to follow. In reading it, I didn't have to do a bunch of thumbing around to find this detail or that detail. Everything you need for an encounter is right there with it. Some might call it repetetive, but I found it helpful, and with digital content not having to worry about physical page count resources, there's no down side. Also a fun story with interesting encounters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
An Axe to Grind (Level 3 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure: Unknown Whom
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:11:49

This module has problems. When reading it, the reoccurring pun in the boxed text doesn't work, because the pun only works when reading and not when spoken (sorry to be vague, but I don't want to completely give it away). The encounters aren't paricularly interesting. One part of the book that had me interested in the beginning (a big PLOT TWIST involving one of the characters at the end) did not pay off at all. There was no satisfying or funny explanation of the PLOT TWIST, it just goes off like a dud firework. The ideas foretold of in the beginning of the book need to pay off with interesting content, but that didn't happen here.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure: Unknown Whom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghoul Cove
Publisher: Menagerie Press
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:06:34

This is a nice mini-setting with lots of interesting things for players to explore and interact with. There are as many secrets for players to explore as they are willing to look for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ghoul Cove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

X4 Master of the Desert Nomads (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:03:26

This is a fantastic adventure, hands down. This and the sequel The Temple of Death are awe-inspiring.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X4 Master of the Desert Nomads (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:02:50

I give this adventure 4 stars instead of 5 because it throws a bunch of whacky and dangerous encounters at you and then sends you out of the castle to flesh out a campaign setting. It felt out of place for what I thought was an adventure module to basically show you a bunch of cool stuff and then sending you packing like that. The bones of the campaign setting they ask you to complete are really interesting, but I didn't buy this to do more work on a setting basically unrelated to the castle I showed up to storm.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

X11 Saga of the Shadow Lord (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:00:21

I'm giving this 4 stars for the ideas presented, but not necessarily for the quality of the adventures themselves. What this book really gives you are 2 unrelated adventures (there is a slight hand-wave attempt to tie them together, but they really have nothing to do with each other), and both of those adventures are very interesting. I would have preferred to see more done with either adventure in separate modules, but TSR did what they did. The first adventure is an attempt to stop an invasion before it can do real damage to a typical Good Kingdom, and the basic sketch of the adventure is fine. I wish there had been more meat to it. The second adventure is an interesting "stop the undead lord from returning" scenario, but I would have preferred more teeth to the villain to make him a bigger threat to the Good Kingdom. He feels like a sideshow, or a defeated villain that you kick once he's already down. The villain is an interesting dude, and the backstory nuggets they drop about him are excellent. These two adventures could be used to form an entire campaign or two.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X11 Saga of the Shadow Lord (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WG4 The Forgotten Temple of Tharizdun (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:55:19

An interesting concept of an adventure and a hell of an ending for those foolish enough to plunge too deeply. As with Temple of Elemental Evil, I wish this adventure had more otherworldly horrors and fewer run of the mill goblinoids and giants as the main adversaries. Some of the rooms were very interesting, but there was also a lot of padding in the dungeon. A good read though, and I would definitely not be dumb enough to put a beloved character through this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WG4 The Forgotten Temple of Tharizdun (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

S4: The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:53:19

Quite a slobber-knocker of an adventure! Not for the faint of heart.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
S4: The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

S3 Expedition to the Barrier Peaks (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:52:35

No real story to speak of, just a series of novel encounters for a D&D game. Haven't played it, so maybe the true brilliance of it comes across in play and not in reading.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
S3 Expedition to the Barrier Peaks (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

N4 Treasure Hunt (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:51:21

I love adventures where you have to earn your stripes, and this is a great one. Easy to follow, interesting, and with lots of follow-up adventuring opportunities baked into the cake. For example, I think running this as a prequel to The Secret of Bone Hill would be a good sequence.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N4 Treasure Hunt (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

I10: Ravenloft II: The House on Gryphon Hill (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:49:39

The story and characters in this module are really good. That is all I can say good about this module. The module is seriously harmed by its connection to Count Strahd and Ravenloft and would have been much better served with original characters being introduced. Yes, I can see where having Strahd be situated as he is in this adventure MIGHT make for an interesting meta storyline, but the disconnect with the Strahd people know and the Strahd presented here is jarring and I doubt many people like it. To make a comparison, millions of people LOVE The Rocky Horror Picture Show. An infinitesimal fraction of those people have heard of the "equal" (not sequel or prequel, but the same characters in a completely different, unrelated scenario) Shock Treatment, and very few of them liked it for the same reasons I just outlined for Ravenloft II. People loved RHPS and Ravenloft for what they were, not what re-imagined versions of them might be. Organizationally, this thing is a catastrophic mess. As I was reading it, the incredibly choppy and segmented organization of the module jumped out at me as to why people don't like this module compared to Strahd's first outing. It was an incredibly painful read.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
I10: Ravenloft II: The House on Gryphon Hill (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CM2 Death's Ride (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:43:31

This adventure was an okay read, not outstanding. When you really think about these older modules, they are often just strung together random encounters, and this adventure really read as if it was just that. A few scenes stood out, but they only made up for the unimpressive rest of the module.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CM2 Death's Ride (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates