DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
 
$15.00
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Click to view
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Hugo H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 18:10:08

I had the opportunity of playing it this year at Gen Con and it is a GREAT GAME. I am used to more detailed, super-structured RPGs, where you have rules for everything, and most of your time is spent either tweaking your character or looking for the appropriate rule in one of the books. In Demon Hunter, there is a stronger emphasis in the Role-Playing aspect of the game, rather than in getting the right rule for the right circumstance. An added bonus to the system is the cool background story that comes along with it. The setting is a cool mixture between Buffy, Men In Black, Supernatural and the X Files (Urban Horror) but with a touch of humor.

If you are looking for system that deviates from the more "mainstream" systems, I strongly recommend you to check this system out. You will be pleasantly surprised by it!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Mike G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 13:42:58

The night is dark and full of terrors, as somebody somewhere once said. What they don't tell you is that those terrors are constantly complaining about the state of things today, about how, back in their day, cryptobibliographers didn't think twice about reading the latin phrases out loud and how teenagers these days just don't die like they used to.

I think that's a pretty good summary of the tone presented here in Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors. Self-aware and yet no-less-deadly evil haunts the world and it is up to your band of misfit hunters to push back the dimness. This book provides everything you need to accomplish that goal! Using a system that reminds me of a fusion of Fate & Cortex, DH:ACoT combines rolling piles of dice from different traits with the story driven tagging-of-aspects that makes for an exelent blend of crunchy mechanics and narrative-driven gameplay. Though I think the truly fun comes into play once you get a handle on the Demon Dice trade; in which the players may make use of a pile of d6s for any of their rolls but those die immediatly go to the DM (Demon Master) for use in enemy moves or rolling on badness charts! It makes for a constant, at times deadly, temptation that adds a delishious bartering between players and DM.

Demon Hunters doesn't rely on any traditional class or job system, eshewing even the broad roles of the Powered by the Apocolypse games, allowing for character creation that seems simplistic on the surface but gains depth as you add aspects to flavor your hunters. Players in my Demon Hunters game have been anything from a time-traveling cowboy from the future, a stunt-driver fueled by a dark god and a YMCA Karate instructer who got in over their head! This game does a great job of encouraging creativity and just following your insane, monster-killing heart!

Can't reccomend it enough for newbies to the TTRPG scene or long-time veterans looking to change up their game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Grey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2016 00:53:02

Awesome universe in which the mixture of horror and hilarity is perfect. This updated new edition gives tons of helpful advice for generating scenarios with ease and telling a fantastic story. The 5 Minutes to Mayhem and 60 Minutes to Mayhem sections are great for generating quick Demon Hunter scenarios, or easily tweaked to be used for any system and setting to tell a great story - whether for a role playing game, or just writing fiction!

The tone of the writing in the rule book is perfect for getting you in the right mood to run or play an over-the-top comedic action adventure and makes reading the book cover to cover a joy rather than a chore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2016 11:03:58

Combines some of the best ideas from Fate and Cortex+ into a neat new system. With minor tweating this coudl be used of a wide variety of games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Randy O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 09:47:31

Demon Hunters is a great read on many levels. First, and the most obvious, is the friendly, tongue-in-cheek writing style. It feels like I'm sitting at the table with the author(s) and we're chatting about the game. It sets the tone for the game and explains things wonderfully.

The book is organized incredibly well. The first couple of chapters give an overview of the campaign world and rules without going too deep into things, leaving that up to the chapters dedicated to those things.

Overall this is the best RPG that I've read since Dresden Files.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Martin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2016 05:49:26

Not sure how to say. It's awesome. Really.

Not sure if I ever will run any session of it, I'm not especially into "humour games", but it is great as a book for reading, a source of well-thought mechanics and much more. I couldn't stop laughing during reading of that.

Setting: I read original Demon Hunters book previously and despite it was a "work of humour" too, I felt it much more seriously written. Also, Cortex classic mechanics was... well, classic. And not the best one. This one is more witty, full of fanservice and geeky humor (not that about Spock and Kirk one though), and it is the most important added value, because more serious urban fantasy settings are available in hordes, not to mention systems about secret organization created to save the world (from really gritty Esoterrorists to comparably ironic Laundry).

Current mechanics: is somewhere between Fate Core, Fate Accelerated and Cortex Plus Adventure, so it is lightweight, fun to use and unfortunately not for everyone (C+ has somewhat lower entry treshold because in most implementations "aspects" (a.k.a. distinctions) are pre-generated there). So people who don't like Fate-powered and Fate-inspired games won't find this one good too.

So, good piece of RPG, but probably not for everyone.

Mandatory conflict of interests note: Author of this post is a Kickstarter supporter of this game. No other affiliations with Dead Gentelmen Productions, LLc detected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Karsten F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2016 12:46:55

The book contains everything you need to play, from rules for Magic & Mad Science to charts full of random doom and mayhem. I like RPGs that I can play without buying half a library first. The book is fun to read, especially the chapter concerning NPC is full of inspiring or simply hilarious ideas.

The rule system is a mixture of Cortex and Fate. It is easy to learn and fast to play. The Fate elements like aspects and stunts make it easy to emphasize creative and unconventional game play. A very good choice for a setting like Demon Hunters. My personel highlight are the Demon Dice. The players can use this pool of dice to increase their chances of success, but every die has to be handed over to the GM who can use them to increase the thread level of his evil doers. This is a great way to raise the stakes in a game session.

Conclusion: $ 15.00 for hours of fun. Deal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Publisher: Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2016 17:47:18

A worthy successor to the original game. Core system is straightforward enough to learn, making good use of elements of the fate system while adding enough of their own touches to stay interesting. Background is well explained and contains plenty of useful ideas. The Dead Gentlemen humour makes its welcome return to make the 'verse easier to get into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates