DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod $0.00
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 9
25 3
8 1
1 2
4 2
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2021 14:42:32

I ran this with a 6 and 7 year old and they absolutely had a blast. It is simple and to the point, it did not even take an hour. Also the rules are simplified to the point that young kids can understand them but they still get a good taste role playing games. They already asked when we can play again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2020 18:25:41

It is a good way to start children off to D&D. Great because it can help keep those with short spans of interests a way to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2020 18:44:44

I've run this a couple times, first with a kids' group and second with my son. In both scenarios I changed it up a little so they aren't "killing" the monsters, it's a training exercise, much like How To Train Your Dragon. They didn't kill anything, just defeated them.

In both, the kids loved it, and parents appreciated the victory without death. Many were concerned about the violence against caged creatures aspect until I told them it would be basically Pokémon rules in that nothing actually dies. With my kids' groups I always had parents present, and gave them the module to read through first.

As a GM, it's your responsibility to ensure that you change things to fit your table. It goes beyond this specific module; I don't know ANY GMs that run Curse of Strahd, for example, completely as-written.

Overall I'm very happy with this module as a great intro for young children.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Badger B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2020 17:30:15

A very light [rules light and easy to engage] D&D setup for the young uns.

Every you needed to engage with the module was provided.

Hooks, adventure, maps, tokens, the lot.

It looked purposely simple and very well designed for the age range it was aimed at [6 and up].

A great intro for kids this age to D&D!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Terry L. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2019 12:25:05

My nephew, niece, and a couple of friends had a great time with this--they did a lot more cooperating than I anticipated and soundly won the game with a feeling of triumph. It was a good intro to D&D with a very simplified take on how to fight, but I'd be curious how we could add in checks for social rolls other than flat 'roll a d20 and if it's higher than X, it can happen'. My niece was shockingly clever with persuading Loomis to help a friend on death's door with a healing potion out of the usual timing. ;u; Lots of good memories with this.

I'd love some sequels!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dom A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2019 11:06:31

I ran this for a couple of kids (under 10) they played 2 characters each and had a great time! quick to setup and play and a definite gateway to "proper" D&D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by PABLO D. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2018 14:33:36

So, a group of kids are in a village and, as part of their training, they must slay all caged monsters. And that's all of it. Come on, man, this is awful.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alfredo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2018 11:11:58

I decided to give this a whirl because of the low barrier to entry and short amount of time commitment involved. The game recommends 4-5 players but I basically just ran the additional pregens like NPCs and had my daughter roll the dice for me. I asked her what character she wanted to play and we took one of the pregens and I let her customize it however she wanted. Overall she had a TON of fun and as soon as we finished playing she started coming up with a sequel adventure. Thanks a bunch, the adventure worked better than advertised!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by dave b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 10:48:43

Monster Slayers adventures are a fun, easy way to introduce younger folks into the world of RPG and table-top playing. The basic adventure in this module is easy enough for kids to play immediately. Although there are not a lot of spells or specific weapon damage, there is plenty of action which will certainly keep kids engaged. There are no heavy RP options in this module, but as with every other D&D adventure, it is up to you to make it your own. This is a simple, fun introduction to how the dice work, story elements, character classes and races, and monsters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2016 10:40:50

I took my 6 year old through this as his first taste of RPG, and he had a blast! That said, my 12 year old daughter was listening from the other room, and afterward, she said that she didn't like the idea that you had your characters slaughtering 'animals' in cages.

I explained to her that the 'story' was simplified enough so that someone as young as 6 could understand what you were trying to do, without giving them too many options. I understand her, as well as other posters', concerns about the premise of the game, but my son found it to be quite engaging. Obviously, for older kids, this wouldn't be the case.

That said, I would recommend this as a gateway for younger kids only, and since the mechanics of the game work quite well, you can modify it for older kids. Simply put, change the 'Final Test' scenario to, 'A group of monsters is marauding from a cave. Go there and fight them.' Each time a new monster would be released in the existing scenario, just say that a new monster has appeared from a side tunnel. Simple. As a 30+ year RPG veteran, it's easy to adapt a module to suit your audience.

Scott



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Leichtdog B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2014 15:14:00

This may be good for little kids, but I doubt it. It's definitely not good for adults; it's too simple, among other things. Also, this game has nothing to do with D&D.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steffan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2014 14:36:44

This is absolutely the WORST possible scenario to introduce kids to role-playing with.

The publisher's page states that RPGs teach creativity, problem-solving and cooperation. As a simple statement, I completely agree. That is, IF children are introduced to RPGs with a good adventure.

This one does NOT teach any of those. It teaches children to act without thinking, to kill caged animals without question or thought, to kill caged sentient beings without inquiring why they're caged to begin with. It teaches children that empathy is bad.

If you want your children to be mindless slaughterers, this is the way to go. If you want to foster good roleplaying habits, avoid this like the plague.

[Note: I have no problem with the mechanics of the game.]



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2014 07:41:21

Not only is this fun to play with your kids, I was actually able to give it to my children and they ran their own games with it. It really is a fantastic product. I only wish WoTC would make more of these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2014 11:02:27

After reading the scenario I felt sorry for the monsters. This adventure scenario does not seem "heroic". The rules and art are good and this might be usable with a rewrite of the situation the characters are placed in.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2013 15:42:05

It's a nice way to introduce new players to role-playing games. I wouldn't use it for experienced players, but again it is a good introduction to the whole RPG experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates