DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2019 10:03:16

This tome collects Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy Core Rules, Genre Rules, Monsters, Cleric and Magic-User spells and Treasures books under one cover. This Tome is the apex of easy and beautiful layout AND is the difiniitive and faithful issue of the original B/X rules, even though the ability to use acending Armor Class is introduced. This addtiion is very well founded seeing as the vast majoirty of people playing today, including new players expects to see it. My ONLY gripe with this tome is that there are no higher spells. That though will be hopefully done in future serpreate book installments.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade - 2nd Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2018 20:47:40

One would think that paying 16 bucks for a scanned book you would at least get bookmarks. How hard would that have been??? No really. Don't you have any desire to put out the best you can? I want to know the reason you couldnt put bookmarks in the pdf..



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade - 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Dark Ages Companion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2018 20:19:34

I'm glad I bought this on sale. THERE IS NO EXCUSE NOT TO HAVE BOOKMAKES ON THIS PDF.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Theorems & Thaumaturgy Revised Edition
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 00:33:05

It is the 21st century. There is NO excuse for having no bookmarks in the pdf. The ball has been dropped. Very sad. Just found out that the Fey Elf isn't in the book. Why not ? My favorite thing in the first book. I wish I hadn't bought it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Theorems & Thaumaturgy Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Brian, sorry to hear you're disappointed with the book! Regarding PDF bookmarks, honestly, this was the first book I produced using InDesign and, at the time, I had no idea how to export a PDF with bookmarks. I do know how to do this now, however, and have just uploaded an updated version of the PDF (also including linked table of contents). You should be able to download the updated version in the "My Library" section of your account. Regarding the content from the original edition that didn't make it into the revised edition, to be fair this is mentioned in the product's description: "Note for people who have the original edition of this title: The revised edition is not a completely new book. It is a re-edited, re-formatted, re-illustrated edition consisting of the three spell-casting classes. Many of the magic items are new and the elementalist and vivimancer spell lists have been expanded and updated." The reason for cutting some of the content from the original edition was that I wanted to give the book a much tighter focus, rather than the grab-bag feeling of the original. About the fey elf specifically: I have plans for a greatly expanded version of the class that should emerge in the near-ish future.
Dungeonesque Red Box Players' Guide
Publisher: Rogue Comet
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2017 13:41:23

This is a link to the video I made reviewing this book.

https://youtu.be/k41iQ_Vyr60



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeonesque Red Box Players' Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition Condition Cards
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2016 04:51:59

My only question is, who dropped the ball? Who was responible for letting these cards to be produced ?

  1. These cards are the size of playing cards you would find in the stores. Fine,only there's a lot of writing on them. It would have been nice if they were just a little bit larger so to make it easier to read. Oh but why do that?
  2. The Backs say Vampire 2nd edition but the text says differantly having referance to The God Machine book and when having referances to the book do the age old (XX) for page number. Are you fucking kidding me?
  3. One of the cards, The Thrall card, was damaged for some reason. I can see me having to use this one a bit. I thought about sending the whole thing back but thought "fuck it"
  4. The case. I spent $2 extra for the case. It sucks. It's hard to open and it's two seperate pieces. I know it's only 2 dollars but it would have been nice to have something worth keeping. I'll never buy another condition card pack again. For the cost of them, NOT WORTH THE MONEY.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition Condition Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scarred Lands Player's Guide (OGL 5e)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2016 23:07:56

A very pale relfection of the 3rd edtition Scarred Lands books. . Way too much attention on the later books which in my opnion steered away from the unique setting. For the Furries out there this book's got them. With not one, not two, not three but for humanoid animal races. I'm not a furrie. And while I understand that these races were added later on in supplements, they again ruin the feel of the main books. Unless I'm missing it, there is no Titan's Blood or Rites like the ones that create the floating castles or that can make you vampires. Elements that I loved in the Original. The color art is all wrong for the setting,draining the gloomy feel of the original. And while it has a good table of contents, for the love of god people put an index in it. Very disapointed in this overpriced pdf.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scarred Lands Player's Guide (OGL 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SlaughterGrid
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2015 09:35:59

I think the other reviews were very complete. While I really like reading it, I can see it being a hard sell to some players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
SlaughterGrid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mind over Matter: Psion and Soulknife (PFRPG)
Publisher: d20pfsrd.com
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2014 10:35:58

Mind over Matter: Book 1 Scion and SoulKnife, is a supplement specifically for Dreamscarred Press’s “ Psionics Unleashed”. Both books are compatible with Pathfinder. The PDF sells for around $5 and is 20 pages, 4 being non content. This pdf is stocked full of some really great ideas and includes a lot of crunch for the Psion and Soulknife. First thing I noticed was that instead of Prestige Class they used the term “Archetype” and instead of gaining individual hit dice, base attack bonuses etc like Prestige Classes, they just gain abilities at certain levels. I do own the Psionics Unleashed and the core Pathfinder books and have never ran across the term. Which leads me to other question like “if you take a Archetype do you just add on the ability at the right level?” The pdf gives no explanation, assuming you know about it already. So unless I’m forgetting something..

Beyond that though the ideas are really great. Introduced here, for the Psion are the archetypes of Locus (being able to be in more than one place at a time) and Mindreaver(able to hide in the Psyches of the victim) For the Soulknife we get a somewhat forgettable “Attenuator” a sort of monk like guy and the Magpie, a thief-like character,that can steal things right out of the hands of people including weapons. In my opinion this archetype is somewhat over powering not so much on it’s own, but when combine with everything else. Even the gaining and losing of a skill relfects this when you gain slight of hand and lose swim.

The pdf also have a few new feats and even two new afflictions, Delirium and Psychalgia. All very good.

The pdf has a Mythic Class the Medium. Playing this one requires that you have another pdf called “Mythic Adventures”. Making the total books you need to use this pdf to at least three ( A core rules book, Psionics Unleashed and Mythic Adventures).

So overall my thoughts. For the price you get a lot of really great ideas with sound mechanics. Needing at least three other books to use it all not so good. And again, unless I’m forgetting the concepts of Archetypes from another book, there needs to be more explanation on what they are.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind over Matter: Psion and Soulknife (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey Brian! Thanks for the review! Archetypes were introduced in the Advanced Player\'s Guide for Pathfinder back in 2010. The full details on archetypes can be found on the Pathfinder SRD (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/class-archetypes) or on the Paizo PRD. In previous books we released we DID include the overall explanation of what archetypes are and how they work but we left those out of the psionics books. We\'ll probably want to add that back in! Regarding needing additional books to play the contents of this book, I just want to make sure you\'re aware that all of the necessary additional content is available on the Pathfinder SRD (Mythic rules are at http://www.d20pfsrd.com/mythic) and either now, or probably soon will be available in the Paizo PRD. Thanks again for the review!
Greyhawk Player's Guide (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2013 11:20:04

A must have if you want to play in the Greyhawk setting. BUT this scan SUCKS. Save yourself four bucks and download it somewhere free. THE DOWNLOAD SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Greyhawk Player's Guide (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Interludes: A Brief Expedition to Bluffside for C&C
Publisher: Samurai Sheepdog
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2013 12:35:43

“Interludes: Brief Expeditions to Bluffside” is a module (do they still use that term anymore?) for use with the Castles and Crusades RPG. For second level characters, the module is more of a launching pad for The Bluffside Campaign Setting. It sells for a meager $5.00 and has a print option. Taking place in a small town outside of Bluffside called Kirkwood, Interludes serves as a Sandbox setting giving the Castle Keeper just enough to work with if they are not prepared with a plot line. Content wise, this module shines in the npc descriptions, giving you many different story lines that the Castle Keeper can run with. I also liked the idea of the prisoner pits. Presentation is a mixed bag here. Coming from a fine arts background I believe presentation is half the piece. The cover does nothing to make me want to even look in the pdf which is a shame since there was a lot of useful stuff in it. The interior art was sparse but decent and illustrated what was actually in the book, instead of being included because it might have looked cool. The new monster in the back was not illustrated which was a bummer. The type layout was clear and very readable. Also a plus in presentation are character handouts of letters and correspondents. Personally I believe that I will most certainly use many of the npc’s in the book if nothing else.
One thing that had me stumped was the new character class in the back. In my opinion it made me think that the person who wrote it up didn’t have a clear idea of the classes in the main rule book. The Sisters of Mercy should in my opinion, be a cleric denomination but certainly not it’s own class. In the end the class left me confused, thinking that it was put there as filler. In the end, I feel that it’s not a bad deal at Five Dollars. I do not think I would get the print version, but as a pdf it does great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Interludes: A Brief Expedition to Bluffside for C&C
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changeling the Dreaming 2nd Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2013 08:42:18

why is this $25.00 for the pdf when other games of it's time are less?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling the Dreaming 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Victorian Lost
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2012 08:25:15

A Bad Trend

Right off the bat , I have to say the book is too short. This is becoming a bad trend for White Wolf. A while back they made the mistake of making the V20 Companion only 80 pages and now they have done so here with a book that is 87 pages. Now to be fair, the other books in this line , like Mage Noir are of similar page count, but two wrongs do not make a right. That book should have been longer too. So what happens is but making them so few pages, you are really not getting the product out that you want to, and the players need/ want. Case in point, The new Kiths. While fitting very well in the setting, they are neither very imaginative nor special. They are good kiths, but fall flat. The problem with all that is they are the only Kiths in the book . It would have been nice if EVERY seeming had a new kith. Oh by the way, saying something like “these kiths fell out of favor with the gentry later on” makes no sense. Why not just say “ in modern times these Kiths are rarely seen” or something to that manner. The same can be said with all of the crunch in the book(including the goblin contracts, Entitlements etc). And where the book shines, it again only shines a little. In the second part of the book are the settings and storylines to play at the table. Again WAY too short . Again , this product follows the footsteps of the V20 Companion Book . What’s there is nice, but not enough. This all confuses me. The price is right, but the page count is not . I would rather had paid 10, 12, 15 dollars for a larger book then getting the small one we received for $8.99 (15 for book) .



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Victorian Lost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2009 21:54:32

I REALLY like this book but there are problems with it. Many of the basics do not follow Pathfinder guides. For instance, Warlocks have dead levels. It's a shame that these things pop up because otherwise it's good book, but in the end not great as it could have been.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
The PDF has been updated to correct various errata -- for example, the Artificer's BAB and Swashbuckler's BAB have been reduced, and now match that of a Bard/Cleric. If you're a previous purchaser of this product, you can download the revised PDF from your account. Gareth-Michael Skarka Adamant Entertainment
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates