DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Wanted
Publisher: Assassin Games
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2015 10:18:40

This is a super cool set of adventures. I have run three of them with great player enjoyment. The wererat story is easy to make cool. I had a player contract the wererat curse which led to some amazing sessions trying to cure him after we finished the adventure.

I buy way too many rpg products. Absolutely worth 3 bucks I would actually say its worth five.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2015 10:14:03

The story is cool. What I really like a lot is the final set of combats. It's a neat fight where you climb up a tree and fight on multiple levels. It's tough to make combats dynamic at low levels but I feel like this does a good job.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wanted Posters - Fantasy
Publisher: Lupus Rex Games
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2014 16:32:31

This is not an appropriately priced item, There is minimal work done on it, I would say this should be valued at 25 cents.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted Posters - Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Green Scar: A Dungeon World Adventure
Publisher: Joe Banner
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2014 06:10:10

I hope my work can be this good.

I have read several DW adventures, none of which provide the detail Joe Banner does. you could pay a similar price for a product that is nowhere near this quality. This is a book of a campaign with three acts, fully thought out characters, maps, interesting magic items and more. I have purchased items on this site that are two pages in length for $1.99. They are almost all jokes in comparison to products like this. Joe Banner is setting the standard.

If you go to his blog you can find one-shot games from Joe at his blog:

http://joebanner.co.uk/

This book is just done the way a DW campaign should be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Green Scar: A Dungeon World Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Take on Magic Items
Publisher: TakeOnRules
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2014 10:36:19

This is a set of 24 pretty unique magic items. Mr. Friesen writes about two paragraphs explaining the effects of each item. There isn't simply a +1 Damage fire sword. The items are interesting and many of them are quite humorous, and humor is what keeps your games worthwhile.

I love the Jellied Eyeballs.

If you like this set I recommend taking a look at "10+ Treasures" from Awful Good Games and my favorite item collection I've seen, "Unusual Magic Items" from Scavenger Studios.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Take on Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Shinobi - A Dungeon World Playbook
Publisher: Duccio Mondanelli
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2014 06:36:47

This magical ninja class is interesting but upon reading it it is way overpowered. There's a fire breath attack and it can leave behind clones. There's an advanced move to make them explode. Although this sounds awesome I would have a hard time as a DM trying to make any combat challenging for this class. This seems more like an interesting enemy for the PCs to fight (I think I may do this in my next game).

Fünhaver Industries made a a class playbook for "The Initiate" which is stellar. I have read through every playbook for DW sold on this site and the initiate it is the best martial arts playbook. If looking to add a balanced martial arts class to add to your game, go with that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Shinobi - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I playtested this class abundantly and, as far as I saw, it\'s not that overpowered. Anyway, thanks for the review, I hope you still like it!
Fiasco
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2014 17:20:09

A small group party game, Fiasco is the most inviting rpg I think I have played. There are no character sheets and every game is a one shot. It's more a session of structured improv than an rpg in reality.

I have played the game twice. Each time with 4 players. It's fantastic. It's great as a double date activity for us nerdy folk.

The downside to the game is that it is difficult to explain the concept to someone which can make it difficult to convince them to play. That being said it's well worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Skeleton: A Dungeon World Playbook
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2014 17:37:24

I found this class to be super interesting. I had a pc of mine gain the ability to turn into this character on command after encountering an unusual magic item. He really enjoys playing it.

The mechanics feel a little clunky, the system of bone points is a new set of rules specific for this character type. I would not recommend using this for a player not accustomed to the DW rule set. It's an advanced class. But like I said its super fun to play and can become an interesting component to a campaign. This would be a great class to come back as if your pc rolls a 7-9 on a last breath role.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Skeleton: A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Necromancer's Grimoire: The Art of Traps
Publisher: Necromancers of the Northwest
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2014 09:13:56

Uncreative, offers nothing you could not find online. The traps are your typical ones I didn't find a single one which intrigued me. Not worth the cost.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
A Necromancer's Grimoire: The Art of Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doors
Publisher: The Forge Studios
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2014 09:00:51

Don't get me wrong these doors are interesting and creative, but there are only 5 of them. They can be placed in any campaign to challenge pc's though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Doors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

36 NPC Secrets
Publisher: Scavenger Studios
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2014 08:43:51

Good, worth the purchase but has some short comings.

So the product is not bad but this company's products are often better. The secrets are interesting but obvious choices. The ones that most people who sat down and tried to make this product would come up with. There are a few good ones.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
36 NPC Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Keys of Magic
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 10:45:12

This book contains 10 Magic keys. Many of which are interesting and even has one key which is split into four pieces and can be used as a campaign hook. The reason for getting 3 stars is because unfortunately 3 of the ten keys are somewhat unoriginal. Two simply add bonuses the way an amulet would, one adds a lock picking bonus.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Keys of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadly Games
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 07:24:44

Disclaimer, I adapted this for the Dungeon World rule system, so anything related to the stats of the traps and monsters I cannot speak to.

The book gives you 5 arenas, I have GM'ed a one shots with one of them as well as incorporated one into a larger campaign. They were fun, but I would say that some of the traps are repetitive. I incorporated some traps from Scavenger Studios "14 Traps" to make the games more dynamic which did the trick.

The maps were great to use when I projected them digitally onto my tv from my laptop.

Solid product



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon World Playbooks: Dark and Twisted [Bundle]
Publisher: Pleb Publishing
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 07:14:24

The Abomination is a super interesting, the class is a being that has been transformed through magical or non magical means into this thing that when it levels grows extra limbs which add attacks, gain abilities like flying, and bonuses to other roles. I had one pc in a game I GM turn into this after they came back to life, turned out to be a big winner.

The other three classes are very solid as well, the abomination just solidly stuck out to me. Great work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World Playbooks: Dark and Twisted [Bundle]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scrolls of Destiny
Publisher: DungeonMastering.com
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 07:03:02

So to be clear I would not really call these puzzles, they are word problems. They are all variations of the same kind of problem as well. The logic problems would also be difficult to incorporate into a game unless you just had someone give them the scroll and say "Solve this". It is a terrible value, this product is a $.50 to $1 item sold for $14. ON SALE FROM $19!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scrolls of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates