DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
133 29
21 11
5 0
0 1
1 1
Dungeon Master\'s Guide (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2024 08:38:27

Very happy with the quality, compared to original paper used, found out the POD paper is twice the quality of originals.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2024 13:42:07

An utterly satisfying copy of the 1st Edition AD&D Dungeon Master's Guide. My first edition - one owner from new - was getting too battered and worn to use, and this was the perfect way to retire it with honor. It has been carefully bagged and put on a shelf, while this excellent reprint has gone into service.

I love that they used the older style of non-glossy paper, it just feels so right flipping these pages. Everything is exactly as it should be, and I haven't seen a smudge or a mis-print anywhere in the book that wasn't there originally. I picked up the Players Handbook at the same time, and it is equally excellent.

I must also compliment the customer service...the first copy I ordered arrived with its spine and part of the back cover accidentally glued to the packaging (it looked like the packing box had been closed up badly, and the book had become stuck to the adhesive), resulting in the spine being torn. DriveThruRPG asked only for pictures of the damage, and immediately sent a replacement that arrived in excellent condition. You folks are fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2024 13:59:15

I discovered AD&D in 1999. My first encounter was 1st ed and I was hooked. At one point I owned the core books however due to life, they now are in someone else's hand but today I'm able to revist those days, reprint or not I'm overjoyed. 100 percent amazing thank you drivethurpg for this moment in time. Many more orders to come guaranteed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by RICHARD [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2023 22:18:22

Wish I could rate it - ordered 10 days ago and it’s apparently waiting to be printed and has been for quite some time- not sure what the turnaround time is but I see other reviews that say “received item quickly “ - this is not one of them.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2023 13:40:57

Very happy with the product, arrived quickly and in great shape. Definately going to purchase more. 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshy K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2023 10:09:09

The Dungeon Master's Guide is very cool. I liked the included section in the beginning on dice information, such as the bell-curve example. I haven't seen something like this in other books and it helps add an understanding of how/why the game works. I have learned a lot from this very hefty book. I ordered standard color and it looks great. I don't think premium would be worth it but I am not sure. Cheers (:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2023 17:46:19

Wow! I am honestly surprised at the quality of this Guide (standard color cover with the content B&W). The cover is solid, the binding well done, and the pages have a very nice weight. The printing/font is crisp, clear. I found no issues with the scanning nor did I find any other issue so far. If you need to replace your 1e DMG as I have had to do this will more than do the job. In my experience it is well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2022 13:11:05

This came by Purolator (Canada) earlier than expected! It was wrapped in thick cardboard with overextended corners, I still had some, minor corner bumps and a bit of a bash on the spine on this book. Nothing major. For the minor damage and the fact that the printed pages sit about 1/8" too high throughout the book I'm giving this 4 stars. Aside from the removal of some TSR trademark language etc. this looks identical to the original one I have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by ARTUR F. W. J. - C. 0. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2022 12:41:43

My copy came with a cut in the wilderness terrain random generation table



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2022 00:15:56

I bought this reprint to replace my 40 year old copy so I could put it back due to ages being stained over the years and this one is a very good print. I think people wanting to get into AD&D first edition would be very pleased to start with the three main manuals. These are great reprint copies to learn about 1e and start their own campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2021 19:40:21

the one that started it all!

reading the POD book, you can definitely see Gary Gygax design and his rulings as well. this is definitely advanced but it is pretty good in execution... for the most part. it isn't perfect but it is definitely a great time.

if you still find the DMG confusing, i recommend getting a copy of OSRIC as it helps clarify some rules and such.

overall great POD, wish the paper was a higher quality but it isn't a deal breaker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 10:52:10

Ordering: I purchased the Standard Color 1E Dungeon Masters Guide POD on 02/02/2021 for $21.50 and received it on 03/10/2021. Alright. I know it's COVID-19 times, but from what I understand, go ahead and count on it taking a month to get your order to you with near zero updates even during non COVID-19 times. Last update I got was on 02/03/2021 when the printer received it and then another on 03/06/2021 when it was shipped via USPS. This wasn't an issue for me, but might be for you.

Condition: No damage and the box was well packaged. The binding is solid. The printing is solid. Everything reads great. If you want a playable or reference copy of 1E, I highly recommend this POD product. I went with standard color as opposed to premium color since the book is B/W and I figured it wouldn't matter. It doesn't seem to matter. I'm happy with the standard color but would likely opt into premium color if I had the gold laying around.

Content: This is the same revised "premium" edition 2012 WoTC re-print with the same cringey WoTC revised cover. Since this is a POD book, the books are about 1/3 inch taller than standard D&D books. It looks and reads good, but it also looks and reads like a POD product.

Intended Audience: If you have never played 1E and are looking to get into 1E for cheap, this is for you. If you already have the original and want to have another copy that you don't mind spilling beer or lending to a friend, etc., this is for you. If you are a collector or a nostalgia hound looking for a facsimile copy for your bookshelf, this is a POD of a re-print with a god-awful cover (my opinion!) and I doubt you would be satisfied with this POD simulacrum, but your mileage may vary!

Conclusion: I paid less than $65 bucks for POD reprints of all three core 1E rulebooks and feel very satisfied with my purchase. I think the reprint covers are kinda gaudy and cringey, but that’s my personal preference. They’re uniform and look pretty decent on a bookshelf and the price can’t be beat. That said, I would gladly pay for another POD set with the original covers if it is ever offered. I doubt I am the only one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 14:02:22

The printing and binding are great! Unfortunately, it shipped in an oversized box and banged up the corner of the binding (there was a Rules Cyclopedia in that shipment that suffered a similar fate--ugh!). I don't understand how a book printing company doesn't have appropriately sized boxes to ship books in, but such is the case. The quality of the printing job is top-notch and that makes up for it to some extent, otherwise this would have a 5-star rating.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Curtis F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 13:46:45

A true gem. Most of this is usable cross-edition, and can fill in where thinner DMGs lack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon Master's Guide (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Devon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2020 00:41:33

My God so much nostalgia here. High quality work, its like slipping back in time. I ordered the whole set (Hard copy).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates