DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Players Handbook (1e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
45 18
9 7
2 1
0 1
0 1
Players Handbook (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2021 18:53:47

Just like you remember it from the 1980's. The only difference is that it comes in a later version "commemorative" cover. Apart from that thistook me straight back to being 14 and knowing ALL the rules by heart.

Dangerous, low level (it takes forever to grind your way glorously, letally and with much luck, up to 5th - or 6th levl) but huge emphasis on thinking your way through problems.

Roleplay is much more genuine.

5th ed Player "I want to seduce the guards" Dm "OK - roll a charisma check"

1st ed Player "I want to seduce the guard" Dm "OK bring it" Player "I sashay over like talcum powder is free... [5 more paragraphs of description] .... " Dm "Yeah - that would probably work" or "Naw - guard offers you money to go away"

Much less rolling - much more describing in detail. You have to puzzle out traps, tap the floor for pits, and save your one spell per day for when you really really have no other option.

If you're thinking of going OSR then you can sut out the other interpretations and just buy the product from the 1980's.

My reprints were clear, the quality good and the text and graphics crisp and legible.

Warning - it is a bit more complex, and takes a while to learn the rules. But that's kinda half the fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2021 10:32:24

Ordering: I purchased the Standard Color 1E Players Handbook POD on 02/02/2021 for $21.50 and received it on 03/10/2021. Alright. I know it's COVID-19 times, but from what I understand, go ahead and count on it taking a month to get your order to you with near zero updates even during non COVID-19 times. Last update I got was on 02/03/2021 when the printer received it and then another on 03/06/2021 when it was shipped via USPS. This wasn't an issue for me, but might be for you.

Condition: No damage and the box was well packaged. The binding is solid. The printing is solid. Everything reads great. If you want a playable or reference copy of 1E, I highly recommend this POD product. I went with standard color as opposed to premium color since the book is B/W and I figured it wouldn't matter. It doesn't seem to matter. I'm happy with the standard color but would likely opt into premium color if I had the gold laying around.

Content: This is the same revised "premium" edition 2012 WoTC re-print with the same cringey WoTC revised cover. Since this is a POD book, the books are about 1/3 inch taller than standard D&D books. It looks and reads good, but it also looks and reads like a POD product.

Intended Audience: If you have never played 1E and are looking to get into 1E for cheap, this is for you. If you already have the original and want to have another copy that you don't mind spilling beer or lending to a friend, etc., this is for you. If you are a collector or a nostalgia hound looking for a facsimile copy for your bookshelf, this is a POD of a re-print with a god-awful cover (my opinion!) and I doubt you would be satisfied with this POD simulacrum, but your mileage may vary!

Conclusion: I paid less than $65 bucks for POD reprints of all three core 1E rulebooks and feel very satisfied with my purchase. I think the reprint covers are kinda gaudy and cringey, but that’s my personal preference. They’re uniform and look pretty decent on a bookshelf and the price can’t be beat. That said, I would gladly pay for another POD set with the original covers if it is ever offered. I doubt I am the only one. hint hint



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 15:25:17

The original classic, with a modded cover (the image in the center is the old one but the rest of it is obscured by the faux-leather image, probably to ensure that no one mistakes this for the original).

I give this book 5 stars for the quality of the PDF and the standard print hardcover, both of which I own. The PDF is a very clean scan, near-perfect, and the print version is fantastic. I challenge anyone to peruse the open book (without looking at the cover) and be able to tell it is not a mint version of the original printing. That is how clean and satisfying I find the printed product.

In terms of the content, it is classic, original AD&D, 1st edition. No changes or edits as far as I can tell (though I do not have the original, so I can only base this on memory, not compare side by side). The book is written in the typical authoritarian, somewhat-wordy Gygaxian style (though overall, I find him to be a competent writer). The game is extremely detailed and complex, but then, that is AD&D. I don't think it is worthwhile rating the actual game of AD&D itself since so many editions have come after it, and you ought to know what you are getting with this book.

If you have always wanted to see what AD&D was like, and want a quality copy of the original PHB, this is well worth the cost in my opinion. It's certainly cheaper than trying to be a decent-quality copy of the actual original print run... those can be quite pricey. And if you used to play AD&D but like me, your original books were lost to the eternal fires of Mount Doom, and you would like to have it back, then you can't really go wrong with this copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corvin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2020 00:37:23

The printing was VERY clean and it's just as good if not CLEARER than the original!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 12:07:56

Great purchase! Really takes me back to my AD&D days. I just wish it was the original cover art. But that's only a minor complaint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 15:47:26

So this is referring to the Premium Hardcover version.

This is an almost perfect version of the 2012 Premium Edition, with its strengths and flaws intact. The OCR errors that have been discussed on Dragonsfoot are still here, despite being fixed in the PDF version and possibly in the standard POD. I would assume that if the change was made for the standard but not this likely due to the offset printing preparpation here, but I'd love to hear if the standard doesn't have these errors.

Error's listed at Dragonsfoot: Page 17: Halflings

"High resistance to magic spells, for every 3'/2" should read "for every 3 1/2" "See heat radiation variation at up to 607" should read "See heat radiation variation at up to 60 ft."

Page 17: Half Orcs

In the first paragraph, the bolded text - "ADVANCED DUNGEONS ft DRAGONS" should read "ADVANCED DUNGEONS & DRAGONS" (The "FT" should be an "&")

Pg 26: Illusionist spell progression chart.

There should be no 5th level spell at level 9.

Page 36: Tack and Harness

"Barding, Plate 15 S.P." should read "Barding, Plate 500 G.P."

Page 37: Weight and Damage by Weapon type

"Axe, Battle: Damage to size L: 1-4" should read "Damage to Size L: 1-8"

Page 111: The minor devotion Reduction is listed as "Seduction".

Given I've seen versions with these errors go for quite a bit more in the original 2012 release, this is hardly a problem though it would have been nice to see this corrected. The other complaint common to the 2012 reprint is that the art cleanup work done was overly aggressive and removed some line details, but honestly I'd prefer this to how unpolished the art is in some scanned D&D Classics reprints. This is a pretty great set if you can be mindful of the errata.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 12:52:32

Quality of the book was great (minus a minor dent in the bottom corner due to how it was shipped. Although I am very pleased with the product itself-- the packaging in which it came had something to be desired, but overall the product is great; really brings back memories of youth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2020 10:48:53

I got the POD hardcover and couldn't be happier regarding the quality of the print. As for the book itself, what can I say that hasn't already been said? It's a piece of history that I would say is more than worthy of being played today, but even if it's not your cup of tea, there are still plenty of lessons and inspirations to be taken.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mauro L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2019 19:14:11

Absolutly stunning premium print. Realy I love it. Now I want monster manual in POD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2019 12:52:20

I wouldn't know what was wrong with the book because I never received my copy! Buyer beware, if you buy a physical copy from this website you're likely to never recieve it because they make the order adress wrong. Not only did they get my asdress wrong (I triple checked the state to send it to) THEY SENT IT TO THE WRONG COUNTRY! Save yourself some trouble and just buy the pdf and print your own physical copy. Plus, you'll still have the pdf. 0 stars if I could, try harder dmsguild. Representative form Wizards of the Coast, if you're reading this, this review says nothing about the quality of the reproduction.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2018 14:15:21

I'm blown away by the quality of this pdf. It's not a scan but a perfect digital copy. I've bullied all my group into buying a copy to replace the poor-quality pirated scans we were using (because we weren't aware an official copy was available).

It's sharp as a knife; text is perfect and copy/paste'able. Graphics are lovely. Acknowledge there may be errors, like the battle axe damage, but this is a truly magnificent publication. Great job.

Thanks guys; your work in making these old manuals available in perfect digital format is MUCH appreciated. Every time I open the pdf to check something it makes me appreciative of your efforts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by dan w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 11:50:24

as previously mentioned it contains new errors. My pdf and hardback both havethave the wrong damage for battle axe vs large. should be 1-8 but it says 1-4. My earliest printing from my original books says 1-8. so it'sait's a new error .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 22:41:04

Having gotten this printing back in 2013, I can safely say that this is the same quality seen there in image quality. Sure it could be better, but since the last time this got a pdf version was over a deacde prior, yeah, much improvement in fidelity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 21:53:37

Excellent digital reproduction of a classic AD&D book. All of the complex goodness of the old school days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 19:20:59

The document looks very good. I was very impressed with the small document size. Unfortunately, I can only use this on my computer - it crashes whe I try to load it on my Kindle, and takes 3-4 minutes to open on my Tablet. Both of these devices handle other products, such as the Rules Cyclopedia, perfectly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates