DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG $0.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
130 16
29 0
17 1
8 0
2 0
Risus: The Anything RPG
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Piotr K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2023 08:37:40

Fast, simple and fun. These four pages contain a surprisingly deep system. In some expensive, high-quality RPGs there are different systems for hand-to-hand combat, car chases and rap battles but in Risus - it's one mechanic. The presented rules for character advancement would not work for longer campaigns - characters would become too powerful too quickly. If you intend to run a campaign in this... well, I will certainly try. But it WILL require some extra tinkering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by William C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2021 20:11:34

This game has lead to numerous evenings of laughter and comraderie. I highly reccomend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Jacob A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2021 14:03:09

Simple and fun. I was able to improvise a 1-on-1 gritty Scottish-Noir lite-cyberpunk detective mystery for a friend who'd never played a TTRPG before and she got really into it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:39:34

Risus is a nice simple little RPG that I think everyone should probably play at least once. I personally don't feel it fits my playstyle because of how freeform it is. It also tends toward comedy, in my experience. I don't know if I could sustain a long-term campaign Risus, but it's definitely great for a fun oneshot. RPGs are stripped down to their core here, so if you dig that, definitely check this out. Screw playing D&D in the office, play this instead!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Dominic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:08:54

I'm a big fan of setting agnostic systems, and this is quick, easy to use and lots of fun. A few pages to run anything that you please. The east-read font is handy, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Chuk G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2020 12:11:14

Light and flexible and fun. You can use it with many different genres, personally I think it leans a little to the light and humourous, but I ran a medium-serious supers game with it online. The PDF is formatted very nicely and the text is good, plus there are a ton of (mostly also free) resources (but if you like this, you'll love the Risus Companion, a 64 page supplement to this 6 page RPG).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Caleb R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2019 03:05:28

I have probably run as much Risus as the various editions of D&D throughout my 20 odd years of gaming. We had a weekly horror one-shot going forever, and everyone absolutely loved it. This remains to be one of my favorite games of all time. The comedic execution and abstractness of the rules might turn some away, but I have never run a humorous game with the rules, pretty much exclusively horror, and the lack of rules is perfect for storytelling or hot-rodding the living crap out of a game until you essentially just have your own game. You can have yourself a real Frankengame. I have used Risus to emulate (some might say bastardize) countless RPGs that I find intriguing or inspiring but too crunchy for my liking. I have written more words in a review for a free game than the ones I have spent a good amount of money on, but my experience with the game, and my groups, I believe warrants it. Your milage may vary, of course, as the system is of a niche gaming philosophy, and is just A gaming philosophy, not THE gaming philosophy, and I one I happen to return to over and over, especially when I am feeling jaded.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Theodore C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2019 21:39:55

A very simple, yet effective RPG. Good for groups with players new to tabletop games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Andre L. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2019 03:20:07

Risus: The Anything RPG is fun, fast and simple, and yet you can play a lot of things with it ! While written with a lot of humorous wit, it can be used (I have done it) for very engaging roleplay ! It's free, hav à look !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Mattia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 04:09:55

Risus is far more than an emergency tool: it's a flexible, simple and tactical system which manages to strip the RPG genre from all its dangly bits and leave only the innermost mechanical skeleton. Effectively, all other RPGs work on the same basis as Risus: set a difficulty, roll to succeed. What Risus does best is doing so easily, quiclky and with unparalleled elegance. You can hack this system and modify it as you see fit for all occasions and still have tons of fun.

give it a shot, it's worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2017 15:02:32

I found this system to be rudimentary and foundational. This is a breath of fresh air among the complicated systems that seem to be everywhere.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 14:39:26

What are you left with after you strip away all the familar parts of an RPG? Fun.

You run, not walk, through a Risus game. Full speed, non-stop, gaming. Without the need to reference charts and tables, without arguments over nuanced interpretation of rules, without expectation of what a character should be.The only thing left is the game.

Play the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Trevor R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2017 20:11:38

Risus is the game that opened up my eyes to the world of RPGs. Before this I had only experienced systems like D&D and WoD. While I won't say anything against the afforementioned systems, I don't ever plan to go back to them if I can help it. Risus is an all-inclusive system for gamers who like spending more time on the role play, and less time in the number crunch. Play Risus! It's free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 17:36:21

Tight, easy to learn, free and also quite funny. Risus is the perfect platform for some beer and pretzels gaming fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Risus: The Anything RPG
Publisher: Big Dice Games
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2016 07:17:02

Best little rules set there is. Easy to learn, easy to teach, fun to play. Simple enough to remember when drinking. Flexible enough to cover pretty much every genre ( at once ).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates