DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse $8.00
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 5
6 1
2 2
0 0
0 0
\'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Click to view
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Fergus E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2014 15:44:45

I love this book, and I cannot WAIT to run a game of it! It's a game chock full of campy goodness and useful extras for the (bizarrely specific) setting it takes place in, including an exhaustive slang glossary as well as easy to learn rules. My only complaint is the lack of detailed flaws and merits, and the typos. Other than that though it is well worth the low low price. Any game that allows me the feel of Six-String Samurai, or Fallout, or possibly Gamma World meets It Came From the Late, Late, Late Show and quickly and accurately plays out the feel of the game is well worth it in my book. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2011 04:02:25

This is a very clever and well-illustrated niche product that will have fans of old B-Movies and/or psychobilly music nodding and singing along with real enjoyment. Not only does the game make a good read, it also gets your mind churning out idea after idea as you process how you would actually use this with your group.

Anyone who has seen 6-String Samurai will slaughter any number of mutated wastelands dwellers to get into a game of Psychobilly Retropocalypse~

Things to Like: +Good layout +Evocative Art +Great balance of humour with the demands of a playable game +Simple and effective system +Great writing

Things of which to be wary: -If you can't get anyone to listen to your Quakes, Brutally Frank, or Gutter Demons collections - chances are you don't know anyone who will play this game with you -Limited support



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:54:25

I like the occasional oddness in my gaming collection just as I do with my movie collection. This PDF fits the same niche as "Eight Legged Freaks" and "Slither." This affordable game takes nearly every concept from 50s and 60s sci-fi and turns it into an excellent RPG that can easily be more than a "beer and pretzils" experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Charles H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2009 10:33:18

I downloaded this game and I must admit I found it to be a delight and well worth the money I spent on it. It's very evocative of the feel of Bruce Campbell / Sam Raimi movies (Like Army of Darkness set in the Rockabilly age daddy-o!). Even if a Game master isn't interested in using the system "as is" the game background would transfer very easilly to any universal role-playing system. I've used it as a supplement for a friend's GURPS game as well as in HERO system and conversions were a breeze.

What I appreciated most is that this game is complete as a one shot purchase. Unlike some other game companies (White Wolf / Wizards of the Coast, anyone?) you don't need to buy a bazillion, expensive, supplements just to play it properly. The core book and some dice are all you need. I give this my highest rating! It's a must have if you like campy role-play, rockabilly, or retro culture. The art is very distinctive as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Karen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2009 22:18:35

I can't review it if I haven't seen it. So how about you just let me have my download already. I'm tired and want to go to bed, is that fifty yet?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Hans H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2008 05:01:34

This is a truly great game and very unique in it's style.

Layout The book begins with setting information, including plot hooks for each one (great idea!), a list of sample characters and information on the world and the setting background. I like this because you get in the mood of the setting before you are presented by the rules. The artwork also enhances the feel for the setting in a great way without wasting all of your printer ink.

Rules It is powered by the rules-light Xpress engine which is very different from other games I've played but once you get a hang of it, it works very well for this setting allowing for fast and fun games which don't get bogged down by rules or excessive die rolls. Basically you roll a number of (d6 only) dice equal to the stat the skill is connected to and have a target number based on your skill level and the number of successes determines how well you do. A minor complaint here is that the example skills were directly copied from the core rules which lead to many of them being computer related and otherwise not setting appropriate. A setting specific example list would have been better as well as showing what attribute the different skills connect to. This took me about 15 minutes to do myself so it's no big deal. The same applies to merits and flaws which could have used a few more examples and clarification.

Playing Great fun, hilarious, fast and over the top. My players wanted the game a bit more dark and gritty but the only thing I had to change was the tone of my voice when describing things. It borrows from the whole 50's genre so there is no limitation on the adventure plots. Battle nazis one day, martians the next and giant mutant ants in the afternoon.

Overall Already one of my favorite games. Fast, easy to play, a lot of variety and very different. As a bonus it also made me discover some truly great music when I got some Psychobilly for mood music when playing. I rate this game a five out of five and can recommend it to everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Charles H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2006 00:00:00

This game kicks ass. It's very different from most other games. The style is unique. It is it's own Genre of game. I can't think of anything else that's just like it.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The setting is very inventive. It's a glorious amalgamation of 50's B-movies, Hammer style horror, and high adventure. I wonder what kind of drugs they were taking when they came up with this. And where can I get some? Also the art, which emphasises 50's style pin-up glamor is really good! <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by jonathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2006 00:00:00

The author nails the B movie genre of the 1950's squarely in a fun evocative style. Freely mixing and matching icons, tropes and fads its rock and roll meets attack of the fifty foot woman, its James Dean with three arms blazing nickel plated .45's featuring in Plan 9 From Outer Space, its voluptuous cavewomen named Lalula riding Harley's being pursued by giant radioactive ants. Its a pulp game of over the top B movie madness combined with a Rockabilly flair where the atom bomb and science are king. The world encapsulates everything, Femme Fatals, crazy scientists, mysterious swamp creatures, vampires, gumshoe PI's and sinister Nazi mooks ('45 supposes everyone nuked each other so the war isn't exactly over)
The rules are succinct and to the point and there are plenty of interesting character examples and plot hooks to get you started. Indeed the book is a perfect length giving you just what you need in a comprehensive well laid out format. Art is thematic and sexy and overall its a good looking book. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It explores with enthusiasm a largely untapped genre with some cool art and wonderful ideas. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates