DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher















Back
The Crucible of Freya
 
$3.50
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 4
4 2
2 0
1 1
0 1
The Crucible of Freya
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2020 16:03:33

A great, old-school D&D adventure that pairs well with Rappan Athuk or works well as a standalone adventure.

While it is perhaps a little too difficult for a first level party, there's plenty of good fodder in there from which you can come up with your own ideal balance. I've run this in both Pathfinder (as written) and in my current D&D 5e game (heavily modified for an Oriental setting) and it has always left players satisfied. The siege on the keep is a blast to run, and there are plenty of terrific plot hooks floating around that your players can chase across the forests.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Allan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2013 15:20:25

This is an outstanding module, simple and fun to run. The web enhancements make it an even better value (and at $3.50 I feel like I'm a thief!) The PDF is fantastic. Despite earlier comments, I had no issues with the PDF. I use Preview on my mac and all the text is clear and easy to read, even the text in the gray boxes. Don't let earlier comments on the quality of the PDF affect your buying decision. This is a great product and a great PDF!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:08:18

This is definitely my favorite low-level adventure that I have ever read. Once it starts, it doesn't stop...and the climax is a battle of epic proportions beyond anything a 2nd level group could possibly imagine.

Don't leave home without it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2009 10:43:54

Someone else here remarked that the scan quality was bad. It's worse than that. The sample PDF that is displayed is cropped correctly and cleaned up. The file that you will receive is a worse quality scan than this with a lot more page lag, blurred text and pages that are scanned at strange angles and different widths from one page to the next. This is an offensively bad product, and the author should be ashamed that his work is being distributed in this manner.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Alex S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2007 00:00:00

We play with the D&D 3.5 rules, so some of the 3.0 stuff can throw you off if you're really into rules. We just played it as written and had lots of fun. Don't forget to download the additional wilderness adventure material from the website.

Be sure to give your players a few hints about the two or three drastic bad guys in this module. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Dangerous, flexible: Go raid the orc stronghold! Just enough information on how the orcs are going to react, when their morale will break, how the subplots are introduced by townspeople. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The book consists of two parts; first, you get all the locations, and in the second half, you get all the action, assuming that the players do more or less what the authors expect them to do. Thus, the second half will tell you about the three orcs ambushing the party as they approach Fairhill, or the orcs on the raiding party, or the orcs on the investigation party, and the first part will list those orcs in their lair. Thus, the DM has to do a little book keeping of where the orcs are and what they are doing. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Jon J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2006 23:00:58

I was hesistant to buy this after reading in a previous review of the poor scan quality. My I just got my copy printed and it's well within the usable range. The supplimental material available from the NECROMANCER GAMES website when added to The Crucible of Freya totals over 100 pages. Having all the extras bound together with the printed adventure is very convienient. I am very satisfied. After adding the extras at this price it's definately 5 out 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Darren F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2005 18:13:37

In addition to my previous review, I must take a moment to explain that the scan quality of this module is bad. The scan was done too dark and thus many areas in the module does not print out clearly. For instance, on page 5, under Area A: The Lair of Karigor the Troll, the part the DM reads to the party is very poorly printed out. It was printed originally in black on a dark background - like the background may be a big piece of tree bark. The scan & resulting printout of this PDF leaves a LOT to be desired. If they could re-scan this, then I would HIGHLY recommend this for a terrific introduction to 3.0 D20 fantasy role playing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Crucible of Freya
Publisher: Necromancer
by Darren F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2005 18:08:42

The plot and storyline of the Crucible of Freya is a very well written one. The challenge ratings make it well worthwhile for first level characters and it's easily scalable IF you have only 1 to 3 PC's.

Of course this is a continuation of the free module called "The Wizard's Amulet". If you have PC's who've adventured thru that and survived, they should be at least 3rd or 4th level and will have little problem ploughing thru the first series of Monsters & challenges in this module.

Overall I'm quite pleased with the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates