DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
 
$6.99 $4.19
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
92 10
23 8
3 1
0 0
0 0
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2024 17:44:12

Excellent reprint of the origininal. The text is crisp and clean, very easy to read. The artwork in the interior is good, though possibly more "gray out" then the original. I've seen this in multiple reprints and I'm not sure why the reprints feel more washed out. Still they are easy to see what the text is describing. The inside cover includes the blue ink map same as the original (I love when they do this). It is crystal clear in detail and easily read from a distance. PLEASE USE THE INSIDE COVER TO PRINT THE MAPS LIKE THE ORIGINALS!!

NOTE: I managed to actually peel the cover off the rest of the booklet (slowly and carefully) so that I now have a removable cover just like the original. I was only willing to do this since I knew if a screwed it up I could easily order another one. I did add a strip of white book binding tape along the cover crease as well as over the rest of the booklet spine. The color of the tape matches teh color of the paper so you can hardly tell it's there. Overall I am very happy with the result.

If there were a way to actually print the cover and maps seperately from the rest of the book, I would likely be willing to pay double just to have the look and feel of the original modules with the seperate covers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2024 02:50:29

Pretty much the same as others, the town map issue. All other maps are there.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryder B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2023 14:44:09

A very high-quality print. My only problem with it is that the map of Orlane is divided on the two bookends, meaning that I can't view the whole map at once. Otherwise, it is a very high-quality book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joseph S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2023 07:27:30

I bought this after seeing Collville talk about it and it was really fun. I changed a few things and will change a little more in the future but overall it is a great adventure. I plan to run it again in the future. I recommend taking your time and having a few sidequests to really get the most out of the adventure. See Seth Skorkosky on YT for some other suggested changes. I played it with OSE and it worked well with second level characters. It might require a little more forshadowing of danger etc.. if players are coming from newer editions but it is worth the effort. The missing star is for the NPC that is supposed to pull a lot of weight and IMO needs to be replaced somehow to allow the players to be the drivers of the story.

Regarding quality the pdf is great and I have no issues.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2023 17:42:40

I recieved a print copy of this and am very happy. Even though this is a print of a scan of an original copy of the module from the 80's, it's pretty clean and looks quite nice. Even has the blue ink for the inner cover maps. Glad modules like this are available to print!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jimmy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2023 16:04:38

The classic module is fully intact, and the PDF quality is good. This adventure is ideal for update and incorporation into a 5th edition campaign, specifically for newer play groups. The town and pertinent locations have maps included, and the town's population is well-developed. There are several built in "Macguffins" for the players' assitance, but these assets can be removed to increase the challenge of the adventure. A great classic module, ready to play in any edition with a little work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2021 12:34:48

I'm running a West Marches game and decided to try out this module on the recommendation of Matt Colville, and it was one of the most fun adventures we have had in the whole campaign. Obviously if you're playing 5e like I am, it will require a bit of work to adapt everything on the DM's part (I saw there is a 5e update on DMs Guild, but I didn't use it), but it is so worth it as long as your players are interested in mysteries and investigation. The scans are very good quality by my standards. I do wish it was available for prnt on demand, but I printed out the pdf and bound it myself, so it wasn't a big problem for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 11:30:58

All things considered, the quality of the scan is great, the clarity of the images, are more than I could have hoped for. I’m very pleased with the final product, only wish that this and other classic mods/classic booklets were available in soft/hard cover print, and not just as a PDF.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Max S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2018 10:53:22

Definitely a great classic module. Recommended by Matt Coleville as a starting adventure, and I'm about to start my new Chult campaign with this oldschool vibe. The PDF was great quality and printed very well, as has been my overall experience with DM's Guild products. I recommend grabbing the classic modules today conversaion which has everything you need to run this as a 5th ed adventure and is very clear and easy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aryana D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2017 19:57:28

We are just about finished this adventure and my players and I love it. I looked at the 5e conversion offered here on the DMs guild, some of which I kept but a lot of it I did my own modifications. Explicitus is going to be a recurring villain so I've made her a bit tougher, and we she comes back she will be stronger and have a vendetta. I am looking forward to having her appear again! I've also planted seeds that the cult has spread to Hookhill and possibly Hochoch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 00:35:46

Fantastic module. Ran my guys through it and they loved every minute of it. Of the N-series this has to be my favourite.

Definitely recommended for players who want a little more 'role' in their 'playing.'

Good build up and mystery that leads to the inevitable Dungeon Crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Preston H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:48:47

If it concerns you, I do spoil some of the endgame information of the module, so be warned.

I think this really is one of the best starting adventures for D&D. You get a town, a mystery, some wilderness exploration, and some not-too-big dungeon crawls. This being an older adventure for 1e, it will require some not insignificant fixes and tweaks. You'll need to figure out stats for NPCs like Father Abramo, Misha Devi, the evil monks, and others, and you'll need to make some serious tweaks to either the 1e spirit naga or the 5e spirit naga to make the final fight both fair and challenging. Fortunately, conversions do exist online that you can use to aid this process.

Additionally, the module probably will have more magic items than your players will know what to do with if you leave it unchanged. While I don't think you should excise them all, as I think even low level player characters should have a handful of interesting magic items in order to evoke excitement and awe at the world's magic, I would advise that one exercise a smidgen caution about how many items they leave in.

Finally, I remain wary of any module that recommends that a high level NPC tag along with the party, as Against the Cult of the Reptil God does with Ramne. However, when I ran the module I was able to simply leave Ramne out (well, the party found him dead, killed by the cult), and they were still able to successfully maneuver the lair of the reptile god. The module even has recommendations on what tweaks to make if the party goes without Ramne.

Overall, Against the Cult of the Reptile God is a great starting adventure, and I'd recommend it to any DM interested in taking the time to work with the module to make it function for 5e (unless you're running a game of AD&D, in which case you're good to go and more power to you). Make the module yours, and you and your party will have a good chance of having a great adventure with a little intrigue, a good heart, and plenty of adventure and danger!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 05:58:51

Really enjoyed this old classic. So much so I wrote a conversion guide for 5e - so (utterly shameless plug) - here it is http://www.dmsguild.com/product/210806/Classic-Modules-Today-N1-Against-the-Cult-of-the-Reptile-God-5e



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Keith D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2015 16:24:22

The scan was very good. No problem with the transaction. The module itself was very well written and fun. I went through it with my group in about 3 or 4 gaming sessions. This was a much better way of getting old AD&D modules compared to finding old tattered ones on ebay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2014 14:08:29

One of the best modules for AD&D. It's not just a location with a flimsy justification for the players to explore at their leasure, but actually provides a solid background for why the PCs went there in the first place and what they want to accomplish, as well as providing an explaination why there inhabitants live in the place as they do.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates