DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015) $4.00
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 2
2 0
0 1
1 0
0 0
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Publisher: CypherCast Network
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2015 18:56:26

CypherCaster magazine issue 1 had everything that I want from a "fan" magazine: It had "insider" information, in the form of interviews. It had new ways to approach the hobby, through an adventure, a campaign entry, and some really good "don't describe, show" narrative insights into The Strange. Plus it had some very well done fiction.

The one things I'd hope to see in future issues is some reviews or at least overviews of the myriad 3rd party Cypher system books, or even a "what's in here that you don't expect" from the the official releases. Something that will help people understand the landscape of what's available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Publisher: CypherCast Network
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2015 10:37:30

I reviewed this product on my website (http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=1192), if you want my thoughts on the different sections within the Fanzine.

I think this is a great product with a lot of useful ideas for me to integrate into new campaigns. I really like the news and updates it includes for MCG products, and I hope they can get some exclusive information as the magazine grows. I am very happy with this purchase, and can't wait for the next issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Publisher: CypherCast Network
by Rob E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2015 20:52:29

I was pretty pleased with this product. There is an interview with Robert Schwalb about Shotguns & Sorcery, a Numenera adventure, a pretty decent Numenera short fiction by Jim Ryan, a discussion of building a hard sci-fi campaign with the Cypher system, a series of The Estate reports, and a goth-horror recursion for The Strange. The Estate Foundation Field Reports outline agents discovering a cluster of recursions based on norse mythos. The recursion went farther than typically is seen, and includes a discussion of the gothic-horror genre, as well as 4 location seeds with rumors, along with a number of media inspirations.

So far I've read the article by James Walls about his hard sci-fi campaign, the short story, the Holstenwall recursion, and the Estate Files.

I would rate this one higher, but the artwork and layout in some of the articles are uneven, which is really absolutely fine and doesn't detract from the usefulness of the product. I'm definitely going to buy Issue 002 in July.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 3 (of 3 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates