DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results













Back
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition $0.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
17 17
8 1
4 1
2 1
1 1
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2017 19:16:00

I fell in love with this product the moment I got it. Honestly this is the perhaps one of the best almost free Indie games out there. I never expected to find a set of rules, that was simple but could cover so much. There's not reason NOT to have this book as part of your inventory.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 16:58:13

Free and complete version of the revised Adventurers! rules. These rules use 2d6 plus stat modified by Skills (skills generally don't add + this or that they give "Advantage" roll 3d6 drop lowest).

With just three stats Strength, Agility, and Mind this is dead simple to choose your stats starting with just 6 points.

You have derived stats Attack, Defense, Endurance (Hit points), and Heroism

The first three are easy to understand. Heroism gives points per session that the players use for agency to affect his rolls either a +1 to his roll or she can re-roll (in the case of Learning Skill they can use Heroism points to declare facts about a setting). Or use Heroism points to change something about the scene, "Theres a fireplace? Then there must be fuel I can set fire to!"

There is a short list of powers available for players. Small Gear list. Etc. Each table and each set of rules is complete enough. Meaning that a GM or player can extrapolate anything easily. Yes there is even Scale and Mass Battle rules!

This is a great tool for quick play created by GMs and PCs alike. If you add the various settings you have hours and hours of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2017 14:58:31

Perfect for convention gaming and a mini campaign with the gang. The system will let you play lots of genres and tell solid stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by joel k. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2016 11:02:52

Why 2 and not 5 stars ?

  • Oppostion Rolls, this is boring for me
  • The player guide is rather 6 real pages than the 2 it offers with its actual layout.
  • Advantage/Disadvantage mechanic is mixed with lot of special rules. Also nearly each skills got its own special rules to differentiate (B)asic from (A)dvanced Skill's level. So IMHO, the gamedesign choices are a bit cluncky and too much crunchy (too many rules for this format).

It seems to be a mix between Advanced FightyFantasy (2D6, opposition Roll, Her point) and CypherSystem (3 Stats, A & B skill class).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Winston C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2016 16:05:08

Adventurers! strips RPG design down to bare essentials to handle all the necessary mechanics - three stats, a skill list, and descriptive phrases. The system uses just 2d6, modified by a few pips to either side and a simple system of advantage vs disadvantage. The result is a system that focuses on the descriptions of the characters and action rather than tactical complexity. It's similar to other rules-lite systems that emphasize character choices rather than the ability to min-max point scores.

The only real downside is that most opponents can be reduced to a few hit points, a stat bump, and an ability that gives them an advantage. It's up to the GM to differentiate elements through description. Other systems focus on a single element and treat them in more detail, like the tactical game in Savage Worlds or the narrative game in Fate. Adventurers! does only what's needed, but it does it very well indeed. The various settings add specific elements of that setting to the basic rules, and really make the game shine.

Even though the ad copy claims the main game and each setting are only two pages, you always get at least four pages of material - sometimes more. Because all of the settings use the same extremely lite set of rules, switching between them for different cmapaigns or pulling character concepts from multiple genres is easy and convenient. My only complaint is that the downloads come in a ZIP file full of multiple PDF files, which means I can't download them directly to my tablet as a single, readable file. I can cope with that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2016 01:27:01

I picked this up after seeing a review. I was curious to see how two sheets of rules could be worth playing. To say that I am impressed by this set of rules would be an understatement. I think the author has done a great job of giving us, the players and GMs a clean and simple set of rules that really cover what would be needed to play a game. The mechanics are easy to learn and work well.

I believe many of th ehard core RPG fans would liek this set of rules if they could get past the fact it is a RLRPG and just try it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2016 14:12:44

The Adventurers! from GRAmel is pretty exciting concept, an RPG in 2 pages. The layout is pretty neat and you do get a Player's Guide (2 pages) and a GM's Guide (2 pages).

The Introduction to the Player's Guide welcomes you to the game.

Action Resolution presents the rules: Roll 2d6 and add one of the three Stats to equal or exceed a 7 (before modifiers). Opposed rolls are 2d6+Stat vs 2d6+Stat, high roll wins. Double 1's are critical failure. Double 6's are critical successes.

Next we are introduced to the three Stats: Strength, Agility, and Mind. As well as the four derives stats: Attack, Defense, Heroism (let's you add +1 to a roll or reroll the dice), and Endurance (hit points).

The Character Creation section is three sentences! Quick and painless.

There are 10 unique Skills that you can have Basic or Advance training in. Each Skill explains what each level of training does for you.

Combat covers Initiative, Actions, Attacking, how Attacking crits work, how Defending crits work, and what happens when both occur (nothing).

How Recovery occurs is covered in this section.

Character Advancement explains what you can do with 2 to 4 XP.

The Gear section gives you a pretty good list of useful supplies.

Powers is next, they require a Mind roll to use and there ways to modify them. There are 9 to choose from and they cover a great deal of special effects.

The final section is Optional Rules, which cover Point Buy Stats, using points to increase the amount of Coins you have, the major Fantasy races, and critical failures in combat.

The Introduction to the GM's Guide welcomes you to the rules.

Resolving actions covers what Stat to roll, Teamwork, Long Tasks, and Narrative Combat.

Heroism and Experience! explains how to hand out Heroism and how much XP to give out at the end of a game.

Hazards covers spot rules for various dangers and effects an Adventurer will face.

Personalizing the Game! covers examples of Powers, Minons (and how they work), example Relics, specific Items, and Potions.

Next is the Bestiary with plenty of examples of traditional fantasy antagonists, a total of 15..

Special Abilities explain how the creatures powers presented in the Bestiary work.

And it's followed on a section explaining how to Customize antagonists.

And that's not all you get. A character sheet and cover are provided and you can print out cards to write up your antagonists on.

All for $1.36!

Buy this NOW!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2015 16:30:20

Let`s add another voice to the chorus of people saying: This is a fantastic achievement. Originally from a DnD background I have been drifting more and more to lighter RPG. From Savage Worlds through Barbarians of Lemuria and it looks like I might end up at Adventurers! It feels very much like Barbarians of Lemuria because it uses the same core mechanic, but manages to feel lighter and still more flexible than BoL does. this small RPG is an incredible feat and I must salute the author on this. It is surprisingly complete and very easily expanded upon. A game every Roleplayer should look at to see a great game does not need several hundred pages, sometimes 2 are enough. And I think the latter is much harder to pull off.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2015 18:54:37

Others have stated how good this system is. They're right! Here is another perspective.

This incredible rules lite system is tailor made for solo roleplaying along with Mythic GME. My system of choice has been Savage Worlds but this is very similar. I'd call it a distillation of SW down to its core elements. Excellent!

I'd love to see the author provide some charts/tables to facilitate solo roleplaying as he's obviously talented and solo play is woefully under catered for.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by justin c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2014 22:53:36

Umberto defies the odds here. This is indeed a full RPG in two pages and a good one at that! This system is so easy to understand, making it super accessible to newbies, and I love the options for advancement to keep vets interested and engaged. You can definitely feel the savage worlds influence here (B&B) and that's a good thing. I love being able to print off the 2 page rules for all my players without having to scour a 200+ page book everything a nuance comes up. Also the system is just ripe for customization. I have added some savage worlds treats in to spice it up (the initiative deck, limited hindrances/edges, etc) and my players love it! Definitely check out Gramel's settings, especially Dawn of Tomorrow. At such a low Cost you can't go wrong with this buy.

Thanks Umberto and keep the Adventurers coming (I'll keep buying!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2014 18:46:25

I was skeptical at first that you could put a game together one 2-Pages. But since I have know Umberto's work from Beasts and Barbarians I had to give him the benefit of the doubt. It is what he claims it to be a full system in a total of 4 pages, best of all it works. It's a great game for road trips or the last minute, lets do something. I look forward to the other expansions or settings he develops to work with this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by JIm A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2014 16:56:48

Comparing this with other light RPGs and other 1 sheet RPGs, Adventurers! is more comprehensive overall. Slow character advancement and use of two dice should give a longer campaign than other games of this type.

I’m comparing Adventurers! to Microlite 20 PocketMod, Nanolite6 Pocketmod, CRAM, and Dead Simple One-Page RPG. Each of these has significantly more crunch than say one page RPGs like, Lasers and Feelings, or Awesomesauce. While having three stats that are pretty much is the same as Warrior Rogue & Mage, both games are far apart on main mechanic and scope that I don’t think a fair comparison can be made.

With Adventurers! you can mostly create the type of character you want from the get go but one of the rules nerfs beginning spellcasters. You can't buy the power skill at character creation so, by the rules, you can't create a beginning spellcaster. This is very odd.

There are some translation/grammatical issues and I'm not talking about where word count has been obviously reduced for space.

"Characters have by three Stats going from -1 to 5." How about: "Character Stats range from -1 to 5."

With a product this short, there shouldn't be any issues like these. As I said, I'm not picking on the obvious word count cuttings but there are a few of these on each page.

With any light rules game, there is going to be a lot of GM fiat. A few things that could use a little help would be: Encumbrance: Marking a few things as Heavy would be very helpful. What about critical successes matching critical defenses? Does defense win out? Probably. Arrows and crossbow bolts. Where are they? Or are we ignoring them?

Where is the cool cover art image in my pdf? Not to be found. It would have made a nice insert for my gaming binder.

There is a lot to like about this little game. Group attacks is a very good way of dealing with swarms. Quick, simple customizing monster add-ons is a great little no-brainer. Most games this short don't deal with cooperative rolls or strenuous tasks (Long Tasks) but this one does. The section, Personalizing the Game! is a great idea starter.

So two sheets of paper and you have a game on four pages. Not bad. Not bad at all.

If you are looking for a very short light RPG give Adventurers! a try. I’m giving it 4 stars for substance and completeness in such a small package but removing one for editing issues.

Cover image still not in the zip file. Translation/grammatical issues still present. Even the one I pointed out. I don't think the new zip file was checked.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hm, now cover is inside and editing issues are corrected. Let me know if it works (pkorys(at)gmail.com) - if not, I will send you file directly.
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by George D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 16:20:17

Adventurers is a great minimalist RPG system, perfect for one off games or short campaigns. It would also be of value to someone wanting to introduce friends, or children who have never role played to the hobby. All in all I am quite pleased with the game and would recommend it to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by riccardo b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 07:13:22

I love fast and simple RPGs, and if you are looking for a fast, funny and simple one, well you found it. And it costs less then a Starbucks Coffee or a Bus Ticket. And totally worth it. This is perfect for:

  • Having a "one shot" adventure, even with no preparation from GM side and players alike. It takes 15 minutes to read and get everything. 5 to 10 minutes to make PGs. It provides also monster stats (in a standard and usefull format).
  • Theaching Newbies to the game. THe mecanics is fast nad simple, but gives anyway the right old school game feeling.
  • As an alternative to board games night with your friends.
  • For Expirienced gamers that want to make some breack on the main campaign, or just having some unexpected game night.

Attention: No Fluff or Back ground in it. Just your immagination!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2014 23:45:24

This is my first real experience with a micro RPG. I've always enjoyed lighter rulesets where player creativity and DM flexibility are what allowed a game to really shine and take on the characteristics of those playing. This game seems to be completely in tune with that aesthetic. Oh, and it's really good too. I'm utterly baffled at how focused it is. It really does cover 90% of what I want in an RPG. I love the combat resolution mechanic (think a streamline version of Dungeon World) as well as the simplicity of heroic points and team assistance. He's taken cumbersome and baffling skill rules from D20 games and made them sensible in just a few lines. Skill challenges, something that was boring and mechanically tedious in 4E are here, streamlined and improved to the point of being usable in just 6 lines. A fully functional gameplay reward system is implemented in 3 lines. I'm sitting there writing this review and looking at my multiple shelves chock full of RPG hardbacks and wondering, "Do I even need these anymore?".

My only two issues/questions are these.

  1. Monsters don't seem to conform to the same calculations as far as Attack, Defense and Endurance math. Not sure if that's intentional but I think it must be.
  2. The example given for how to calculate your attack stat based on your core stats and weapons seems off, or I'm not understanding it. It lists a character with 3 agility wielding a dagger having an attack of 2. But I don't understand where that came from as it states that when using a dagger, your attack stack is that same as your agility stat. Maybe just a typo or I misunderstand something.

I will probably use this ruleset for game nights where some of the group are missing. But I could honestly see myself playing an entire campaign using this ruleset. I can't wait for the micro settings and adventures. You can bet I'll be buying them immediately. At less than $2, this product is a steal. An absolute steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Micheal for your review. The answers to your questions are: 1)Monsters don\'t have to conform to player character\'s rules. 2)It is an error. Dagger should have 3. Point 1 is clarified and point 2 is corrected in a new version of the file we\'ll update soon (you\'ll get a notification from the store of the change). My bests Umberto
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates