DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results













Back
Players Handbook (1e) $9.99 $5.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
43 16
8 7
2 1
0 1
0 1
Players Handbook (1e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2020 15:25:17

The original classic, with a modded cover (the image in the center is the old one but the rest of it is obscured by the faux-leather image, probably to ensure that no one mistakes this for the original).

I give this book 5 stars for the quality of the PDF and the standard print hardcover, both of which I own. The PDF is a very clean scan, near-perfect, and the print version is fantastic. I challenge anyone to peruse the open book (without looking at the cover) and be able to tell it is not a mint version of the original printing. That is how clean and satisfying I find the printed product.

In terms of the content, it is classic, original AD&D, 1st edition. No changes or edits as far as I can tell (though I do not have the original, so I can only base this on memory, not compare side by side). The book is written in the typical authoritarian, somewhat-wordy Gygaxian style (though overall, I find him to be a competent writer). The game is extremely detailed and complex, but then, that is AD&D. I don't think it is worthwhile rating the actual game of AD&D itself since so many editions have come after it, and you ought to know what you are getting with this book.

If you have always wanted to see what AD&D was like, and want a quality copy of the original PHB, this is well worth the cost in my opinion. It's certainly cheaper than trying to be a decent-quality copy of the actual original print run... those can be quite pricey. And if you used to play AD&D but like me, your original books were lost to the eternal fires of Mount Doom, and you would like to have it back, then you can't really go wrong with this copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corvin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2020 00:37:23

The printing was VERY clean and it's just as good if not CLEARER than the original!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 12:07:56

Great purchase! Really takes me back to my AD&D days. I just wish it was the original cover art. But that's only a minor complaint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 15:47:26

So this is referring to the Premium Hardcover version.

This is an almost perfect version of the 2012 Premium Edition, with its strengths and flaws intact. The OCR errors that have been discussed on Dragonsfoot are still here, despite being fixed in the PDF version and possibly in the standard POD. I would assume that if the change was made for the standard but not this likely due to the offset printing preparpation here, but I'd love to hear if the standard doesn't have these errors.

Error's listed at Dragonsfoot: Page 17: Halflings

"High resistance to magic spells, for every 3'/2" should read "for every 3 1/2" "See heat radiation variation at up to 607" should read "See heat radiation variation at up to 60 ft."

Page 17: Half Orcs

In the first paragraph, the bolded text - "ADVANCED DUNGEONS ft DRAGONS" should read "ADVANCED DUNGEONS & DRAGONS" (The "FT" should be an "&")

Pg 26: Illusionist spell progression chart.

There should be no 5th level spell at level 9.

Page 36: Tack and Harness

"Barding, Plate 15 S.P." should read "Barding, Plate 500 G.P."

Page 37: Weight and Damage by Weapon type

"Axe, Battle: Damage to size L: 1-4" should read "Damage to Size L: 1-8"

Page 111: The minor devotion Reduction is listed as "Seduction".

Given I've seen versions with these errors go for quite a bit more in the original 2012 release, this is hardly a problem though it would have been nice to see this corrected. The other complaint common to the 2012 reprint is that the art cleanup work done was overly aggressive and removed some line details, but honestly I'd prefer this to how unpolished the art is in some scanned D&D Classics reprints. This is a pretty great set if you can be mindful of the errata.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 12:52:32

Quality of the book was great (minus a minor dent in the bottom corner due to how it was shipped. Although I am very pleased with the product itself-- the packaging in which it came had something to be desired, but overall the product is great; really brings back memories of youth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Charles W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2020 10:48:53

I got the POD hardcover and couldn't be happier regarding the quality of the print. As for the book itself, what can I say that hasn't already been said? It's a piece of history that I would say is more than worthy of being played today, but even if it's not your cup of tea, there are still plenty of lessons and inspirations to be taken.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mauro L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2019 19:14:11

Absolutly stunning premium print. Realy I love it. Now I want monster manual in POD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2019 12:52:20

I wouldn't know what was wrong with the book because I never received my copy! Buyer beware, if you buy a physical copy from this website you're likely to never recieve it because they make the order adress wrong. Not only did they get my asdress wrong (I triple checked the state to send it to) THEY SENT IT TO THE WRONG COUNTRY! Save yourself some trouble and just buy the pdf and print your own physical copy. Plus, you'll still have the pdf. 0 stars if I could, try harder dmsguild. Representative form Wizards of the Coast, if you're reading this, this review says nothing about the quality of the reproduction.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2018 14:15:21

I'm blown away by the quality of this pdf. It's not a scan but a perfect digital copy. I've bullied all my group into buying a copy to replace the poor-quality pirated scans we were using (because we weren't aware an official copy was available).

It's sharp as a knife; text is perfect and copy/paste'able. Graphics are lovely. Acknowledge there may be errors, like the battle axe damage, but this is a truly magnificent publication. Great job.

Thanks guys; your work in making these old manuals available in perfect digital format is MUCH appreciated. Every time I open the pdf to check something it makes me appreciative of your efforts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by dan w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 11:50:24

as previously mentioned it contains new errors. My pdf and hardback both havethave the wrong damage for battle axe vs large. should be 1-8 but it says 1-4. My earliest printing from my original books says 1-8. so it'sait's a new error .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 22:41:04

Having gotten this printing back in 2013, I can safely say that this is the same quality seen there in image quality. Sure it could be better, but since the last time this got a pdf version was over a deacde prior, yeah, much improvement in fidelity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 21:53:37

Excellent digital reproduction of a classic AD&D book. All of the complex goodness of the old school days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 19:20:59

The document looks very good. I was very impressed with the small document size. Unfortunately, I can only use this on my computer - it crashes whe I try to load it on my Kindle, and takes 3-4 minutes to open on my Tablet. Both of these devices handle other products, such as the Rules Cyclopedia, perfectly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2015 20:50:03

This is the players guide for my second favorite edition of D&D. In my opinion second edition is the only one superior to this, although 5th is pretty good. The quality of the pdf is extremely good and it is well bookmarked, buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2015 18:41:45

On the plus side, it's a generally nice scan, certainly better than the version I bought several years ago. On the downside, it not only contains the existing errata, but new ones as well, as a result of some OCR mishaps. So, while it's not a bad purchase, I was disappointed.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates