DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $
 Publisher















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Turjan's Tome of Beauty and Horror
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2006 00:00:00

A great addition to a quirky system. This expands the Dying Earth RPG into the arena of dark fantasy Swords & Sorcery. Reading the book made me want to play the game immediately!<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Turjan's Tome adds a whole new venue to the Dying Earth RPG. If low level rogues are not your fancy, this book enables you to play fairly powerful warrior-wizards.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nada<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Turjan's Tome of Beauty and Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Superior Synergy: Fantasy
Publisher: Misfit Studios
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2005 00:00:00

A very good product that helps expand the D&D skills. I like the concept, and in most cases I like the execution. I much prefered the synergy effects that added new abilities or altered the effects of skill use over the ones that simply added a straight bonus to another skill. The big drawback I see is that characters with a lot of skill points (rogues, bards, etc) can get more complicated using this system as they rack up more and more synergy bonuses and effects.

Overall, I do plan to use this system in my next D20 game, and may even take concepts over to other game systems. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: This helps make D20 more Skill oriented, a good thing especially in a low magic style game.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some of the synergy bonuses were bland. The bonuses for the various KNOWLEDGE sub-skills really should be broken up by sub-skill, instead of listing them all by Rank under one header.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Superior Synergy: Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Modern Dispatch (#63): Superhero Goodies
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2005 00:00:00

Another mixed bag for a game I really like. This product contains 3 new origins (one an alternate version of an origin from the book, one that is so so and one - Totemic - that is very cool but which needs some development to really sizzle!), 10 new powers (ranging from the utilitarian Invulnerability to the cool Toxic Biology... unfortunately the Energy Transformation power is so vague its almost useless and Matter Conversion is listed in the wrong section), 2 new power feats, 3 very very cool new General Power Feats, and 3 new organizations (interesting, but very much in need of development).

Overall, well worth the cost, but it could have been much better with just a few more examples and a bit more text.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The new powers alone and power feats alone are worth the price.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Seemed rushed... A few examples and a better explaination of Energy Conversion would make a real difference.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#63): Superhero Goodies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Modern Dispatch (#16): CyberStealth Action
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2005 00:00:00

This product contains about a dozen new feats, a prestige class and a handful of plot nuggets. The real gems are the new stealth feats, which could greatly add to the abilities of any rogueish character. The Prestige class is a stealthy cyborg commando - think Solid Snake from MGS - a solid class though not very innovative.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The stealth feats are a real winner, and could be used in almost any campaign that requires sneaking - dungeon crawls, modern assassins, sci-fi commandoes...<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: While the layout was nice, the single piece of artwork was way too busy. Something sleeker and more streamlined would have suited the material better.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#16): CyberStealth Action
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I'm glad you enjoyed this (it sounds like as much as I enjoyed writing it). It's very likely that my December (2005) Dispatch issue with be Cyberstealth Action 2.
pixel_trans.gif
Darwin's World Conversions: Modern Arcana
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2005 00:00:00

A mixed review on this item: Idea wise, RPG objects always does a great job, and this has some good solid classes. However, a few of them seem to be a bit outside the 'wastelands' genre and more solidly in 'cyberpunk' or 'dark future' territory. I will use these in my next d20 cyberpunk game.

Production wise, this product is riddled with misspelling. None of them hurt the mechanics, but a few are painful to read. For instance, the Lightning Swordsman is refered to as the Lighting Swordsman, and the flavor text remarks that he is a rare "bread" of warrior. A few more editorial passes would have helped here.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The ideas are great, the d20 mechanics are sound, and most of the classes are actually interesting enough to want to play as a player.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Editorially, the typos were distracting.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World Conversions: Modern Arcana
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for pointing out the errors on this one. We'll strive to do better. -chris
pixel_trans.gif
Fourth Millennium Campaign Model
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2005 00:00:00

A moral quandry here: while this pdf is a fantastic game background that I would love to see more of, I felt a bit cheated that i had already downloaded 90% of it for free in an earlier versions. Ah well. If you have the earlier version, this is prettier but gives little new information. If you don't have the earlier version, get this. Its a great campaign background.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The history and setting are wonderfully complex and post-human.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I was offended that the earlier version included Islam as a major religion, and this version completely cut it out.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fourth Millennium Campaign Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Posthuman: The Definitive D20 Guide to Human Augmentation
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2005 00:00:00

Great book, good ideas well executed, and great art to boot! An auspicious launch to Adamants new series and another worthy product from GMS!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Good ideas, easy to use and well thought out. Using template levels to quantify degree of post human modification is perfect. And the art rocks.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not a thing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Posthuman: The Definitive D20 Guide to Human Augmentation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
"Another worthy product from GMS!" Credit where credit is due: I only did digital artwork and layout on this one. The product (the entire line, in fact) is the work of Malcolm Sheppard. Kudos should go to him. -GMS
pixel_trans.gif
Savage Tales #6: Zombie Run
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2004 00:00:00

Zombie killing fun and games for the whole family! Another big, meaty Savage Worlds adventure, easily expandable into a long running campaign if you're having fun.

Well worth the cost.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #6: Zombie Run
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Savage Tales #7: The Highwater War
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2004 00:00:00

A good campaign that makes use of the Savage Worlds Mass Battle rules. For once, your PCs will be commanding armies, not just fighting mobs.

My one complaint (which could also be a strength): I think this would run better if some more role playing or dungeon crawling adventures were mixed in between the pitched battles.

A great buy. Well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #7: The Highwater War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Buccaneers & Bokor, Issue One
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2003 00:00:00

B&B#1 is a bit pricey, but the content is worth what you pay. The three "Uncharted Waters" features could use a bit of extra 'crunch' to make them more playable, but the random adventure generator is a handy addition to any pirate game. The additional rules for ship repairs are helpful, and the rules for Legendary Ships and Ship Feats are a must-have for any nautical campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buccaneers & Bokor, Issue One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2003 00:00:00

Another fine product from RPG Objects (I have yet to not like one of their books, so I am slightly prejudiced). Blood & Vigilance is a clean, easy to implement super power supplement for D20 Modern (easily usable in any D20 based game, in my opinion).

In addition to their usual skills and feats, every character class is assigned a number of class related super powers and a number of starting power points, and additional points per level. Characters buy super powers similarly to the way they buy skills. Clean, neat and easy to use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Vigilance: Modern Superhero d20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 61 to 71 (of 71 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates