DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 14:22:22

Since I read Apocalypse World, I read a LOT of different systems and also played some of them. :-)

In this way I think Ironsworn is really a milestone in the development of the of the pbtA-system. Shawn Tomkin manages to put the moves together like gears in a clockwork, focusing on getting rid of all the parts that are not necessary to create an ongoing plotline in a cold fantasy-iron-age-world with a strong focus on social interaction. I this way it is closer to a fantasy-Apocalypse-World-setting than Dungeon World with more serious drama and less Quentin-Tarantino-style action.

From the start of Apocalypse World there was this idea to play to find out what happens. Normally there still is a lot stress on the GM (my feeling) driving the plotline of the group, as (my) players are used to waiting to get a hind on what the next step in the adventure should be.

The idea of the Iron Vow as a basis to go on a quest is great. It is followed up by specific moves, if the PC decides to abort or fulfills it tying it back to the social world. Here a GM can really concentrate on the role of a facilitator.

With the Progress-System there is a really interesting push-your-luck-mechanism that is used for example for journeys, combat and personal goals of the PCs.

I also like the incorporation of the Mythic-RPG-way of creating new plot developments through open and closed questions and rolling on the probability. In this why a real ongoing co-op game in pbtA seems possible, which is not to forced to be a one-shot like Fiasco and other systems that are structured in this way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Annalise Final Edition
Publisher: ndp design
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 03:03:57

It is a hobby of mine to read (and sometimes play ;-) indie-RPGs, especially low-prep ones.

Although I do not like vampire themes, I really do enjoy the overall concept where you focus on one secret and one vulnerability of the PC, instead on their physical attributes to hunt and slay the vampire. BTW the vampire is more a kind of background threat for the PCs to get in conflict with their secret and vulnerability and can be substituted with other monsters to a certain extend.

What I really enjoyed was the usage of "Claims". That ist that you can claim things that other players narrated (an NPC, "the light of the moon" or "swallowing shadows") and reincorporate it when it come to a "moment" where the success or failure of a situation is decided. Which is a very interesting mechanism by itself.

I found the beginning short story a good read. For the main text I would prefered some more subheadings in the text and additional elements to create more space. Maybe even a larger font.

Nevertheless it is a great game. If you like gothic horror or narrative, PC-focused games like Hill Folk you will certainly enjoy this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Annalise Final Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Judas
Publisher: Dreamlord Press
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2017 11:09:53

I read the rules and it looks like ApokalypseWorld set in a dark fantasy setting. While DungeonWorld was more like D&D with the ApocalypseWorld rules this "hack" catches more of the gritty spirit of AW in a low fantasy setting. You have also supernatural creatures like in DW, but more in a demon and "twisted animal" way (carnivorous elephant and skorpion-men). General the tone is more mystery and less heroic monster fighting.

I also like that you have a setting that keeps the group together as all PCs are members of mercenary group called Iron Fist and are send on missions from their superiors. In this way it could be played as a "Monster of the Week" in a dark fantasy setting or "Dogs in the Vineyard". I also like the "dark side" idea of the rules. Through some moves you get taint, which brings you in contact with demons. You can profit by it, but you will be currupted if you keep using it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Judas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost Days of Memories and Madness
Publisher: SteamPower Publishing
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2017 07:07:33

I really like the way how this GM-less one-shot RPG is structured - a mix of bidding tokens and dice rolling. Decadent elves fighting for memories until the last one goes insane and the kingdom falls. Players who like Fiasco or Microscope might like this game, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Days of Memories and Madness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silent Memories
Publisher: Morning Skye Studio
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2016 14:21:22

An excellent adventurer using the Dread RPG. Get and play it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Silent Memories
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead of Night
Publisher: SteamPower Publishing
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2016 14:14:24

I really enjoy, when the system supports the theme of the RPG. This is here the definitely case.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hillfolk
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2016 14:10:53

For everyone who likes to play Fiasco-style narrative RPG as a ongoing game not only as a one-shot. Additionally there are a lot of scenarios available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hillfolk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Don't Walk in Winter Wood
Publisher: Red Moon Medicine Show
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2016 14:00:45

Nice, to the point. Minimalistic horror. Reminds me of Dread and Lamentations of the Flame Princess.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Don't Walk in Winter Wood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Under my Skin
Publisher: Black & Green Games
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2016 09:14:54

A great game that could be played as LARP or as tabletop. The mechanics are similar to Fiasco RPG, although no dice are used. The central theme is, how to react when there comes an new love into an established relationship. The game can be either played from an monogamous viewpoint or with an polyarmous perspective.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Under my Skin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Devil's Reach
Publisher: At the Table Games
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 07:38:41

I read it twice but it is not clear to me how these adventures are really connect together.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Devil's Reach
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates