DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Players Handbook (1e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 11
4 5
2 1
0 1
0 0
Players Handbook (1e)
Click to view
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2018 14:15:21

I'm blown away by the quality of this pdf. It's not a scan but a perfect digital copy. I've bullied all my group into buying a copy to replace the poor-quality pirated scans we were using (because we weren't aware an official copy was available).

It's sharp as a knife; text is perfect and copy/paste'able. Graphics are lovely. Acknowledge there may be errors, like the battle axe damage, but this is a truly magnificent publication. Great job.

Thanks guys; your work in making these old manuals available in perfect digital format is MUCH appreciated. Every time I open the pdf to check something it makes me appreciative of your efforts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by dan w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 11:50:24

as previously mentioned it contains new errors. My pdf and hardback both havethave the wrong damage for battle axe vs large. should be 1-8 but it says 1-4. My earliest printing from my original books says 1-8. so it'sait's a new error .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 22:41:04

Having gotten this printing back in 2013, I can safely say that this is the same quality seen there in image quality. Sure it could be better, but since the last time this got a pdf version was over a deacde prior, yeah, much improvement in fidelity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2017 21:53:37

Excellent digital reproduction of a classic AD&D book. All of the complex goodness of the old school days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 19:20:59

The document looks very good. I was very impressed with the small document size. Unfortunately, I can only use this on my computer - it crashes whe I try to load it on my Kindle, and takes 3-4 minutes to open on my Tablet. Both of these devices handle other products, such as the Rules Cyclopedia, perfectly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2015 20:50:03

This is the players guide for my second favorite edition of D&D. In my opinion second edition is the only one superior to this, although 5th is pretty good. The quality of the pdf is extremely good and it is well bookmarked, buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2015 18:41:45

On the plus side, it's a generally nice scan, certainly better than the version I bought several years ago. On the downside, it not only contains the existing errata, but new ones as well, as a result of some OCR mishaps. So, while it's not a bad purchase, I was disappointed.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2015 07:34:16

This (very short) preliminary review covers the re-release of the PHB, from July 6, 2015.

Overall, this is much better in many ways than the original 2007 release. While I'd personally prefer the full original cover, I appreciate the new text layout. Cutting and pasting works well from the PDF to MS Word 2013, which will help when I want to create spell books for characters. The only downside is the same as the physical release of the premium hardback: some of the scans are a bit dodgy/pixelated, notably the "Magic Mouth" full page art. However, this is a minor issue. One bonus: I didn't have to re-purchase this, as I had previously done so in 2007.

Thank you WotC and OBS, for making the best version of D&D available again. I hope the the MM, DMG, and UA follow, along with the original rules, supplements, and chainmail are to follow!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2007 14:35:48

This (along with the DMG and MM) are the Three Pillars of classic, Olde School Dungeons and Dragons back in its exciting heyday. The scans are decent and readable, though not stellar. If you've tired of the rules of the the Basic game, then get this to see what role-playing can be in high gear! Put on some bell-bottom jeans, grow your mutton-chops, crank up the late 70's/early 80's FM rock, and experience true adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Siket N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2007 00:00:00

Basically rather a historical account than an up-to-date product, this book is a must for all who seek the roots of the world's best RPG ever. This tome contains all the original information that can be acquainted with in the Golden Series of SSI, like Pool of Radiance, Death Knights of Krynn, etc. It is surprising that the so called 3.5 version contains lots of information that has been seemingly forgotten. I would be preferable for all true DnD players to read these precious pages. Enjoy!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It's exactly what I was looking for. The first release. Maybe this is the only place to find, since we don't have that many books about this topic in Hungary, where ADnD debuted with its 2nd edition immediately.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Sometimes the script can't be read properly, especially when it's written in italics. The structure of the book is quite confusing, the combat system is not explained at all, meanwhile the psionics are being detailed too seriously.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Raistlin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2006 00:00:00

The First Edition of Advanced Dungeons & Dragons was flawed in many ways -- overcomplex, inflexible, too focused on minutiae and too "boardgamey" -- but it was many people's first gaming experience. This makes it more than a simple historical curiosity; it's an artifact.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It's a faithful scan that offers half of everything you need to begin playing Dungeons and Dragons (you will also need the Dungeon Master's Guide or a Gamemaster Screen for some vital charts and tables, and a Monster Manual is highly recommended).<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There were no real "bells and whistles" -- it would have been nice to have a choice of covers, for example.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2006 00:00:00

The 1st edition Player's Handbook is exactly what it says, and almost everyone who'd be interested in getting this already knows what's in it. The scan is quite decent, though not fantastic and the book that got scanned wasn't in perfect shape. Nevertheless, all the material seems to be there, and it's readable.

It's good to get if you want to play a 1st edition D&D game, get some material in it that didn't make later versions, or simply as a "historical document" -- you can see a lot of how D&D has evolved (and not evolved!) from this first edition.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Good scan of a fair quality book.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It would be nice if the later print edition with a different cover (Magic-user casting over a creature) were also available -- I'd have preferred that one.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by jamie g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2005 00:00:00

first edition is the best version of the game. I don't care what anybody says!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It's all good<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's all good<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Si M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2005 00:00:00

What can you say, this is still by far the best version of AD&D your going to get. Sure its not perfect but its extremely easy to work with & teach others to play. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Simple & easy to use & teach ne players<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: the artwork is very dated, but you can't have everything<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Players Handbook (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Darryl P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2004 00:00:00

This is a very readable copy of the Player's Handbook. I'm surprised at the whiteness of the pages, to be honest. Adobe's OCR is able to pick up a vast majority of the text with little or no garbling, which is a bonus for people like me who break things down into text documents to reduce the amount of ink required to print out a copy.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates