DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Book of Templates $3.00 $1.50
Average Rating:3.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
0 3
2 4
0 2
0 0
Book of Templates
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/26/2009 16:44:44

This book contains around thirty templates for use in d20 fantasy games. Templates are applied to monsters in order to give them particular abilities, or boost or lower them in power.

Some of the templates seem awfully specific, as if targeted directly at someone's home campaign and not much use outside. Others are off in their calculation of how much the template affects the Challenge Rating of the monster. However, there are many that are very creative and some that are downright fun. Mixing and matching templates and monsters will give a GM lots of cool things to do when preparing and running monsters.

There are no particular special features for the PDF, but the length is such that this is not an issue.

A solid outing and the price is right.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Davin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2008 19:27:39

All of the templates are interesting and inovative. The biggest flaw is that the CR adjustment on some of them are miscalculated.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Erica B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2006 00:00:00

I found this book to be incredibly useful. I enjoyed the additional flavor options it provided me with. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The format was useful, and I like the inclusion of samples with each template.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2004 00:00:00

Interesting PDF, but not as useful as I'd anticipated. That may be more because of me than the product itself. Some of the templates, such as the plant creature one, can be used to create playable, memorable alternatives to standard creatures. Overall, a good value.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Vernon A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2003 00:00:00

This book is a step in the right direction. But the execution is sorely lacking. Many of these tomplates are overpowered. The Dreadnaught certainly fits into this catergory. With more examination I might find something I like. I wasn't impressed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by aaaa a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2003 00:00:00

Templates are not a difficult part of the d20 System to create. The value of this product is that here are a small book's worth of templates already worked out.

Some of the templates have "someone else's campaign" written all over them, and some others are 2e conversions or inspired by defunct TSR campaigns (which isn't a bad thing).

I can see why some buyers would be negative about the book, since once one reads through the templates one is left with the slight feeling that this is something one could do for oneself.

However, the book and its contents are high quality and inspiring stuff. I know players in our group who will use this book for pets, monster cohorts and even monster player characters. That alone will make this book worth a vast multiple of its sale price.

A solid product, at the right price.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2003 00:00:00

This was a nice idea, and I certainly got a few ideas from it as well. But some of the templates I felt were certainly unbalanced and some just didn't suit my needs. Some were quite neat like the Quickling one and the plant one gave me some ideas for some nasty plant ideas I had. But overall it was just ok, I honestly wouldn't even call it good, just ok. It did give me some ideas though, but nothing to write home about.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2003 00:00:00

A good collection of 30 templates that helps provide an alternative to standard d20 creatures while allowing a themed link between them. Each template is well detailed and comes with a sample creature already converted. The Dreadnaught template came in very handy when I was looking to create a minotaur champion for a recent campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Stephanie S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2003 00:00:00

Lots of great templates. I have used almost all of them but there are so many.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Kevin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2003 00:00:00

Any book that allows me to change a monster into something that the Players haven't got much experience with will always get used in my games. I have a group of Players that includes some who have been gaming for ten years or more, thay have a lot of accumulated knowledge about the monstrous manual entries so they have an almost instinctual ability to know a creatures weaknesses. This book changed that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2003 00:00:00

The ideas in here are very interesting, but often so off the wall as to be essentially useful. Great reading for ideas, but hard to mine for useful rules.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Devon A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2003 00:00:00

A wonderful resource -- several of the templates are a bit complicated for regular use, but this book has been a great inspiration nevertheless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Roy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2002 00:00:00

30 templates! Now thats what I call a useful suppliment. An excellent product. If you have the Monster Manual alone (about 500 creatures), this product turns that number into 15,000 different creatures to scare and amaze your players with. One of the best products yet, almost up there with Malhavoc :P

A must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates