DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House $1.99 $1.49
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 8
6 1
2 0
0 0
0 0
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to view
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2017 15:24:54

Skirmisher is right on with their "100 Oddities" series, and this one is up there with the others. Each of the items has just enough information to allow a game referee (whatever nomenclature you use) to drop a hook on. The oddites presented can be used as simple window dressing, advising your players of the kinds of things they encounter along a path, or developed in its own right to become subquests or possibly even items of some power.

For the minute amount charged for the product, the value is astounding. Pick an Oddity and have a go at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Loke v. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 14:52:51

This was a given purchase for me as soon as I laid eyes on it; it's weird, it's creepy, it's got mansions, everything! I wasn't disappointed having read through it either, I don't think there's been a single one of them I've seen without going "Huh, what if...?" or "This could fit in really well riiiiight here...". They are, you might say, the seeds of plot hooks; they're lying there, being all mysterious and begging for a storyline to reel people into. You have to put in a little bit of work as GM to able to use them as story tools, but (for me, at least) they make that work so much easier. Well worth the $1 or $2 price tag, and I would still feel I'd gotten my money's worth even if they were a dollar more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2017 20:36:25

All of the "Oddities" offerings from Skirmisher are awesome. They give GM's great ideas for random strangenessa dn intrigue that can be injected into a game campaign. With some tweaking the oddities could even be adapted to an array of RPG settings. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Billy W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2016 20:44:59

Skirmisher has quickly become a favorite of the PlayersGuidePodcast crew and 100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House is a stirling example of why. We are planning a full review of the Oddities books on our website but the shortened version is thus. Using these books (this one formost among them) we have generated both interesting well discribed settings for both horror and fantasy games, as well as several compelling adventure seeds and story hooks. If you are looking for a neat way to get your players to investigate something in particular or you want to give your players a diversion from the main story arc of your sessions and have a fun one off game these books have everything you need to get the ball rolling.

All in all these are great suppliments for any genera of gaming and most assuradly something that every Story Teller and GM should have in their collection. Bravo Skirmisher for another great title!

Fangbjorn from PlayersGuidePodcast



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2015 10:44:25

100 Oddities for a Creepy House is a concise, but very useful tool to add flavor to your role-playing experience.

As the title suggests, the list of oddities are for a haunted house, which are typically associated with the Horror genre, but with a little imagination and a few subtle twists, could easily be adapted to Fantasy, Modern or Post-Apocalyptic games as well.

The list is your standard d100 roll in its simplicity, but I would simply pick from it for added description. In fact, there are several things on the list that could easily be linked to form a description of a room. That makes this tool perfect for storytelling games too.

I particularly like how the author pulled one selection from the list and expounded on it, giving the reader not only the basic read, but showed how to use these items as adventure hooks and lead-ins as well.

I great read and well worth the money. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2014 09:37:46

Horror focused but easily adaptable to any game. I like the quirky ideas, they provide stimulation to create my own mods. Many can be used to add color to a room, others can be worked into the game as mysteries to be resolved. "You can also let the players do the work for you. If their imaginations are engaged by something, listen to their speculation and riff on that."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Fábio M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2014 13:30:21

The material is with a problem from the "my libray" download section, but I could download it from the product main page. Very good hint from any campaigns, independent from genres.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2014 15:23:49

Skirmisher Publishing has released another in a line of inexpensive little PDFs that will make a GMs game a bit better

100 Oddities for a Creepy House is a fine example of what just a few details can do for a RPG game. There isnt anything ground breaking here, just a few lists to add some detail and some flourish to any haunted house. While the feel is mostly for a modern setting, just a few tweeks and these Oddities can be used in nearly any setting.

There is also a short article about how to use the list and how to expand the items into plot hooks

I like the pay as you go style of price setting. I paid$ 1.25 and the PDF was totally worth it.

I should add that the mini book here is well laid out, easy to read and prints nicely in my laser printer.

For the cost of a cola or a candybar, this is a great little gem.....dont just stand there, buy this PDF so we can get more...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2014 15:53:37

This is great little piece of work by the Skirmisher Publishing group. This piece adds a nasty haunted cherry right on top of your old school horror game or a post apocalyptic adventure. This eight page piece of horror fueled nastiness is a great system neutral piece of work that you could add right into your own campaign right now. From Call of Cthulhu to even a OD&D style of Gothic adventure campaign this is a great addition to the DM's arsenal of tricks and traps that adds a nice haunted bit The price is right, the ideas fresh, the horror perfect for an evening's horror fueled adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates