DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
Publisher: Usherwood Publishing
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2019 14:52:05

This a review of a printed copy of the book. The content is GREAT. Repeat: the CONTENT of the book is great.

However, the execution of the printing is horrible. ALL of the pages are crooked, and many of the pages have the prining running into the spine, render the beginning of countless lines unreadable. Do they not do any quality checking at the printer drivethru uses?

Again no problem with the content: the authors and editors have done an incredible job, but the physical printed book is horrible.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slumbering Ursine Dunes
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2016 09:59:46

well-implemented point-crawl, perhaps the iconic example of that style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slumbering Ursine Dunes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2015 07:34:16

This (very short) preliminary review covers the re-release of the PHB, from July 6, 2015.

Overall, this is much better in many ways than the original 2007 release. While I'd personally prefer the full original cover, I appreciate the new text layout. Cutting and pasting works well from the PDF to MS Word 2013, which will help when I want to create spell books for characters. The only downside is the same as the physical release of the premium hardback: some of the scans are a bit dodgy/pixelated, notably the "Magic Mouth" full page art. However, this is a minor issue. One bonus: I didn't have to re-purchase this, as I had previously done so in 2007.

Thank you WotC and OBS, for making the best version of D&D available again. I hope the the MM, DMG, and UA follow, along with the original rules, supplements, and chainmail are to follow!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2015 10:08:50

This is more of a rating of the scan and the support process, rather than the adventure, which others have covered here and elsewhere.

This adventure was put up for sale Nov 1, 2013. It had problems with cropped text from the beginning. Despite two updates (that I can recall), cropped text still exists in the version downloadable today.

I've contacted dtrgp/dndclassics/rpgnow about it at least twice, and contacted WotC once, as they are apparently who handles the scanning and updating/errata, etc... The issue still remains.

We're coming up on nearly 18 months since this was released, and this issue hasn't been resolved. I'm not sure who takes the blame for that, but I don't really think this is acceptable. I also don't think this is the image drivethrustuff and wotc want to put forth. So come on guys, get this, and the other adventures in a similar state, fixed. Pretty please.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
U1 The Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Words of Spells
Publisher: Direbane Publishing
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2014 07:43:34

This is a pretty solid presentation of the SRD spells in an old-school format.

However, a quick perusal show some of the spells have incomplete information. For example, most spell list the following parameters: Name, School, Level, Components, Casting Time, Range, Effect, Duration, Saving Throw, and Spell Resistance.

Several spells do not have this complete info. For example, "Clenched Fist" only lists Name, School, Level, and Components.

There is some (to my eyes) oddball things from and old-school "Advanced" perspective. For example, the "Spell Resistance" parameter, which is a decidedly SRD expression,which is the sort of thing this book purports to excise. This is not handled per-spell in the same manner in old-school games, but in a more general fashion. Also, some spells have components which are outside of the "Advanced" V/S/M tradition, such "F/DF". I am not sure, but I'm guessing that the Spell Resistance and different component types are tied into the "S.R.D. of the All Mind" rules.

My only other quibble is the lack of bookmarks. None are provided, and the PDF is password protected, so we can't create our own.

Having said that, what I got for my $3 was a handy reference for SRD spells in an "Advanced" old-school format. You can cut/paste out the PDF, which is handy for creating spellbooks for NPCs, etc... I'd say it a good value for the price, and only the minor quibbles above keep it from being a great value. Nothing would keep someone from using this with OSRIC, for example.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Words of Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your review, Rich. My first one! Yes, these compilations of rules are essentially D20 SRD (i.e. version 3.5) minus skills. Skills are replaced with 1st edition-based tables either from OSCRIC (like the old thief abilities) or home-brew. My alternate rules are all in \"Knights of the All Mind\" which you can integrate into any D20 rules set. There are many spell effects that are reflected in D20 by skill adjustments, so I had to run through the SRD spells and change these effects to a 1st edition equivalent. This could be done on the fly if you had a set of D20 books, but here I evaluated and adjusted accordingly ahead of time. About \"Clenched Fist,\" the page limit to print old-school \"digest-sized\" rulebooks is generally 100 pages. I got \"Words of Spells\" down to 120 pages by sort of combining related spell references. The information missing from \"Clenched Fist\" is in \"Interposing Hand,\" which \"Clenched Fist\" refers back to. Complicated & clumsy, yes. Most of these type of related spells are grouped together (e.g. \"Teleport,\" \"Teleport Object,\" & \"Teleport, Greater\"), but for \"Clenched Fist\" the related spell is 40 pages away. Ugh! I can see where bookmarks would be helpful. I am using Open Office to create the source material and then exporting to PDF, so I\'ll figure out how to use the bookmark feature in Open Office and see if bookmarks get retained after export to PDF. If these books are going to be used electronically I may as well join the 21st century. :~) Well, thank you very much for picking up \"Words of Spells\" and taking time to review it.
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2013 09:05:08

The short summary: this book is great if you like tentacles, chitonous claws/exoskeletons, and exposed human female breasts, doubly so if you like two or more to be present on the same creature. Otherwise, not so much.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blade of the Iron Throne B&W Edition
Publisher: Iron Throne Publishing
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2013 11:12:43

system looks okay, but this PDF has no art outside of the greyscale cover.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blade of the Iron Throne B&W Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Rich, I do apologize as the fact that there is no art in this version was not communicated before hand. I have now corrected this. A full art version will be coming out soon and I will comp you a copy if you like, just PM me. Regards, Phil Jones
Wyrms& Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2006 00:00:00

Much better with the gridlines added! Thank you very much!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Now it's complete!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Only major issue resolved by the update w/ gridlines.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrms& Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Conan Games Master's Screen
Publisher: Mongoose
by Richard F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2005 22:04:35

And a big thumbs up for getting this updated. It's much, much better now.

The alignment is a bit off on the segmentation of the individual sheets, but that doesn't effect the fucntionality.

Thanks for updating this. Get the new map pasted into shadizar, and I'll be a happy camper.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Conan Games Master's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates