DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Exalted 3rd Edition $24.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
124 35
21 11
11 3
14 7
11 1
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jens T. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2020 04:58:41

Let me start by saying I love the Exalted setting, and the setting work done in this version is outstanding. However, after having played two campaigns as the storyteller I've finally given up on third edition. The system is overwhelming. Not only does it have a very steep learning curve, but the sheer number of charm (comparable to spells or feats from other systems) and their complexity forced the storyteller into a constant state of information overload. They introduced a "quick" npc system, but the system failed to streamline npc charms in any useful way.

Secondly, the system introduced the concept of fluid initiative. Initiative not only serves to determine your turn order, but it is also both a sort of hit point and your damage dice pool... and it is very swingy. It is extremely hard to turn the tables on someone, once you are behind. Further more action economy hits very hard in this edition. While "realistic" the core mechanics favor superiors numbers. This means that in order to challenge five players you need at least five NPCs of roughly the same power-level. Here the complexity of the game strikes again for running five NPCs of such power-level is extremely time-consuming. A such a battle can easily take around 5-10 hours in real time...

Thirdly, the quality of the charms vary wildly. Some of them seem very polished and integrate into the base system in fun ways, a lot of them are simply dice adders adding little to the actual story, and some seems to be wierdly out of sync with the base game. An example of the latter is the number of charms using what the game calls "defining intimacies". Defining intimacies are core values that your character would be willing to kill or die for, and realisticly a character should rarely have more than one or two of those. However, some charms seem to assume that you have a handful or more (integrity charm tree I'm looking at you), while other are capable of giving people a defining intimacy towards you with no resisted roll... We had one player in the group giving everyone else a defining intimacy of lust towards his character. That turned out quite anticlimatic because people had a hard time actually playing out the intimacy on a defining level. The charm in question would have been much more reasonable if it only gave a major intimacy. Also... the Craft rules... just don't go there. It is a dark place.

Speaking for intimacies they are at their core a very good idea, but the whole social conflict system can feel a bit artificial. Sure the gm can assign bonus and penalty dice based on the roleplaying performance (stunts) and the way PCs frame their requests, but for solars focused on social conflict it rarely matters. The excellency alone can give you such a big load of dice, that you can pretty much start building any intimacy you want in another character... it your suggestion isn't vetoed with a willpower point. So depending on your perspective it is either overpowered or completely useless.

In the end I would like to offer a piece of advice. If you want to play Exalted 3rd Edition I really recommend a small group. 1 to 3 players would probably work fine. Smaller numbers speed up combat, and make it way easier on the storyteller to construct challenging and credible encounters. Personally I will probably be using the Fate Core system the next time I want to run something in the Exalted universe... alternatively I will be waiting for the Exalted Essence edition, which Onyx Path has announce. It might be the Exalted Light that I've been wanting all along.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2019 15:32:30

Disappointing--Needed an aggressive editor from Day 1.

As a kickstarter backer, I was excited to get my hands on the manuscript. Exalted 2e was fun, but had some definite problems. However, as I read through the almost-finished product, my smile fell off. This was not the product I was hoping for.

As far as I can tell, Exalted 3e did not have an Editor. Sure, they probably had an "editor" that looked for typos and technical errors, but that is not what I meant---seemingly at no point during the development process did anyone go "Hang on, does this make sense to add in? Is there a different, more streamlined way we could do this?" Everything and the kitchin sink has been tossed in, making this a bloated, overly-complicated mess. Just look at the page count alone--the physical book could kill someone if it fell on them.

Charms, the core powers of a character, are completely all over the place. Some are so insanely specific that they will only be used once, and simply the difference in charm count from Ability to Ability (a character's specialization) is staggering. I have my high doubts that characters with the same amount of xp would be balanced at all with each other.

Martial Arts has perhaps one of the bizzarest learning path I have ever seen. Considering the setting, I would expect Martial Arts to be a core feature of the book and character progression. Instead, it feels like it has been kludged in at the last moment. Unlike every other ability, Martial Arts first requires spending experience in the seperate Brawl Ability and then purchasing a Merit in order to even start learning a Martial Art. I really want to hammer in the point of purchasing a Merit, and how it makes absolutely no sense. Merits, in a mechanical sense, are how you "Fine Tune" a character. They are ways to give flavorful, and sometimes very useful, bonuses to certain circumstances. And one of the core mechanics is locked behind one of the most expensive Merits, for no real good reason! "You need a teacher" well sure, but wouldn't I also need a teacher for things like Archery? Why does that get a mechanical waiver?

And now we get to one of the most devisive and talked-about portions of Exalted 3e: Craft. Hoooooo boy. Hoooo boy I hate Craft. Some people love it, but I am not one of them. Craft....Craft take five pages to explain? Let me remind you that Craft, one ability out of 25 (or 26, if you count MA), is the only ability to interact with this subsystem. It also adds 3 additional resources to keep track of! For 1/25th of the game, it nearly doubles the amount of "stuff" you have to keep track of!

Now, not only is Craft incredibly just.. bloated compared to the other abilities, it is completely different. The powers of other abilities essentially say "Here's a cool thing you can do with our system, and how it interacts nicely!" Craft's powers are "Alter this and that mechanic. And if you spend enough xp, your reward is that you can (essentially) ignore this part of the subsystem. Oh glory be, you can tell how great a subsystem is in that the more and more powerful you get, you are rewarded with the ability to not use the subsystem.

And the entire kicker? There's a perfectly good crafting system already in the book: Sorcerous Workings! Yes! Sorcery has a better and more complexity-appropriate crafting system than Craft.

The entire book is just....needlessly complicated. Every single mechanic, every single little thing feels like it went in, was mechanically polished to work, but at no point did anyone ask "Is this a good idea to put in at all?"

It's just a mess. Sure, the mechanics might technically work (at least at the start of the edition's lifespan), but they're still an absolute mess, like a jumble of wires and tubes sticking out in a factory that all technically still produces things.

Exalted 2e has its definitive problems. But at least I want to play in that system--as broken as it is. I have no desire to ever pick this book off the virtual bookshelf and actually use it.

Which is a shame, because it does have some good ideas.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Noelle H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 21:42:23

Welcome to Creation! Everyone is a bad guy, no one's motives are pure, and readers want everything from a single book!

Let me be clear--Exalted is a beast of a system. The book clocks in at just shy of 700 pages, and after my third full read of the tome I still wasn't sure I had a handle on all of it. The second edition had literally thousands of pages of different exalt types, lore, fluff, mass combat, naval combat, setting--you name it. This one massive book does not endeavor to do it all, because that would be foolish, but it does endeavor to feel like a full game and full world in only one book.

And it does that quite successfully. There's weeks and months and maybe years worth of story in just this book alone if that's your cup of tea. If not, they're always working on adding more stories and characters to the world.

What's new? Combat rid itself of the very complicated tick system. It now differentiates between attacks trying to get advantage (Withering) and attacks trying to kill your opponent (Decisive). The fluff of this can be a little confusing, but it also flows in really interesting ways once you get accustomed to it. Crafting nerfed pretty heavily, encouraging players to make regular people things before trying to make world-shaping artifacts. Sorcery has been streamlined in ways that make it easier to access, Martial Arts have been a little more differentiated (though of course the Sidereal ones don't exist yet). And, of course, the end of perfect parries and perfect dodges, which means combat has become more than "who runs out of motes first".

Overall, I'm in love. It's everything I wanted in an Exalted system, cleaned up and consumable in a way that second edition never was. The rules are more codified, the impacts of the magic more easily measured, social combat given better rules, mass combat tidied.

The downside? This is pretty firmly not a system for brand new gamers. Guys, it's huge. It's overwhelming. And if you're not accustomed to flavor surrounding every mechanic and learning to read past it, this book could be complete gibberish. But for old hands, or people interested in trying a more immersive world, I cannot reccommend Exalted more highly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ronald G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2019 23:08:17

Anyone who has played or owned the first two editions will feel this is both familiar and yet very different. I like the newest edition as I believe it surpasses the previous two by a large margin (I hated the previous 2). However, there is a lot more crunch and the rules take a lot of rereading to understand.

First his book is a hefty tome. 600 pages and I do not know how durable my print on demand copy is. If you purchase spend the 5 dollars to get an accompanying pdf copy. 240 pages are simply charms, spells and martial arts. I would like to say it should have been 2 or 3 books rather than 1. A players handbook and a GMs guide would have worked better I believe.

Character creation is straight forward if you ignore the charms and intimacies. Make sure you have a character concept first and then build accordingly else you will get lost with the sheer selection of merits, charms, etc. Expect it to take a few hours to build with charms, etc. Mortals might take 15-30 minutes. Merits are a combination of backgrounds and merits from the previous editions.

Combat has changed. Decisive and withering attacks allow epic monsters to feel epic. No longer are they purely health levels, but they feel like they are nigh invulnerable until you wear them down to the point you can do a critical strike. Monsters like the tyrant lizard feel like a real threat. This does mean a bit more bookkeeping on that end, yet the rules say to use mass combat (groups) if players face a group of bandits (size 1 or 2). It simplifies and allows low level threats to gang up for a larger threat without feeling like you are rolling dice forever (no dnd 50 rolls for 50 kobolds to attack). I like it even though it felt like an ice cold shower when you first see it. Range bands, initiative damage, hardness, soak, etc. Lot more complicated.

Social now requires ties or principles to motivate people. It allows for progression of your NPCs feelings and encourages your PCs to have ties as well. Again more work for the GM and it is not a simple roll and move on. Forces players to interact and find emotional weaknesses to exploit.

Artifacts feel like artifacts with their own personalities and powers. It is no longer a 3 dot artifact. Rather it is a artifact with its own history, focus and powers. They grow with the character (or rather the characters grows into the artifact). Now artifacts have their own charms players can learn.

Crafting is a confusing system that takes a lot of rereading and book keeping. Major, superior and legendary crafts. Slots, three different types of crafting experience, etc. I would like to say it is a mess, but unless your players are crafting items it is not too bad. If they are crafting artifacts then it gets messy. Though they can pop out 2 or 3 dot artifacts fairly quickly and 5 dot artifacts every decade or so.

Charms. Buy the charm cards, or pdf of the book, or go to madletters website and download his charm trees. The charm trees are not provided in the text. This makes it frustrating if you want to work towards a high level charm. Starting characters can get charms with a 5 essense prerequistite with essense 1 if they have a supernal ability (every solar has 1 supernal ability and only solars).

Martial arts. I have not looked much at the martial arts. It is now its own ability and now is more confined. It also separates between terrestrial exalt, lunars and solars/abyssals who learn the same charm (Mastery, terrestrial and everyone else).

Sorcery I think has improved. Players can now pick merits based on their background on how they learned sorcery. The first spell learned in each circle has additional powers for the practitioner (control spells). The system has workings if players want to create magic effects beyond spells (first age wonders). Spells now have distortion which alters the effects, but does not remove it. It feels more epic and

The antagonists are well developed, but fairly limited. Personal opinion is they should have used a system similar to IKRPGs monsternomican. A well developed backstory for each monster, but then have traits to add or subtract abilities. Also common powers should have been in a general form. Legendary size being a perfect one to save space rather than repeating the same text for several different monsters. This would have allowed a greater variety of opponents with minimal GM effort.

Overall, I like the system and world. The book is perfectly usable in its current state for beginning campaigns. Future supplements (ignoring the types of exalts) will need these things:

They need a bestiary for common threats with creature templates like IKRPG Monsternomicon. An example would be a starving juvenile ox dragon. or an alpha large tyrant lizard. They need better guidelines for charm creation especially for artifacts. General rules are given, but they are hard for a GM to make reasonable charms. Arms of the chosen is ok for premade artifacts, but not for custom one with charms. NPC Elementals, demons and god/spirits creation especially as players can summon and control first circle demons and I like more than the few presented. Behemoth creation Rules for size, recommendations for overcoming, etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2019 17:13:12

Rather enjoyed everything about this book. Mechanics, lore, enemies, character creation, etc.

I think the lore section and mechanics section should be printed in two seperate books. There is soo much goodness and content in this that the bindings can not hold it. I have had to repair my bindings already and I expect to repair them again soon. Print quality from the Drive Thru is the biggest negative for me. But Onyx really came on strong with this book and because of that, I will be getting the rest of their product line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by jb a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2019 12:21:30
4 stars, and if the passionate fan in me had his way, it would be a five. I'm gonna start with the great things. The setting is awesome, it's awesome in it's scale and in it's diversity. It's a world were the divine is everywhere, and yet most people cannot fathom the will of those divine being. Guess what you are not a normal human, exalted is a game of epic, it is not made to emulate the common man surviving in a gritty world, it was built for players to trick river gods, to fight titanic and nightmarish beasts, to walk in a whirlwind of intrigue. It's a system you could use to play Cuchulainn, the irish demi god with his magical spear, or to tell the story of Odysseus wandering for years upon the sea, or the journey to the west from chinese mythos. And for this the system work well, it's unique, it's unsettling at first, it can be be a bit crunchy, but when you get in the system my god does it flow well. One of the best part in combat is the gambit mechanic, made to allow the player to do pretty much any action not planned for by the devs in a simple fashion, it's also very good to create special boss mechanics. I've hear complaint about the social system and the craft system, the social system being to complex, which i do not agree with considering you are not obligated to use the full system for every interaction, and works very well in a game of intrigues, and for the craft...well i'm ok with it but understand why people don't like it, you have to generate "lesser" by doing menial tasks allowing you can spend to accomplish harder projet that will net you "greater" xp you can spend for trully awesome artefact or construct. IMO it mostly depend on how leniant the gm is and how interested in RP this kind of thing players are. If they aren't and just want to craft stuff that gives bonus, they gonna be bored quickly, if they like it, it's an heroes journey by itself (also you can find house rules online for alternative system, haven't used them tho).

Now we come to the problem the system poses. It is NOT a game quicly learned and played, you need to invest yourself in the game for it to run smoothly, and for GM you lack certains tools like a true bestiary, which is hard for a new GM to balance your foes. Its take on fights can be puzzling for player because it is so different. Most GM will have to change the way they describe fights. I had difficulties at first but now use this style of describing the ebbs and flow of a fight instead of describing hit or misse for every attacks for pretty much every system i run. In the end it made me a better storyteller, but it took time and effort. The fact they used kickstarter to finance some of additional content tend to stretch the time between books, and the pace for release is sloooooooow, and we still don't have a fucking bestiary (you can find homebrew tho), and if i'm not mistaken the terrestrial exalted is pretty much done but still not available for purchase for non backer, and the lunar exalted book is in beta for backer so who guess when customers will be able to buy it. Also the art of the book is meh, some arts are good some are barely acceptable (the cover is awesome tho).

To conclude, if you take the time, and you understand what kind of story it's made for, you'll find a unique and very good system. Me i've become an addict.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 23:31:08

I love the game. and have run it for many years. the mechanics can be overwhelming. but in practice actually flow very well. I do not however like the range band system. and new content is taking way too long to come out. all in all I love the system so much I own every book released all the way back to first edition. keep in mind when you play it less rules. more imagination. promote your players being unique and adding to the world it will take so much off your plate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Etienne O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2018 00:27:07

I really wanted to love this, but there are just so many choices made in this book that run counter to what I feel makes a good game. And that has disappointed me to no end. I backed it on kickstarter and waited patiently for the follow-up to the first RPG I ever really played. I had hoped for a lighter, more table-friendly game, with a good flow and rules that were more focused on the bigger picture than the details. What works for me: The setting is cool as all heck. Anything that touches the world of creation is awesome. There are little hints and rumors that aren't immediatly explainable, which function great as inspiration for stories and adventure. If anything, the setting part of this book is too short, and more pages should have been assigned to this. What doesn't work for me: The artwork, most of it is dull and uninspired, there is no "freedom" to the art styles, most of it locked by tracing after 3-d models. Some are great, the cover in particular is very cool. The system, There are too many subsystems. Rules are overly specific instead of being broad. The charms, there roughly 200 pages of charms, that do not have an easy overview. I completely understand that adding extra pages to this monster, in order to add charm-trees or something must have seemed like madness. The length: This book is almost vulgar in size, which isn't a problem as such in pdf, but with the print product it is pretty bad. it is pretty neat having a Big Book (tm), but it is nigh-unusable as whenever I open it I fear that the book will tear itself to pieces.

In summary: Great setting - really one of the best out there. Too long, and filled mostly with bad art and overly complex rules. I guess that it would be pretty great for some, but working full-time and having children this game has become a hard pass.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Phillip M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2018 07:44:42

I've been playing Exalted since the early months of first edition and this is, by far, the best edition yet. Yes, there's quite a bit of crunch, but with that crunch comes a great deal more clarity, far more functional and less ambiguous rules, and a ridiculous amount of additional content for Solar characters. I've been Running a third edition game since before it's release thanks to backer PDFs and I've never once looked back at prior editions and longed for something in the mechanics to return. Systems like combat seem daunting at first, but once you've got a few fights under you belt and the players have a hand on their characters, even the biggest throwdowns move at a pace far faster than any prior edition.

The book itself is a thing of beauty, the edition strikes an excellent balance between the mystery of the first edition and the specificity of the second, the expanded setting adds a ton of new variety, battlegroups are the best system I've ever encountered to deal with mobs of "lesser" enemies, and even the much reviled craft system is a ton of fun when you take the time to properly get to know and impliment it.

The one weakness is, of course, the current lack of content, but the new development team have been hard at work to turn that around and I couldn't be happier.

This is the best edition of the best RPG ever.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 10:45:40

A dead game. Or rather, an insulting monument to one that they rolled out to profit off of those of us who remember it. This isn't me bagging on the edition. Some things they improved, others they messed up. Hard. (ahemCRAFTahem) This is me bagging on how this game is basically done and dead until they can scrape together the talent to Kickstart a 4th edition. Not that anyone would back it after this debacle. Yeah, they've been trickling out a more robust beastiary (that should have been included to begin with and probably got cut due to page count restrictions), and we'll probably eventually even see the 2 or 3 other books that got written along with the core years back. Eventually. The work's already done, why not profit from it? But make no mistake, the Exalted line is not a going concern for Onyx Path, just a cash cow. Accordingly, I will be boycotting their other products until they get their act together on this one. Which is to say, indefinitely. It's not like roleplaying hasn't moved on while they were sitting around, taking too long to do the same old thing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2018 14:51:31

I really wanted to love this, but found myself filled with regret. I'll start by saying that I have been a massive Exalted fan since first edition. Third edition was just begging for me to purchase it and I went all out with the premium. So, where do I begin...

The good: Beutiful artwork throughout and the quality of the print on the page for Premium is top-notch! Exalted has also fully embraced their anime inspiration, which shows throughout this volume!

The bad: The system feels like it pulled a lot of inspiration from 4th edition Dungeons and Dragons, which I utterly despise. The new system feels bloated and unneccesary, washing away the fond memories of the 1st and 2nd eds. Sometimes, keeping it more simplified is the way to go. The flavor writing throughout is also abysmally bad.

The ugly: Absolutely horrible craftsmanship. My copy arrived at my door completely detached from the spine and held in place by two thin pieces of paper. The book will remain intact for a month tops with this poor quality of construction. For $120, you would think the printer could attach the pages to the spine with some care. That brings up another problem: the book itself is too large. 662 pages crammed into a single volume is not only user-unfriendly, but also very difficult to keep in any decent condition. This should have been two or three volumes, split into smaller books with better construction.

Final thoughts: I wanted to love this.... I really, really did. But all I feel is regret from my light wallet and poor quality product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2018 16:29:15

I like the basic idea of Exalted, I really do. Because of this I dislike the ruleset even more. Way to cumbersome for fast action and cineastic fights. And it is a joke that in a 600 pages rulebook there is just place for one kind of exalted.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 07:17:25

I full expected to not enjoy Exalted. I'm mostly a fan of simpler systems, because I'm quite interested in quickly telling interesting stories, and only leaning on the mechanics when it's interesting to fail; I'm not one to enjoy a long slew of fights in most systems, and I thought I was just going to see some anime conflict. But a friend was running, so I got the book.

This book blew me away. I got interested in the setting almost immediately, and the system spoke volumes to me. Although it has a lotof content in it, the game leans on those mechanics to make thing interesting. Even its combat system is, relatively speaking, a breath of fresh air which does a better job of simulating a bustling fight than it does a tactical battlemap. It made me think of Ip Man.

In this book, you get the rules for playing the game, and for making Solars, the most powerful type of Exalt, and the system's flagship splat. It has a host of Martial Arts, some cool Artefacts, and it introduces the entire setting, including giving basic, short, descriptions of what each of the other Exalted are like, and a quick look at how they'll differ.

I browsed through the other reviews to see why some people gave this book such a low rating. They seemed, at a glance, to have two different flavours.

1) This book is too full of stuff. (it's 700+ pages) 2) This book doesn't have particular stuff. (Only one type of Exalt)

I'm going by the law of averages, and saying that if both sides are unhappy, then things could be worse. Too long? They're not fleecing you for three books, this is a PHB, DMG, Setting Guide, and MM all in one! "Only one type of Exalt"? That Exalt has a list of unique abilites ("Charms") that takes up about 200 pages, and would be the equivalent of an entire type of splat in Chronicles/World of Darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by James K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2018 11:08:59

Overall the system is interesting and enticing - it's a good redesing on the Exalted system while keeping the flavor of Creation intact.

However, this book attempts to cram WAY too much information into a single book. At 700 pages, it is massive and unwieldy to use during actual game play. Plus, in trying to cram so much information into the book, a LOT of details are missing and the examples (of Artifacts, Evocations, Hearthstones, especially) end up severely lacking.

This book should have been broken into two - a Players' Guide and a Storytellers' Guide. Each would have ended up slightly larger than half of the current book, but could have included a lot of information that seems missing from the current incarnation. At the same time, breaking up the material in this manner would have allowed the average player to not have to slog through pages upon pages of rules related to environmental hazards, and other such rules that only apply in specific situations, and the SToryteller could have had more information such as actual rules for applying poison to weapons, more than a scant handful of sample poisons, toxins and diseases, more sample Artifacts and Evocations, and potentially actual rules for creating Evocations for artifacts other than the specific few samples given.

Overall I feel that the system and the world is intact - which is a good thing - but the execution of this first offering in the 3rd Edition line of Exalted is sorely lacking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andras T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2017 09:43:37

I've ordered both the standard version of the book and the digital download. It took a while to receive the printed book as it got lost somewhere on th eway to my place.

The artwork is a bit mixed, mostly stunning but there are a few misses - I guess this is a matter of taste, though.

There's a lots of fluff in the book, you will find all the essentials for running your campaign and playing.

This brings me to the next subject of my review: sizes and the practicality: I've been reading the physical book for a while and I've notived that it is actually hard to read because of its sheer size. You can't just chuck it in to your backpack and read it on the train or bus, unless you're a fan of commuter workouts... :-) This brick weights 4 kilogramms. It is thick, wide, tall - it is B. I. G. . This book is a printed weapon in itself. It's a monster. Also, you can't simply find information in the sea of fluff. This book is about 700 pages long.

For that I would recommend for new readers to get the downloadable version - especially if they own a proper 9 -10 inch tablet - as they might find a much better reading experience there.

My advice for the creators: I'd recommend to you guys to take a look at the DnD books: they've splitted the whole material into several books so it's easier to carry and read/find info in. Alos, try using less different fonts in the layout, some of the fonts feel cheap (the page numbering, specifically, was a great disappointment)

With that said, I must note that the index and table of contents both have been done properly, both are an essential and great help. Yet, the book as a whole feels clunky, huge and hard to read due to it's size.

The setting info will leave you with a lots of possible plot hooks and gives you a nice, detailed view of the world.

All in all, though, it's a good reading with loads of info and will get you all the essentials to play/run your new game. I recommend it for everyone who NEVER played Exalted before as this experience will be something you might never had while playing other games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 57 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates